Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1900 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
15
18
53
191
519
708
306
78

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1900 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Jay Rogers from United States with 10 ratings

OK, to be clear, I mixed my rums with Diet Dr. Pepper. It's just how I like my rum. Zacapa was my first introduction to the real rum world (outside of Bacardi and Captain Morgans 1.75L typical offerings. I loved it and still do. The flavor is vanilla, molasses, and fruity. I would put this is the more sweet side by just a little bit. It is not a sugary sweet rum, but it has a perfectly blended "natural" sweetness to each and the complex flavors offer one or two changes as you enjoy it. It is not a Clement 6 that changes every sip in a good way, but it is not a Captain Morgan Reserve that is the same all the way through the drink. I have 9 bottles of this in my cabinet, yes 9 in reserve. It is likely my go to rum when I want something fine, yet not over the top.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

Love it neat. But that isn't an option to choose below...

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by zellrom from France with 24 ratings

Un rhum qui trahit la tutelle du cognac dès le premier nez et pas n'importe lequel, car le Zacapa est élevé en fût qui a vu grandir du cognac français. C'est dans cet opulent héritage que grandissent les rhums de la maison Zacapa mais en solera, toujours. Et c'est bien grâce à ce process typiquement espagnol, répandu en amérique centrale, que la bouteille peut arborer fièrement un âge de 23 ans. Mais le résultat n'en reste pas moins délectable avec un nez vanillé passant en bouche par le caramel.
Le rhum Zacapa Solera 23 est une valeur sûre, bien calibrée qui ravira tous les palais. Néanmoins pour un rhum affichant 23 années de maturation au compteur, l'amateur averti sera vite déçu par le manque de complexité de cette liqueur.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

There's a tremendous density of expression in this rum, and thus it's huge reputation. One can not escape the sense this rum was handled with great care from start to finish. It excels in every area, and stands as proof Solera blending is ideal for rum. I find this rum ideal neat, not gaining when consumed over ice.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Lance Pottruff from Canada with 5 ratings

I always buy it coming back to Canada at duty free. Great deal at $40 /L. I don't mix this one for sure. Nice to sip like a good scotch.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

Excellent rum. Interesting aging and blending process produces a very rich flavor.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Remy Chevalier from United States with 34 ratings

It's exactly what you expect a good rum to taste like, it's strange... I took a chance reading all the reviews, bought a bottle, it's as good as they say. Quite a feat for a commercially available rum. It doesn't dethrone my favorites, because nothing beats personality, but it tastes like something Disney would create to fit the perfect description of what rum should be, a little scary, almost Star Trek replicator like.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by PaulB from United Kingdom with 14 ratings

It's very drinkable, has a slight initial spiciness, which I like, followed by a slightly sweet & oily aftertaste, which I'm not so keen on. Probably one of the better rums more commonly found in bars.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by donmichelangelo from Germany with 25 ratings

This is definitely an "always drinkable" rum, nothing what you can do wrong with it, a nice and sweet sipper.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Magic from Netherlands with 15 ratings

its a realy nice sipping rum

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

Nice Rum at a good price, great straight, but not so pricey as to cause guilt when mixing with a splash of diet coke