Posting your rating...
Probitas White rum

Probitas White

Jamaica | Light

7.3/10
22 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
7
9
3

Rate Probitas White

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

22 Probitas White ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 97 ratings

So much talk about this clear rum, I was expecting something along the lines of Diplomatico Planas. It does have a little funk to it. Not one to sip neat.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by abrarey from United States with 35 ratings

This is supposed to be a stellar mixing rum, but damn is pretty good for sipping. Very creamy feeling and you can taste some funkiness. This is the same as the Veritas, but this the brand name used for the US market.
Nose: ripe banana.
Taste: Ripe tropical fruits, very creamy, and sweet in a good way.
After taste is even better, the fruit flavor dominate your palate for long time.
I will need to try it on cocktails but damn I already love it like that.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by ManhttanProject from United States with 6 ratings

(my first review, take this with a grain of salt)

Nose: Very sweet, with a light fruit scent reminiscent of other young Jamaicans (albeit MUCH less pronounced and more sweet than savory), banana, with hints of molasses.
Palate: Hints of pineapple, orange, burnt sugar, candy corn. Very smooth, not much alcohol flavor.
Tail: Mostly burnt sugar, with a little pepperiness.

Overall, a very solid light rum, and one of my favorites of its kind in my collection. I'm partial to very aggressive overproofs and Jamaicans though, so I would usually look for something with a bit more character to it when reaching for a sipping rum. However, I'd definitely go for this one if I needed a light, less out-there rum for a cocktail or to give my palate a break.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by sebastospud from United States with 16 ratings

Sipping, just great with a lot of pineapple and bananas on the nose, along with burnt caramel. Then on the palate, bananas, funk, anise, and some cedar or pencil shavings. A bit hot at first, but, really lovely to hang out with for a while.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 484 ratings

Good daquiri and flavour of both Barbados and Jamaica .. what is not to love in rum ....both my favourite islands ..

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

You have both on this site, and some have rated this one on the Veritas page.

I think this ranks with some of my other whites, but a little too much funk . . . and not the 9 or 10 I was hoping for . . . aren't we all? As seen below, the label makes a statement. Good for Foursquare and Richard Seale. Keep up all you work for and stand for. Another worthy product!

Is the Veritas a similarly top choice? I don't know. I haven't tried it. Not sure it available to me in the US.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Key West Rummy from United States with 9 ratings

Presentation: A slight yellow/straw hue. Good legs.

Nose: light esters and a slight suggestion of oak for a white/ unaged rum. Delicate and overall pleasing.

Palette: clean, subtle offerings of esters, well beyond a CNS with hints of vanilla. If indeed a pure unaged rum, the flavor is quite impressive for a white rum.

Mouthfeel and Finish: Semi-dry overall, no sweetness but has some body to it that carried over the entire palette to indicate shallow cuts on the tail of the distillation for the base rum. Finishes nicely with lingering oak and ester notes minimal alcohol.

Overall: Clean and elegant white. Great for high end cocktails but good enough to sip neat or on the rocks. A score of 7/10 is as high as a white rum can go in my opinion when ranked with other rums, but as for whites, this is a 9/10. And since I don’t award perfect scores (there is always room for improvement); this is as good as it gets for a white. Well done Richard.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

Nose: Glue, Banana, Apples, Pear, faint Pineapple, Apple cider Vinegar, Candy Corn
Palate: very sweet (despite 0 added sugar), Banana, fermented apples, yellow cherries, caramel corn, lemon drop candies
Finish: very faint, a little heat, Apples, Butterscotch, candy-like sweetness at the back of the mouth

This rum is called Veritas in most parts of the world, and because of IP issues, Probitas in the US. Probitas and Veritas are the same rum, by the same collaboration only labeled differently because of naming issues in the U.S.

The name in most of the world, Veritas, means "truth" and was meant to convey that this rum is completely natural with nothing added. This is a collaboration between the Foursquare and double retort pot still Hampden distilleries in Barbados and Jamaica, respectively. It is a mix of Barbadian/Bajan rums and Hampden Pot Still rums bottled at 47% ABV.

