Posting your rating...
Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year rum

Rate Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


22 Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Eye:
Mahogany, amber. tear is thick and slow, medium dark, witness of the wood contact.

Nose 1:
Strong presence of alcohol, fruity odor

Taste - pure:
Creamy, slightly itching, cocoa flavor, silky, long finish. A touch of vanilla

Then nose a little water:
By lowering the alcohol, the strong presence of alcohol decreases again giving way to fruit, but this time with a memory of honey, candied fruit.

Taste #2 with some mineral water.
Softer in the mouth even less silky, alcohol opens a bit more.
The aftertaste remains strong, bitter chocolate. Even has a memory of vanilla, but tends to make more bitter than pure in your state.

Regularly this fruity liqueurs nature combine well in strikeouts or fruit juices. In lemon or cola can ruin the fine spirits.

Posted 2 months ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I bought a bottle of this in costa rica at a duty free. I had the bottle for about 4 years or so still in a sealed plastic bag. I must say that it was worth the wait. This is a very good rum! It has a depth to it an some level of complexity it had some notes of bubble gum which was oddly satisfying. I'm not sure about these other reviews maybe they have cheapened in?

Posted 7 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Eher würzig, leicht süss nicht allzu stark aber auch eher flach im Geschmack.
Man kann ihn aber trinken.

Posted 11 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

I bought this at the behest of a store clerk who said it sold really well and was better than Bacardi 8, which I was buying for mixing. Definitely not a sipper, strong alcohol smell, stronger taste, not much going on here but heat. Maybe in a mix it could be good, but it was pretty cheap so didn’t expect much.

Posted about 1 year ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

Hints of vanilla when smelling it. Not as strong when sipping it and it has an afterburn. Mixed, it’s a neutral. Hence the 5

Posted over 1 year ago by Natan from Israel with 15 ratings

It’s an OK rum, to mix or on the rocks. Nothing special and not as balanced as expected from a “alejos”

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dmitry from Russian Federation with 3 ratings

Nice rum. Light smell, soft taste. Maybe a bit lot of alcohol.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Venger from United States with 3 ratings

Gift from a Colombian friend. I like this quite a bit. Not sophisticated and a little sweet but easy to sip and enjoy.

Posted about 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Beaucoup trop sucré. Aucun raffinement. Même pas bon en drink

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Muy buena elección para disfrutar con los amigos que solo quieren divertirse.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Ron Viejo de Caldas 8y has a very nice dark rum color, but that's the only positive thing. The bottle looks very cheap, the rum smells like hand sanitizer and has such a harsh burn to it that you want to mix it with something, anything. I can't believe such a rat poison comes from Colombia when they have a dozen better rums to offer in a blink of an eye.

Posted over 2 years ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

This is my go to rum for the price and that's part of why it gets a 7. It's just good enough to sip, but at $18 where I'm at its an excellent mixer as well. This is my staple go to for all general purpose get togethers when I don't want to bring out the good stuff.

Posted over 2 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron ligero, dulce y muy perfumado, no es mi tipo de ron, se parece al Cartavio 12. Si estás en colombia recomiendo más el ron Medellín.

Posted almost 3 years ago by AlexMo from Russian Federation with 131 ratings

Aroma: lime, peach, caramel, alcohol.
Taste: dry, brandy, barrel, nutiness, coffee.
Provides visibility of clear consciousness.
I guarantee a good mood and no serious consequences (the second bottle confirms this).

Posted over 3 years ago by BARCAS from Colombia with 24 ratings

Si vas a pagar menos de 20 Usd por un trago no puedes esperar gran cosa. Mejor ahorrar un poco más y encontrar algo con mayor calidad

Posted almost 4 years ago by Unai from Spain with 45 ratings

Un ron muy agradable tanto para beberlo solo como en combinado.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jack from Belgium with 39 ratings

Bon rhum colombien qui peut se boire sec ou en Cuba libre

Posted over 4 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Great rum if you are partial to cognacs. Nice sweet taste that gets hidden behind the wood. But, like every good rum, the taste has its moments.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

I find this rum is good with a coke but not a sipping rum

Posted almost 6 years ago by Miguel from Uruguay with 40 ratings

Muy sabroso, dorado, buen cuerpos algo dulce.
Recomendable para disfrutar con amigos.

Posted about 6 years ago by Natalio from Argentina with 68 ratings

8 años de sabor

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

This tastes very much like a decent brandy or cognac to me, the grassy flavors inherent to cane juice rums have been largely offset by the wood. Very nice for sipping.