Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10 (1764 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
4
14
18
47
183
467
664
287
73

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


1764 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by FerPaard from Netherlands with 13 ratings

I was waiting to sip this one for some times, and although i might have been prejudiced, it was a smooth and great experience.so far my favorite rum. Spicy, smooth. Balanced. A lot of body, strong mouth-feel, heavy. Just great.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This stuff tastes like Diet Coke, and yet it's the most popular rum on the website. I don't get it.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Mikael Vejdemo-Johansson from Sweden with 5 ratings

The Zacapa 23 was the first rum I could find myself enjoying, and it has become the benchmark against which I measure all other rum experiences.

The flavour is deep, layered, and complex. It reminds me of single malt whisky, with smoke-y and oak-y hints to the dark and spicy rum aroma.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

I cannot believe this "rum" was once marketed as world's best: Its cheap coloured alcohol with plenty sugar added. Nada mas. I would not serve it except with ice cream. The age statements are a joke, the "rum" is a joke - it is more sherry than rum - and basically it is soo overpriced that it is shameful.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dunderful from United States with 5 ratings

This isn't rum. Oh, wait, it actually IS rum because pretty much anything can be sold as rum since rum consumers are apparently too ignorant/lazy/naive/easily parted with their money/etc to demand the kind of regulations that would exclude this cheap sugary swill from being labelled rum in the first place.

Besides the diabetes-inducing levels of sugar in here there is almost certainly a boatload of other additives, chemical flavourings, and artificial adulterants added as well. And yet, after all that, after having forsaken all their integrity and craftsmanship, the producers still failed to make it taste good. I mean, if you're gonna add sugar, artificial flavours and god knows what else then at least make it delicious! Otherwise what's the point? This is just extremely sweet (so smooth!) booze water that has a bunch of very flat, artificial-tasting rummy notes, eg, caramel, toffee, vanilla, coconut, orange etc. I did my own simple sugar test by placing a few drops on a plate and letting it evaporate. Several hours later an obscene amount of sticky residue remained, so much so that you'd think almost half of the rum was sugar and glycerol. Try it out yourself. By the way, the bottle claims the rum is 40% ABV, but it doesn't taste like it, even with the added sugar taken into account, and I have seen (admittedly amateur) tests that put it around 28-35% ABV... So, yeah, this company sucks so much.

Anyway, on to the more important aspects of this rum. First, it has the number 23 on it, which is a good high number to have written on a bottle of alcohol. Second, it is wrapped in a kind of twine band - very fancy! Third, on the label there are some gold medals denoting some kind of awards. From these three facts alone you immediately know that you're getting a quality product...

Okay, okay, I know I'm being kinda snobby and pretentious, but if people were a little more discriminating and demanded the kind of transparency that would allow one to know exactly what it is they're consuming then perhaps we'd all start getting the quality we're already paying for. The price for this dreck is absurd. Look, I don't want to stop people from drinking this shite, I just want it labelled correctly so that brilliant, fascinating, handsome people with exceptionally refined tastes will only ever see it where it belongs - on the bottom shelf in the liqueur aisle.

Small 26820

Posted almost 5 years ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 70 ratings

So, as a big rum fan I tried this as it is surrounded by a lot of hype. The best conclusion I can make is, if you think this is a good rum, you are not a rum fan, stop drinking rum and go back to single malts.

This tastes like a really smooth, sweet single malt. Not bad, but the sweetness seems like 'sweetener' sweet, not sugar or caramel. I did try mixing it too, but it is terrible with cola, terrible with ginger, but not so bad with Copella apple and raspberry juice.

I ended up binning it, I would advice vigilance towards others 'rum' reviews if they rated this over 5.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by cibalko from Slovakia with 13 ratings

I decidet to buy this rum since there is a plenty of good ratings on this rum, but I was very disappointed.
On the nose is nice, but in the taste I found something hard defying which my tongue did not liked. Something synthetic bitterish and sharp.
There are lot of better rums in this price range. Definitely will not buy again :-/

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Jelle from Belgium with 3 ratings

All the people who are not accustom to drinking rum, are enjoying Zacapa 23y. It's pretty sweet and not that heavy. It's not my favorite but it's a close second.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

It's a good rum; probably one of the better ones to start sipping with.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mr. Rum Guy from United States with 23 ratings

I've tried Zacapa 23 on many occasions. It's loaded with extra sugar or something and it's not at all a 23yr aged rum. I'm not easy to please and this falls short. Way short. I do give a great deal of credit to Zacapa for opening the eyes of buyers vs products like Bacardi and Capt Morgan. Notice that most people put coke in those. I just want to sip neat.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Nose: Medium sweet, nice aroma, too alcoholic
Taste: Sweet, sugar
Tail: Balanced, with alcohol spike at the end
Added sugar 20g per liter
Easy to drink