This was originally specifically designed to serve as the perfect cocktail rum, and I can see that. However, it is also pretty nice just to sip on though it has some very interesting attributes. For one, this rum has an extraordinarily faint aftertaste despite having an explosive and extremely expressive palate. Unlike many rums, especially Jamaican rums which have an incredible nose and then a different or subdued palate followed by a strong finish/aftertaste, this rum lives in opposite land. It has a very nice but not overly intense nose, followed by one of the most explosive and expressive palates I have experienced on a rum, followed by an almost entirely non-existent finish. You could metaphorically describe it almost as if someone casually said "fire in the hole" and then conspicuously rolled a flashbang grenade of flavor into your mouth... and then you woke up and it was just a dream.

It is a mix of Barbadian and Jamaican rums so the nose contains aromas one might expect from a Jamaican rum, but they are subdued and noticeably altered. The nose on this is certainly pleasant enough, though not overly aromatically intense. The Barbadian influence definitely muffles the Hampden intensity. On the nose I get Glue, Banana, Apples, Pear, faint Pineapple, faint Apple Cider Vinegar, and just a whiff of candy corn. Its a nice combination, and it is definitely aromatic, but it doesn't bop you on the nose like most Jamaican pot still rums tend to do. You are led to believe that this is going to be a toned down rum with the notes muffled a bit so as not to overwhelm the cocktail it is being used in.

Well if you thought that you would be wrong... because the palate is one of the most expressive and explosive flavor bombs I have experienced - and that is saying something given that this is the 66th rum I have reviewed. I am frankly not sure quite how to do this justice other than to say that the flavors absolutely explode on your tongue like a firework show on the 4th of July (or if you aren't American pick a major holiday with a big fireworks display). Right out the gate is banana like you just bit off a hunk of a perfectly ripe banana. This is followed by sweet fermented apples accompanied by yellow cherries. As you begin to swallow you taste candy corn and lime flavored hard candy. The whole presentation is very sweet almost like if these notes were presented by Jolly Rancher. This of course is quite impressive given that there is absolutely 0 (zilch, nada) added sugars to this rum. In fact this rums tastes sweeter on the palate than Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva to me which is just insane. And the above notes are intense too, like popping 6 Jolly Ranchers in your mouth at the same time. So much for a toned down "mixing rum", haha. Yes it is a mixer, but this can equally serve as an excellent sipper. Whats further impressive is that this goes down wonderfully smooth despite clocking in at 47% ABV. All in all this rum has an amazing palate.

Unfortunately, as fast and impressive as the flavors explode on the palate, they disappear with equal rapidity on the finish. Which is to say that, oddly, this rum has almost no finish. On the finish I get a few muffled, faint notes of apples and butterscotch but they are very faint. Apparently this rum is like Las Vegas: what happens on the palate stays on the palate. Once it leaves your tongue its gone. Which is kind of a disappointing but only in comparison to how great the palate on this rum is. A few minutes after putting the glass down your mouth returns to the same state as it was before you drank the rum.

I could see how this would be an absolutely amazing mixing rum: the aromas won't alter the cocktail but the flavors will shine bright without the finish impacting the flavors of the total mixture. Fascinating. That said its a real easy sipper, especially if you can just keep sipping on it. In fact as a sipper it is kind of dangerous because the palate is so expressive you crave it but it disappears so fast it leaves you wanting more. At least that's what it does to me. This is a great mix of the Jamaican and Barbadian styles. I will make a few cocktails with it an check back in.

Nose: 7
Palate: 9
Aftertaste: 6
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 10
Price: 8

Total: 8.1

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

This is a very versatile rum that can be used as a sipper but I think it's best for giving your mixed drinks that extra something...especially in a daiquiri. Its got a lot of funk with notes of banana coming through on the end. I really enjoy this and will use it quite often.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by oedelpino from United States with 29 ratings

Mixed in a daquiri and the flavor profile was citrus and spice with a whiff of hogo. Not a sipper, but delicious tiki white rum!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by blowpez from United States with 21 ratings

Excellent white rum on par with Plantation 3 star if not better. Subtle funk & fruitiness with a smooth lingering sweetness when sipped straight up. I'm not usually one to sip white rums but this goes down nice and easy. Very enjoyable. Excited to try this one in a daiquiri -- I've heard thats where it really shines.