Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa 23 Solera rum

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Guatemala | Aged

Ron Zacapa 23 Solera Rum was created in 1976 in the highlands of Guatemala, where it is distilled from fresh cane juice before aging at 7544 feet at 62 °F (17 °C).

The 500 year-old Spanish Sistema Solera method is used to age Ron Zacapa 23 in white oak casks. This results in a combination of rums aged between 6 and 23 years.

The current Ron Zacapa 23 bottle features a woven band around the middle, which is in reference to the original hand woven palm leaf petate bottle cover that covered the bottle.

7.5/10
1860 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
7
5
14
18
52
191
503
690
303
77

Rate Ron Zacapa 23 Solera

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

1860 Ron Zacapa 23 Solera ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

It's one of the first bottle I bought specifically to sip. Needs some air to breathe & I prefer it over a cube of ice. Thick start, smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Mitch Gomez from Canada with 17 ratings

Not much to say about this rum, I think anyone who has ever tasted it will agree with me that it really is one of the best rums ever made

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Chuck from United States with 10 ratings

Great dark amber color, spice, cinnamon, smooth finish

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Sakulnikov from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Very nice sipping but from reviews I have expected something extraordinary. I lack some strong and distinguishable aroma. In Czech Republic it is quite expensive, so I do not think I will buy second bottle. But still it is very tasteful rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Papa Bear from Canada with 15 ratings

I just got my second bottle of Ron Zacapa 23 and it is wonderful. Full body , smooth and fine over ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

feels more like a summer time rum and so try without ice, warm and rich on the tongue with a smooth slight vanilla after taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

One of the best rum I have ever had, and I make rum for a living. Grade A stuff. Drank and entire bottle throughout the week on a cruise in April from the Rum bar on a Carnival Cruise Ship. There was only one other rum lover (from MA) that was drinking it with me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by SlowRain from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 33 ratings

It may be a bit on the sweet side for some, but Zacapa 23 is a very well-rounded rum and a good place to get people interested in premium rum. The aroma and mouthfeel are fine, the taste is great, and it's smooth going down with nothing harsh in the finish.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Chris from United States with 27 ratings

Nice a full taste...but unremarkable

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by Mike McPhee from Canada with 13 ratings

Not one I like to mix very often. On the rocks is my preference. Can still be mixed and come out with excellent results. A nice sipping rum with interesting flavouring.

Ffffff

Posted almost 8 years ago by DonRon from Germany with 14 ratings

Actually the Zacapa Solera 23 was the first premium rum I ever tried and there we went... ;-)

A few years and rums later I can still recommend this one to everybody with a preference for an easy going sugary rum. It is just a high quality product and very enjoyable especially for beginners. Therefore, a great spirit to introduce your friends to rum and help grow the community of rum enthusiasts a little more.