Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1673 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

4f85d98ac760a848c518078e3f25166d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Totte from Sweden with 27 ratings

Här finns det mycket av det goda, lite spritig men som sagt mycket god ändå, inte som diplomatica

0dc0bf78b295d071c16adde094fa419d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by rexet from France with 24 ratings

Avec le Diplomatico ce Ron Zacapa 23 doit faire parti des meilleurs ventes de rhum Solera et les critiques sont souvent élogieuses. J'ai hésité à commander directement le XO mais je me suis dit qu'il serait intéressant de partir avec ce qui semble être la référence chez cette maison.
Je n'en suis qu'à ma seconde dégustation mais pour le moment je suis relativement déçu. Alors ça se boit bien, c'est même assez bon mais compte tenu du prix il y a tellement de choses plus intéressante. Mon El Dorado 15 ans coûte moins cher et offre beaucoup plus ! Je vais caricaturer un peu mais je ne sens que le sucre, le caramel et la vanille... bref la base de tous les rhums quoi. Je n'y trouve pas grande complexité et si en bouche il est plutôt doux je le trouve par contre un poil agressif à la descente.
J'attends les prochains verres pour voir si mon avis évolue mais pour le moment je reste sur ma faim compte tenu de sa réputation.

2a158efe7edd36d02d4f950273c12e19.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Rick from United States with 30 ratings

Local shop proclaimed this was his best rum. Tried it along with Kirk & Sweeney and Plantation 5 year. Zacapa turned out to be my least fave. Don't get me wrong - this is not a bad rum by any stretch, just not my favorite. Very smooth, but the combination of flavors left me a little flat. Have since tried the Zacapa XO and have to say that one is fantastic!

370794352f5869b0fe23e32b0c9bddc0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

I've tried Zacapa 23 on many occasions. It's loaded with extra sugar or something and it's not at all a 23yr aged rum. I'm not easy to please and this falls short. Way short. I do give a great deal of credit to Zacapa for opening the eyes of buyers vs products like Bacardi and Capt Morgan. Notice that most people put coke in those. I just want to sip neat.

6a1e4d64d5c3466b223f5caccce80258.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by borous from Czech Republic with 1 rating

I enjoy this rum, has a nice sweet aroma and taste. Very smooth to drink, had enjoy it. Would recommend to give it a try.

59e6c054f38e4d4e805a806395b81b88.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefan PN from Sweden with 12 ratings

Nose; Smooth and sweet aromas of dried apricots, vanilla, coconut, oak, chocolate, citrus fruits and sherry. A rich and warm palette.
Palette; A pleasant oiliness carrying flavors of subtle spicy oak, a nutty element, brown sugar and molasses. The nose continues in the flavors.
Finish; A medium finish where dried fruits, oak, brown sugar and molasses are the most prominent flavors. A small hint of tobacco are also evident.
Overall; Smooth and well made but a bit boring compared to rums like Ron Esclavo XO and Rum Company - Old Barbados. A nice rum though.

3914864930be4d09a021587e528b33b0.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Dan from Canada with 17 ratings

Smooth, a bit sweet. Vanilla and caramel. It was my first intro to good rum, and a favorite in my cabinet.

5b7752163f4192f823318320eb520651.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by Raulgmt from United States with 7 ratings

Very dark, with a full flavor. Is sweet but it taste great and please never ruin it by mixing it with cola. This is a premium straight up rum.

728ec5b6ed86280ed3a0db9cb9861cc8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 7 years ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 140 ratings

There's no doubt, Zacapa 23 is great for the premium rum industry. I'd guess its the most prevalent aged rum out there, and brought many newcomers to rum.

I like Zacapa 23 but not as much as Diplomatico, El Dorado, an others. It has a great rush of initial spice that dissipates quickly and leaves the mouth with a slightly oily sweet molasses finish.

For a 10+ year aged rum, I wanted more subtle notes. I get a little nutmeg and maybe even an olive note - but generally a little bland

2032fb7a8e9918290417b67e70cc5222.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Tony from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Was really looking forward to this as it has all the attributes to be a great rum. Then you open the bottle and it smells lovely and fruity. then take a sip and its very very sweet. Not sure on the sugar content but im guessing very high. I know its a solera so its not a full aged rum but for the price in the uk you can get aged rums for that price. To be honest i found el dorado 8 beat it hands down and the 12 is in a different league. Nice for just one or two but to much sugar for any more. Couldnt bare to think of the hangover after a night on this haha.

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

Sampled this rum but the sweetness Seems to hide any resemblance of a true Rum. Obviously enjoyed by many but this is not for me.