Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10 (1758 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
4
14
18
47
183
466
661
285
73

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1758 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

Nice a full taste...but unremarkable

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Youri from Netherlands with 62 ratings

Had this after a whisky. It had a lot of taste. Sweet and easy to drink straight up. I liked it

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by rexet from France with 24 ratings

Avec le Diplomatico ce Ron Zacapa 23 doit faire parti des meilleurs ventes de rhum Solera et les critiques sont souvent élogieuses. J'ai hésité à commander directement le XO mais je me suis dit qu'il serait intéressant de partir avec ce qui semble être la référence chez cette maison.
Je n'en suis qu'à ma seconde dégustation mais pour le moment je suis relativement déçu. Alors ça se boit bien, c'est même assez bon mais compte tenu du prix il y a tellement de choses plus intéressante. Mon El Dorado 15 ans coûte moins cher et offre beaucoup plus ! Je vais caricaturer un peu mais je ne sens que le sucre, le caramel et la vanille... bref la base de tous les rhums quoi. Je n'y trouve pas grande complexité et si en bouche il est plutôt doux je le trouve par contre un poil agressif à la descente.
J'attends les prochains verres pour voir si mon avis évolue mais pour le moment je reste sur ma faim compte tenu de sa réputation.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

Local shop proclaimed this was his best rum. Tried it along with Kirk & Sweeney and Plantation 5 year. Zacapa turned out to be my least fave. Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad rum by any stretch, just not my favorite. Very smooth, but the combination of flavors left me a little flat. Have since tried the Zacapa XO and have to say that one is fantastic!

Ffffff

Posted 29 days ago by mabceb from Canada with 1 rating

Far too sweet!! The price is a poor representation of the quality of this "rum". It definitely isn't aged 23 years. Avoid.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 160 ratings

Sampled this rum but the sweetness Seems to hide any resemblance of a true Rum. Obviously enjoyed by many but this is not for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by William Burgdorff from Denmark with 1 rating

I'm no rum expert but for me it was too sweet in a weird way, With no real taste and the smell was horrific

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by borous from Czech Republic with 1 rating

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Stefan PN from Sweden with 12 ratings

Nose; Smooth and sweet aromas of dried apricots, vanilla, coconut, oak, chocolate, citrus fruits and sherry. A rich and warm palette.
Palette; A pleasant oiliness carrying flavors of subtle spicy oak, a nutty element, brown sugar and molasses. The nose continues in the flavors.
Finish; A medium finish where dried fruits, oak, brown sugar and molasses are the most prominent flavors. A small hint of tobacco are also evident.
Overall; Smooth and well made but a bit boring compared to rums like Ron Esclavo XO and Rum Company - Old Barbados. A nice rum though.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dan from Canada with 17 ratings

Smooth, a bit sweet. Vanilla and caramel. It was my first intro to good rum, and a favorite in my cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Raulgmt from United States with 7 ratings

Very dark, with a full flavor. Is sweet but it taste great and please never ruin it by mixing it with cola. This is a premium straight up rum.