Posting your rating...
Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year rum

Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

6.0/10
23 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
3
9
4

Rate Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

23 Ron Viejo de Caldas 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by BARCAS from Colombia with 24 ratings

Si vas a pagar menos de 20 Usd por un trago no puedes esperar gran cosa. Mejor ahorrar un poco más y encontrar algo con mayor calidad

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Eye:
Mahogany, amber. tear is thick and slow, medium dark, witness of the wood contact.

Nose 1:
Strong presence of alcohol, fruity odor

Taste - pure:
Creamy, slightly itching, cocoa flavor, silky, long finish. A touch of vanilla

Then nose a little water:
By lowering the alcohol, the strong presence of alcohol decreases again giving way to fruit, but this time with a memory of honey, candied fruit.

Taste #2 with some mineral water.
Softer in the mouth even less silky, alcohol opens a bit more.
The aftertaste remains strong, bitter chocolate. Even has a memory of vanilla, but tends to make more bitter than pure in your state.

Regularly this fruity liqueurs nature combine well in strikeouts or fruit juices. In lemon or cola can ruin the fine spirits.

Small img 20201129 151150

Posted 5 days ago by Pacorro from Spain with 67 ratings

Me encanta probar rones......este lo encontré a 14'10€ y me lo llevé, hoy lo he probado, en nariz uele a roble....en boca tiene sabor a ron pero le falta punch, lo encuentro flojo en el sabor, no es que no sepa bien pero como que le falta fuerza, no está mal, igual es por los 37'5 grados....no entiendo que si tiene 8 años no tenga los 40 grados, en fin, para mi otro ron más.............. no me deja gran huella, seguiré atento para comprar nuevas ofertas, de algo me tiene que servir vivir en Ceuta.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I bought a bottle of this in costa rica at a duty free. I had the bottle for about 4 years or so still in a sealed plastic bag. I must say that it was worth the wait. This is a very good rum! It has a depth to it an some level of complexity it had some notes of bubble gum which was oddly satisfying. I'm not sure about these other reviews maybe they have cheapened in?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Eher würzig, leicht süss nicht allzu stark aber auch eher flach im Geschmack.
Man kann ihn aber trinken.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 39 ratings

I bought this at the behest of a store clerk who said it sold really well and was better than Bacardi 8, which I was buying for mixing. Definitely not a sipper, strong alcohol smell, stronger taste, not much going on here but heat. Maybe in a mix it could be good, but it was pretty cheap so didn’t expect much.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Hints of vanilla when smelling it. Not as strong when sipping it and it has an afterburn. Mixed, it’s a neutral. Hence the 5

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Natan from Israel with 15 ratings

It’s an OK rum, to mix or on the rocks. Nothing special and not as balanced as expected from a “alejos”

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dmitry from Russian Federation with 3 ratings

Nice rum. Light smell, soft taste. Maybe a bit lot of alcohol.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Venger from United States with 3 ratings

Gift from a Colombian friend. I like this quite a bit. Not sophisticated and a little sweet but easy to sip and enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 128 ratings

Beaucoup trop sucré. Aucun raffinement. Même pas bon en drink