Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.6/10 (1721 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
4
13
18
47
182
457
641
282
72

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1721 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Totte from Sweden with 27 ratings

Här finns det mycket av det goda, lite spritig men som sagt mycket god ändå, inte som diplomatica

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Scott from United States with 1 rating

10 years ago was asked why I am ruining the rum by adding a mixer. Then I was introduced to Zacapa. Keep trying others, but this is still my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Tony from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Was really looking forward to this as it has all the attributes to be a great rum. Then you open the bottle and it smells lovely and fruity. then take a sip and its very very sweet. Not sure on the sugar content but im guessing very high. I know its a solera so its not a full aged rum but for the price in the uk you can get aged rums for that price. To be honest i found el dorado 8 beat it hands down and the 12 is in a different league. Nice for just one or two but to much sugar for any more. Couldnt bare to think of the hangover after a night on this haha.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andreas Bisgaard from Denmark with 27 ratings

This rum is as much the base line to critic a lot of molasses rums as well as maybe the easiest entrance to the world of rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by AJMR from United States with 5 ratings

You always need that wingman...and the ZR23 does not disappoint. I agree with most reviewers about its slight sweetness, but it is well worth it. It's a go to at most bars that only have your regular house rum and regular mix Bacardi/Capt Morgan.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gerin Choiniere from United States with 7 ratings

Nice color and aroma but nothing compared to the smoothness of the XO. It's quite drinkable but isn't my first choice. Just a little to much alcohol bit for me. The XO is worth the extra price.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by PTGarcia from United States with 23 ratings

To me this rum has it all, sweetness of molasses, hint of oak and very smooth without being weak. Recommend to everyone and with a price of $44 where I live I put it well ahead of any comparable brandy or bourbon. I have tasted a better, but not many and nothing in that price range. When I introduce people to rum, this is what we taste last as the finale.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Dominant flavors: Chocolate covered cherry/Dr.pepper

I wasn't sure that I would, but I like this. In the past the bottle didn't explain that this was a blend of rums so I think buyers had different expectations for a 23 year old rum. If you know what your buying (a solera rum with some added sugar after distillation) then you won't be disappointed.
Prices on this stuff can be way too high bc of its popuIarity but once again Total Wine has great deals and this was $37. US in NJ.
Lately I've been interested in mostly more natural style rums like Doorly's, Mount Gay, or Don Q but I always keep at least one sugary rum around for when I want something really sweet. My last two sugar bombs have been Diplomatico RE and El Dorado 12. This rum is notably less sweet than both of those.
The nose is kind of bland and smells mostly of alcohol but not harsh.

The taste however is really nice like dried fruit, vanilla, and chocolate. I recognize some flavors in here that are much like Diplomatico RE but on a milder level and I appreciate that bc Diplo-RE is arguably overkill with its sweetness/spicyness. I have lowered its score by a point after tasting this bc I realize it could be less syrupy sweet and more balanced out.

Update: Zacapa 23 really isn't that sweet like some reviews say. It's definitely smooth but as I continue to drink a little each night this week I'm finding that I wish it had the same flavors but just a bit bolder. Or maybe I'm wanting a stronger finish?This is good beginner sipping rum to get used to some of the flavors found in darker/aged rum on a mild level.

Update 2: it's almost too smooth for its own good and because of that there's nothing that really pops. If too much ice melts in it, then it's reminiscent of FLAT CocaCola. Still enjoyable rum but it's something I wanted to note. I also noticed that this tastes like the base flavor of Diplo-RE b4 they bomb it with vanilla & sugar or whatever they use in there. Possibly why I think the finish is a little flat.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Un Zacapa corect, arome subtile dar corpolent, ușor dulce și totuși echilibrat. Un aftertaste persistent și deosebit. Recomand oricând ”straight” sau ”on the rocks”!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dr. Brittlebone from Sweden with 17 ratings

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Gran Reserva 40% (Guatemala)

Eye: Light amber with green lip

Nose: Very sweet, round and even nose with a fine mix of marzipan, dark and light chocolate, butter scotch, honey, treacle, dates, apricot and lots of embrowned butter. A veritable fat sugar chock! At next nose there are a faint gun powder scent and vanilla, new cut tobacco and oiled teak. Very smooth, very sweet.

Mouth: Again, very sweet, sticky and rather short. Appealing ethanol at the end. Honey, marzipan and quince. A tad unrefined, on the verge of being simple. It´s not without its´ point but tend to appear as simplistic with a clear taste of pure sugar.

Reaction: Very difficult to define the nuances apart from what has already been said. It tastes alright and I am certain there are times it suits well if something sweet is needed, but really, that´s it. At the same time I pour again and again. It´s very drinkable but for the same reason I eat too much candy. The price is affordable and the access very good. It was one of the first rum I tasted and at that time I found it to be delicious so maybe I just had a bad day grading it.

82p

Price: 499 SEK
Tasted: 2016, in a Riedel Sommelier Cognac XO glass at room temperature.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by steve rector from United States with 11 ratings

Everyone stop getting your knickers in a wad over the 23 years on the label. If you know as much about rum as you say (think) youdo you understand that there are two traditional camps of rums English and Spanish. English usually list the youngest rume used on the label while Spanish tend to use the oldest. I'll leave it to you to figure out who is in which camp... Enjoy your pour!