Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1875 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
15
18
53
191
509
694
306
77

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1875 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ben Rowe from Australia with 7 ratings

Very nice rum! Quite sweet with a rich honey aroma! Love this rum!

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

One of the best rum I have ever had, and I make rum for a living. Grade A stuff. Drank and entire bottle throughout the week on a cruise in April from the Rum bar on a Carnival Cruise Ship. There was only one other rum lover (from MA) that was drinking it with me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

It may be a bit on the sweet side for some, but Zacapa 23 is a very well-rounded rum and a good place to get people interested in premium rum. The aroma and mouthfeel are fine, the taste is great, and it's smooth going down with nothing harsh in the finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

Nice a full taste...but unremarkable

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Not one I like to mix very often. On the rocks is my preference. Can still be mixed and come out with excellent results. A nice sipping rum with interesting flavouring.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 14 ratings

Actually the Zacapa Solera 23 was the first premium rum I ever tried and there we went... ;-)

A few years and rums later I can still recommend this one to everybody with a preference for an easy going sugary rum. It is just a high quality product and very enjoyable especially for beginners. Therefore, a great spirit to introduce your friends to rum and help grow the community of rum enthusiasts a little more.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

Love it neat. But that isn't an option to choose below...

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by zellrom from France with 24 ratings

Un rhum qui trahit la tutelle du cognac dès le premier nez et pas n'importe lequel, car le Zacapa est élevé en fût qui a vu grandir du cognac français. C'est dans cet opulent héritage que grandissent les rhums de la maison Zacapa mais en solera, toujours. Et c'est bien grâce à ce process typiquement espagnol, répandu en amérique centrale, que la bouteille peut arborer fièrement un âge de 23 ans. Mais le résultat n'en reste pas moins délectable avec un nez vanillé passant en bouche par le caramel.
Le rhum Zacapa Solera 23 est une valeur sûre, bien calibrée qui ravira tous les palais. Néanmoins pour un rhum affichant 23 années de maturation au compteur, l'amateur averti sera vite déçu par le manque de complexité de cette liqueur.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

There's a tremendous density of expression in this rum, and thus it's huge reputation. One can not escape the sense this rum was handled with great care from start to finish. It excels in every area, and stands as proof Solera blending is ideal for rum. I find this rum ideal neat, not gaining when consumed over ice.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Lance Pottruff from Canada with 5 ratings

I always buy it coming back to Canada at duty free. Great deal at $40 /L. I don't mix this one for sure. Nice to sip like a good scotch.

Ffffff

Posted 8 years ago by Shawn Lein from United States with 34 ratings

Excellent rum. Interesting aging and blending process produces a very rich flavor.