Posting your rating...

8.7/10
42 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
9
20
9

Rate Diplomatico 2005

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

42 Diplomatico 2005 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 20201009 154231

Posted 2 months ago by Steffmaus from Denmark with 32 ratings

Full rounded taste of dried fruit and dark chocolate, a bit sweeter than the Ambassador. Recommended for almost everyone

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 1 month ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 224 ratings

Tasted it together with my last glass from a 2004 and I think it’s slightly better than that one cause it’s not as sweet as the 2004 but on the other hand it’s also feels thinner.
The fragrance is quite complex with clear barrel character, hints of muscovado sugar, raisins, arrack, marzipan, dark chocolate, orange and vanilla.
In mouth and palate it’s also complex with some sweetness and clear barrel character, hints of raisins, muscovado sugar, orange, chocolate, arrack, nuts, cinnamon, Sherry and vanilla fudge.
The finish is medium long and tastes more or less the same.
Pictures: My Diplomatico shelf & My opened bottle on a foggy day out in the Stockholm archipelago.

Small img 20210206 154938 5219080434316553790

Posted 2 months ago by Lamantaalcoll from United States with 19 ratings

Really smoth, caramel flavour, beautiful bottle, an expensive bottle but its worth it

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 187 ratings

Quel beau rhum de dégustation. Réussi a mettre la main sur une des rares bouteilles arrivées à la SAQ. Si vous avez la chance d'y goûter, allez-y!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

One of the greatest venezuelean rum. Good balance, a lot of flavours, sublime aftertaste. In one word, great.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by miRcea SAVA from Romania with 25 ratings

Smooth as silk. Surprisingly, not very flavoured, it is just it's needed. Not very sweet. Dark chocolate is predominant taste. Smells quite herbal, in my opinion. Aftertaste is long and a little bit spicy.
An excellent drink to sip!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by LILTHOR from France with 6 ratings

Being a self confessed diplomatico fan girl and after reading the reviews dripping in compliments here, I was thrilled to get my hands on a bottle of this. Everything started off well with lovely complex caramel and vanilla exploding over the tastebuds but the feisty, fiery finish was a deal breaker for me.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 445 ratings

Very well balanced, sweeter, but not too much (like12y for example) complex body with molasses, wood, chocolate and fruits. Nice smooth and long aftertaste. Unfortunately I don't had 2004 for direct comparison :-( need to repeat it again one day :-)

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2741 ratings

Rum tasting in Skopje Macedonia continued with Diplomatico 2005 Single Vintage. Very nice high end bottle and label design. Mahogany color. So close to being an amazing Single Vintage Diplomatico, but there is an unaged alcohol burn at the end knocking it down to nine.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Skitto from Australia with 10 ratings

Bought though the Australian rum club. It was an amazing more premium offering of the cheaper diplomatico range.

Slightly less sweet and more savoury though still retaining the sipping rum experience and easy drinking.

Should have bought 3...

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by jepoycat from Philippines with 19 ratings

The sherry influence is very much apparent. Caramel, dried fruits, vanilla, figs, and a bit of wood spice complement the brown sugar notes. Docking it a point because it could have been better if it was at a higher proof. The low proof makes it a tad bit unbalanced.