Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1648 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Arnaud from France with 14 ratings

I would say I am a solera fan. I was expecting a lof from that rum. I fully agree with Nigel review. bit of desapointment. so nice to sip but not my favorite

Posted over 7 years ago by LDNShindiggery from United Kingdom with 71 ratings

Not your typical Molasses based rum this one. Its made from the first press of the sugar cane only resulting in a much smoother end product. Citrus, spice and cocoa are prominent in this one and a small piece of a nice dark chocolate on the side whilst sipping out really accentuates them flavours. Really long smooth finish, i could drink this all night straight up quite happily!!

Posted 2 days ago by Key West Rummy from United States with 3 ratings

Nice color, deep leathery brown. Legs give first hints of sugar. Mild nose, not particularly complex or layered. The palate offers the usual vanilla, maple, and brown sugar, slightly sweet(ened) The mouth feel is smooth with a nice lingering finish with minimal burn.

Overall this is a decent to good rum for the average consumer. It’s one I enjoy often but do feel it’s overpriced.

It’s a perfect stepping stone for the consumer branching away from the heavily adulterated brands towards more premium expressions. It was for me anyway.

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

The alcohol is noticeable at the beginning (I let it in the glas for 10 minutes before drinking), very pleasant and fruity sweetness in the smell. It's very intensive, I love it.
If the taste is too sweet for you just mix it with "Ron Botran 18" 1/3 and wait 10-15 minutes.
It will not become Zacapa XO, but it will get better.

Smell: caramel, vanilla, cinnamon, banana, raisins, pineapple, orange, oak
Taste: caramel, cognac, vanilla, dried fruits, tropical fruits (pineapple, apricot, raisins), burned suggar, spice.
Finish: middle long, sweet, spicy

Sweetness: 3.5 / 5
Spice: 2 / 5
Fruit: 4 / 5
Mildness: 3 / 5

Country: Guatemala
Production: Blend, solera
Material: Virgin Sugar Cane Honey
Barrel: Bourbon and sherry
Age: 6-23
Master Blender: Lorena Vásquez

What's special:
"Zacapa adds a yeast strain called Saccharomyces cerevisae which is extracted from pineapples."
Aged and blended in the 'House Above the Clouds', 2300m above sea level at 17° degree.
Virgin sugarcane honey is produced from the first press of ripened sugarcane.
What means virgin? naturally-occurring sugars have not been extracted from the cane stalks."

Posted about 1 year ago by pebron from Slovakia with 16 ratings

Som fanúšik solera metódy a pri tomto rume sa master blender trafil úplne do mojej chute.

Posted over 1 year ago by alexar from United States with 2 ratings

Great color and aroma. A bit pricey, but worth it.

Posted over 1 year ago by DeanH from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Well what a let down. Months waiting to get a chance to try this much lauded rum only to feel a bit *nah!. First try neat, then with Ice, and finally mixed. All a bit similar to other stuff I've tried before, with little for me to set it apart. I was wary of the sugar content, but didn't find it too sweet for my own taste. I will happily drink more because its a good rum but after reading so much I feel it may be overhyped. or perhaps my taste is unsophisticated? yep that's it!

Posted over 1 year ago by catalyst_245 from Australia with 6 ratings

It's a typical sweet rum. Should probably be considered a rum liqueor. I know some people enjoy very sweet rums - if you're one of them, maybe give it a try. I have to rate this low, though, it's just not for me.

Posted over 1 year ago by Chavelo from Greece with 11 ratings

Quality has changed in the last few year, the pricetag has mantained-increased

Posted over 1 year ago by Matt59 from France with 10 ratings

Yeah it's a good one, but expansive. It's like an everyday Ron after you taste more excellent Ron, I definitely prefer the XO

Posted over 1 year ago by Ian Mack from United States with 5 ratings

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera is more sophisticated than Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, not is sweet and cost $10 more. If you are not Connoisseur and just want to make your Mrs tipsy -save $10.

Posted over 1 year ago by Terry from Mexico with 1 rating

A fabulous smooth fllavor, I don’t even put an ice cube in it

Posted over 1 year ago by Rob from Canada with 7 ratings

Ron Zacapa is really good. Bold yet refined taste. Very pleasant and enjoyable.

