Posting your rating...
Foursquare 2007 12-Year rum

Foursquare 2007 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

8.6/10 (28 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
5
7
9
7

Rate Foursquare 2007 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


28 Foursquare 2007 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9e3778b8b1b9a55c1f726e32c7c375da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 24 days ago by AlohaRover from United States with 11 ratings

Picked up on a recommendation and I really enjoy it, straight or on the rocks. Oaky vanilla flavor, it’s what I share with my bourbon drinking friends

891bfc8d868fc96e5e0d670aa1065f27.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by deisold@aol.com from United States with 4 ratings

Great vanilla carmel, but really, a special one-and-done sipper. Not that it’s too hot to handle, but too hot for sustained enjoyment. It will have a little bit longer shelf life than the Zinfandel cask, but keep a place its place on the shelf. It would be an awesome floater on that piña colada!

C8ec1dc162ffe17ecaad0fd3dfed538b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Samurdavidov from Latvia with 60 ratings

Price: ~65 euro per bottle at the moment in Europe

This single blended rum marked by “X” on label. That’s right, number ten this time - Exception Cask Selection from Foursquare distillery, Barbados. In September 2015 Foursquare launched 2004 (III), October 2017 - 2005 (VI), and the last one at the moment from “number-ex-bourbon vintages” 2007 (X) comes out in March 2019. I highlighted these three Rum’s because they have a lot common , but they are still different. Just a few examples:
2004 11 years old. 59% ABV
2005 12 years old. 59% ABV
2007 12 years old. 59% ABV
They all are Blended product from Pot and Column distillation. But the ratio between Pot and Column is quite different from year to year. So you may try them all. You will not be disappointed.

But let’s go back to 2007...
12 years old, aged in ex-bourbon casks. And this casks comes from USA, Tennessee, where previously was aged famous bourbon Jack Daniels.
This rum is very well balanced, you can easily use it with small sips. It’s sweet enough, and fruitiness comes out if you give a time to Mr. 2007. But mostly it’s dry taste Rum. Deep, Oak and Leather “dance”. Taste in your mouth will rising fast, until you cross ‘aftertaste’ line. It’s really amazing, but for me - I like 2004 just a little bit more then this 2007 version. But anyway turn on classy music, add good cigar, and all troubles will left you for today very fast.

Stay cool, drink responsibly and enjoy life. Cheers!

996d8a414d08afa1c803822b06b485ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 days ago by Immiketoo (PREMIUM) from Greece with 33 ratings

I’ve been exposed to Barbados rum early on. Between this and Appleton Estate products, I have been spoiled. Sugared rums are still enjoyable, but when you consider all the amazing flavors of unsweetened rums, it’s astounding how proper aging can pull flavors.

It’s much more subtle than sugared rums, but at 59%, it’s anything but subtle. Similar to RL Seales 10 year but with more punch.

Hints of sugar cane, molasses and a sweet lingering finish make this one of my new favorite rums.

Foursquare manage full flavor, spicy, sweet and smooth all at the same time, without the cloying effects of lots of sugar. A rum you can drink all day, provided you’re a man!

F4a62599be817f076119585f36b7a157.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 22 days ago by GH (PREMIUM) from United States with 22 ratings

Was fortunate to find 3 different bottles of Foursquare in FL, expensive, but have always admired the brand. This bottle like the 2005 is high proof & you realize it when it hits the nose. Nice scent of light fruit, honey & caramel. Slight burn across the tongue, but terrific taste. Notes of more caramel & toffee across the palette, finishes strong with honey. My initial thought is that I prefer this bottle vs the 2005.

17244066c59ae18b934a356f130e728c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 23 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

Foursquare gets a lot of hype. No mistake, this is a quality rum. But it just didn’t excite me, especially not for $80. I could buy 2 bottles of a better rum. The ABV is fine. I like a rum with bite and burn. But I could never rate this 9 or 10. It has some nice complexity. It has some depth. Lots of oak with toffee notes. A really nice strong rum. But a 7.5 for me. I am anxious to try another foursquare rum. Waiting to add substance to the hype.

7d13c3c61e9f8efe00deae69f130c064.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 25 days ago by Mujuru from United States with 47 ratings

So this is my first experience with an actual Foursquare Rum although I have had several of R.L. Seale's rums. This is, however, absolutely on another level entirely. This is a high ABV rum so it is going to be strong but the complex notes and experience from this rum are almost mind-blowing. Imagine sitting in an Oak great hall next to a crackling fire while someone is making Vanilla-Orange chocolates in the kitchen down the hall and the aromas are lightly wafting through your nostrils. Now imagine that entire experience is happening inside your mouth and up to your nostrils.

The nose is a lovely combination of Orange, Vanilla, and Chocolate. Once you take a sip a coating of chocolatey vanilla orange coats the front of your palate while notes of Oak, Bourbon, and just a touch of Cinnamon swirl in the back of your mouth along with a perfect fireside warmth. All of these notes linger in a magnificent subtlety which tickles your tonsils long after you set your glass down. It has wonderfully intricate bourbon tones, but you can't find a bourbon that could hold a candle to this in a millennia.

This is pure awesomeness in a bottle. It is worth every single penny of the $80 I paid for it, and that is saying something.

Bravo! Mr. Seale, Bravo!

This. Is. Rum.

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 10
Smoothness: 10
Versatility: 9
Price: 8

Total 9.5

51afa0200fb9cdd4be91809bc306b16c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 30 days ago by ElPato from Norway with 26 ratings

Dark amber with a greenish hue (that could be ambient light fooling my eyes).
Nose: Caramel, oak, vanilla, leather, sugarcane and a slight touch of varnish/linseed oil that indicates this is high in alcohol.
On the palate it strikes you with more varnish, being a bit unpleasant to be honest. This rum needs to breathe in the glass for at least ten minutes because that varnish becomes a nail polish remover trying to escape the mouth through the nostrils. A pity, because otherwise it has some things going on for it with a certain elegance, leather and slightly charred pineapple.
The aftertaste lingers after a short burn, with classical notes of tobacco, sugarcane and oak but the original mouthfeel is too thin to make for an integrated drinking experience.

This rum is not for everyone and the high alcohol is not quite tamed. A bit sloppy distillate or blending perhaps? Several times I imagined a very experienced blender or distiller who has become a bit too insensitive over the years. I do like strong spirits but this blend has components that should simply not have been there.

689936f09931daeb04cab2e43a74631e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Ezekyle31 from France with 2 ratings

Typically a foursquare, One must have for all peeps who love the rum !

D1cdeaa157719c3c4ac8a52a480f2fb2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by Yardbird from United States with 1 rating

This is a fabulous rum. Yes it has a high ABV, but this is sipping rum, if you really want to appreciate it. This is the kind of rum that bourbon drinkers will switch to when summer arrives. Complex. It's not for pina coladas or for mixing with Coke. If you're new to rum, start with something else, this is for experienced drinkers that appreciate what a rum can be. Four Square is one of the best rum distillers in the world and this is one of their best.