Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged | 40.0% ABV

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1922 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
15
19
54
193
520
717
314
78

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1922 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mathias from Norway with 15 ratings

The rum to start with, but also the rum you'll never stop drinking. I see a few claims here that this a not a rum. Don't listen to them, I think that's a ridiculous thing to say! It's important to note that a lot of the reviews here are quite old, and Zacapa have reduced the sugar content from well over 40 grams per liter to about 20. Still quite sugary, but the rum sure has gained a lot of complexity since the change, while still being exceptionally smooth.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Thomas Oredsson from Sweden with 1 rating

Like The aroma, the vanilla, perhaps a bit to sweet and flirty
But very wellproduced!

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by DJM from Canada with 11 ratings

not as good as flora decana 21 but a rum i will always enjoy with good cuban cigar and will always have in my cabinet..and who in their right mind would purchase an expensive bottle of rum to adulterate it with cola or even water

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Anders Sjogren from United States with 7 ratings

I find it a little too bit strong for my taste

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

After trying the new Solera 23, I was disappointed. This rum is a shadow of its former greatness. No longer a 23 year old rum, it has been cheapened for mass production. The flavor profile used to be exquisite, now is just another rum in the market.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Margus Mägi from Estonia with 78 ratings

Peppery, but nice on the rocks. Nice choice though.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jirka from Czech Republic with 20 ratings

Nice sweet solera rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Doug from United States with 3 ratings

I was disappointed only because of all the great reviews I've read about Zacapa being the best rum ever. I thought it lacked the wonderful bouquet of Mount Gay Extra Old and although it was very good I still thought it wasn't as good as Mount Gay Extra Old.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

In the field of smooth and very sweet rums zacapa 23 deserves its place. However the flavor experience is oddly similar but less intense than diplomatico reserva exclusiva. Flor de cana 12 and seales 10 offer even better alternatives for far less money. Zacapa got vanilla, caramel and cocoa but it clearly lacks the oak and leather aspects of more balanced rums.

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Natalio from Argentina with 68 ratings

Sensacional

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Onex from Russian Federation with 8 ratings

One of the best wich I have tested. Absolutely soft, much flower, women's rum (woman sommelier). Very tasty, difficult and hard