Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1942 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
15
20
56
192
526
724
319
78

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1942 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

When I first began to enjoy rum, this was the first bottle of good stuff I purchased. It is very sweet, a nice dark color, and has an inviting aroma. I have not purchased in a while mainly due to the fact that this was the first step on a journey through many bottles of rum However, I find most decent bars & dining establishments will have this... IF they have any rum worthy of drinking. Even my Dad, who is first and foremost a wino, a bloody mary, and a gin & tonic kind of guy found this to be quite good. Nothing Rare, but always delivers.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 6 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 202 ratings

Sugar: 22 gpl. This is a great sipping rum with tastes of vanilla, chocolate, tobacco, and molasses. Very smooth rum that lights up your tastes. Nice long after glow. It's not as complex as the Zacapa XO. It is an expensive rum in Ontario, but worth it if you can't get to the USA where it is half the price.
EDIT: I finished my 3 year old bottle of Zacapa 23 and the new one is different for sure. I am thinking that Diageo may be rushing this product to market. I am re-rating this to an 8 from my original 9.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 323 ratings

Zacapa Centenario 23 Años je rum vyrobený z panenské šťávy cukrové třtiny, je vyrobený metodou Solera v Guatemale, zraje v nadmořské výšce 2300 m.n.m. v dubových sudech, ve kterých zrál dříve bourbon a velmi sladké sherry Pedro Ximenez. Verze XO navíc zraje 2 roky v sudech z francouzského dubu, ve kterých byl dříve uložen koňak. Stáří 6-23 let.

Alkohol: 40 %
Aroma: První dojem je tak kávový, že mi hned připomněl Kahlúu. Tedy naprosto stejný první dojem jako u Malteco 15y, také z Guatemaly, až si říkám, zda tyto dvě značky nejsou provázané nějak víc... Vůně je nádherně hutná, silná a bohatá, plná, výrazná, plná kůže a čokolády, rozinky, med, lehký závan hřebíčku, propolis, vůně včelínu, rámečky z pláství. Ve sklence po odpaření syntetická barva na kůži, hutná, zemitá. (95 b)
Chuť: Nasládlý, ale ne tak moc, jako jsem čekal. Úplné pohlazení na jazyku, poté trochu vystrčí růžky alkohol. Velmi uhlazený, není nic, co bych mohl vytknout. Med, rozinky, ledové víno, káva. Dochuť kávově-kožená, úplná delikatesa. (93 b)
Shrnutí: Tohle je dříve nebo později povinnost pro každého, kdo to s rumy myslí vážně. Pro úplné rumové začátečníky bych ho snad ani nedoporučoval, aby dokázal degustátor docenit jeho přednosti.
Body: 94

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Raulgmt from United States with 7 ratings

Very dark, with a full flavor. Is sweet but it taste great and please never ruin it by mixing it with cola. This is a premium straight up rum.

Small profile 1

Posted over 8 years ago by Andy (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 115 ratings

There's no doubt, Zacapa 23 is great for the premium rum industry. I'd guess its the most prevalent aged rum out there, and brought many newcomers to rum.

I like Zacapa 23 but not as much as Diplomatico, El Dorado, an others. It has a great rush of initial spice that dissipates quickly and leaves the mouth with a slightly oily sweet molasses finish.

For a ‘10+ year’ aged rum, I wanted more subtle notes. I get a blast of butterscotch and caramel with a little nutmeg and maybe even an olive note - but generally a little bland without much depth

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Midgarn from United States with 18 ratings

I may not be giving myself a lot of room for the more-expensive, longer-aged rums to show they are better. Aromatic, subtly sweet, smooth, little to no burn even a week or more after first opening.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Hipgnosis from United States with 4 ratings

Yes, it’s back sweetened. Yes it is very sweet. No the age statement is not misleading (unless you’re uneducated). This rum is however delicious to drink either straight in a glencairn or over a large ice cube. There is a lot of nuance to the flavor beyond the sweetness. Don’t be ashamed if you like it. It is very good. Ignore the gate keepers.

Small screenshot 20201207 014217

Posted 3 months ago by tot2day from Greece with 31 ratings

Nice dark colour. Spiced up with carameled fruits, cocoa, honey, nuts and vanilla. Yes it is sweet. Not too sweet to make it taste fake. Sure on the expensive side, but whenever you want to give yourself a treat, go for it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Jpb.98 from United States with 1 rating

Starting off with the nose, it doesn’t come off with a strong alcohol smell, even at 80 proof. At first you should get a scent of sweetness, such as toffee, and a bit of vanilla. Then it mellows out into a slight caramel smell.

Tasting it, and leaving it on the palate for 10 seconds, I tasted rich, honeyed, vanilla, and then going down, a smooth cherry/molasses flavor, and even a bit of tobacco believe it or not. All in all, a great rum for intermediate fans. Luckily rum is one of the cheaper Liqours, but still packs robust flavors such as Ron Zacapa 23

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Bplottel from Canada with 18 ratings

Don't get me wrong this is a solid rum with decent flavor and is on the sweeter side. however, for the price, I feel you could get better options in a similar flavor category to this. This rum is fairly smooth and has that vanilla molasses taste. However, I recommend getting the Diplomatico Exclusiva instead if you're looking for a sweet vanilla, molasses type rum such as this.

Small 0aab2283 2539 4536 a04a 71b7d2300506

Posted 8 months ago by Tamaracepero from United States with 1 rating

For me this is the best rum in the whole world, Love it