Posted at Lebowski Bar over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Sweet on the nose, some apple and caramel notes. Well rounded with a bit of heat.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Lars from Sweden with 6 ratings

23 g of added sugar per litre and a very young rum with lots of caramel. Totally uninteresting and highly overrated.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ryan from Canada with 21 ratings

...and then i realized - nope; thats dark chocolate. The major note in this to me is dark chocolate. I get slight amounts of heavily salted caramel right before the finish. Its sweet, but not necessarily in a good way. Its sweet in the way that a not-dark-enough-dark-chocolate, or a a-little-too-dark-milk-chocolate, is sweet. The finish is long, which would be good except for it being tinged with the flavour of sugar cane husk, a flavour that I have only been able to describe as "green". The transitions between these flavours are very smooth and pair well together. It would be an excellent rum if I loved dark chocolate or that agricole flavour but personally its not my favourite. Certainly decent from time to time though

Posted almost 2 years ago by Adam Berger from United States with 2 ratings

When I tried this for the first time, I thought it was ok. The more I had it, the less I liked it. It tasted a bit sweet and come to find out this rum is very "doctored" (adding sugar to the finished product to sweeten and smoothen). Definitely This is not always a "bad" thing, I just like to know whether the rum I'm drinking is doctored or not. Zacapa gives no indication that their rum is doctored. Another review on this rum mentioned how this brand deliberately lies about adding sweetener to their rum.

Regarding the rum, the nose is strong with caramel, brown sugar, and some vanilla. The palate is much the same with a burnt brown sugar and caramel.

Posted about 2 years ago by Tamara from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Not too bad, but seriously overrated.
Its easy to drink, but it lacks body and identity.

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

This was my start on my adult rum journey and many bottles has passed by. Nowadays I’m not so much into the sweet Spanish styled ron. Instead I’m more into English and French styled rum/rhum. So the rate has going down, down, down.

Posted about 2 years ago by Fabian from Netherlands with 3 ratings

really one of the best rum i tasted so far. Has a Nice Sweet taste.

Posted about 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Typical Solera style rum that has that hybrid chocolate/whisky taste. It is a bit stronger in alcohol, and the finish is a subdued dark caramel. The XO version is the one to get if you do not like that sharpness.

Posted about 2 years ago by Mephisto from Germany with 36 ratings

I'm surprised about the significant sherry (also PX) taste in that rum. Usually I drink some whisky and this is similar to some "sherry bomb" whiskies like Glenfarclas etc. Further, this rum is not very sweet, means the sugar doesn't hide parts of the taste from my point of view. I like it!

Posted about 2 years ago by JRR from Canada with 37 ratings

Expensive, no flavor, à lot of added sugar ... I Was expecting à more punchy rum. This bottles doesn't deserve the expense ... Its easy to drink, no aftertaste, smooth, but offer nothing special. Good rum but doesn't deserve the réputation and the Price.

Posted about 2 years ago by Stam from Greece with 6 ratings

It is a good rum nevertheless but in my opinion not a memorable one.
I always enjoy drinking it but I cannot say that I find my self craving to taste it after a period of absence as I feel with some other runs.

Posted over 2 years ago by Cold Rain from United States with 10 ratings

I had no intentions of ever purchasing the Ron Zacapa 23 due to their numerous marketing strategies that I feel are quite deceptive. After years of Zacapa 23 seeming to come up in every conversation I was having about rum and being told by more people than I can remember that "Ron Zacapa 23 is the best rum in the world!" I finally broke down and purchased 750ml for $64.00. It is possible that the rum in my bottle was a bit off because of the cork. I have no idea how the rum did not spill out of the bottle during transportation. The cork was so loose that when I pulled the strip to remove the foil covering the cork and the neck, the cork came right out of the bottle splashing rum all over my hand. I'm not sure if the cork shrunk over time or it was too small to begin with, but this is something I have never seen before. There was nothing I could do to return it since the seal was broken. At $64 I was pretty upset. After taking the first sip I could only sit there and shake my head while trying to remember some of the people who persuaded me to buy this. My bottle tasted and smelled of little more than syrupy sweet alcohol but it was drinkable. There is very strong competition in this price range and Zacapa 23 doesn't cut it for me. Based on the price, the state of the cork, and the experience I had with this rum, I will never splurge for the XOs, Reserves, or Special Editions from Zacapa as I imagine they are all over-hyped as well.