Posting your rating...
Bayou Special Release Single Barrel rum

Bayou Special Release Single Barrel

United States | Dark

Bayou Single Barrel rum, a version of their base Bayou Rum that’s aged for two years and four months in used rye whiskey barrels and bottled at 80 proof.

via American Rum Report

7.8/10 (9 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
4
3
2

Rate Bayou Special Release Single Barrel

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

9 Bayou Special Release Single Barrel ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

I bought this and the Bayou Select - both were similarly priced (or here in UK there was a £3 difference). But the difference is huge.

The nose of the two is quite similar. A rather restrained, dry cane fruit. But it is the body where there is a big difference. There is a rich, sweet depth of fruit that the Select doesn't quite have. Gentle 40% alcohol leads to a medium length, dry finish with an appealing gentle oakiness.

I can't help but think that this would be better bottled at 45% like many an American whiskey is.

But the test of a rum.....would I buy it again? With this one, while I wouldn't class it as one of my favourites, I probably would. Variety being the spice of life.

EDIT - I've come back to this 6 weeks after opening the bottle. Upped from a 7 to an 8. It might not be for purists, but I like it. The nose has the traits that you would expect from cane, and this is carried on to the front pallet. But then the oak takes over, and TBH it masks some of the delicacy of the cane. As my preferred style is a nice oaky molasses based rum, I think the strong oak enhances the rum. I have to say that I'm very much enjoying, and looking at the price, I think I will definitely be getting more. Still wish it would be stronger!!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tim from Canada with 66 ratings

I had been skeptical that a rum from the mainland US of A could be a sipper -wrong! This is nice stuff with a faint aroma of pineapple and other tropical notes and a decent dry bite with a dry finish.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Michal Micko from Czech Republic with 388 ratings

Good wooden aroma. Taste is not bad with oak, honey and pepper but not complex and short aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by TY from Austria with 62 ratings

Dunkelgoldene Farbe.
Feinwürzige Nase, kein zu starker Alkoholgeruch.
Trocken, holzig, würzig. Kräftig im Geschmack. Zunächst etwas scharf. Rauchig!
Guter Körper. Mittellanger, warmer Abgang.

Gut und sauber. Untypisch verglichen mit den meisten bisher verkosteten Rums. Erinnert etwas an Whisky. Ein sehr guter Sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 211 ratings

My first American rum , and although I can tell it's very well constructed, its just too whiskeyish for me. Lovely bottle and label with plenty of information on it.
On the nose , rye whiskey and a small amount of caramel. Sips well but if blind tasted I wouldn't of thought of a rum. Very dry , guessing no sugar added. Only a gentle burn on the way down. Good , just not for me...

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 364 ratings

This is the first of their Special Release Single Barrel rums. It has been aged for only 28 months in used rye whiskey barrels. Any longer than that and it would have not appealed to me at all, since rye whiskey is one of my least favorite spirits. This one was done right. Quite smooth and never boring.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Never heard of this one earlier, bought to check and it turned out to be really great. Rich taste with caramel & chocolate accents - seriously good stuff :)

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This product is bottled at 40%, which is a bit disappointing for a "single barrel". Using rye whiskey barrels, it gains some nice additional flavours. The base distillate is good, from copper pot stills. Makes a nice if a bit simple rum (probably needs more aging to develop flavours).

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by TheGolfBallGuy from United States with 10 ratings

Aged in Rye barrels and not overly sweet. It's only available at the distillery in limited quantity. If you are passing through Lacassine, La. Stop and give it a try.