Posting your rating...
Canuto 7-Year rum

Canuto 7-Year

Ecuador | Aged

6.0/10 (25 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
6
8
7
2

Rate Canuto 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

25 Canuto 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small download

Posted 1 year ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 260 ratings

Fairly average run-of-the-mill rum with sweet aroma, you know the drill. Interesting feature is slightly grassy taste.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 26 days ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 196 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but I’m sure that I won’t buy me a bottle of this.
Ron Canuto 7yo is produced in Ecuador, at the Destilería Zhumir C. Ltda., which was founded in 1966.
It’s produced from molasses and distilled in a copper pot still whereafter it’s aged in white oak barrels in the southern highlands of Ecuador before bottled at ABV 40 %.
The aroma is dominated by alcohol and vanilla. In mouth and palate and during the the rather short finish it tastes the same, but also some caramel.
Hard to believe that it’s aged for 7 true years. Can’t definitely not recommend it.
Picture: My emptied sample.

Ffffff

Posted 26 days ago by hugorollo from Sweden with 7 ratings

Nose is vanilla and fruits with a quite strong alcohol smell.
On the palate it is a pretty strong alcohol taste for just 40%. Then it tastes a lot of vanilla and it is very sweet.
Finish is kind of short.

It is a pretty weird rum due to the combination of sweetness and strong alcohol taste.
Drinkable but I probably won’t drink again.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 25 ratings

Inget speciellt men ganska trevlig rom. Del av 25 rums boxen

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by M. Geisser from Switzerland with 43 ratings

Herby taste and vanilla in the background. not too bad

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Fairy. In mouth it starts very sweet to then change into a bitter aftertaste. On the palate the fruits get stronger and there is a herbal/light spicey taste joining in.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 64 ratings

At first no nose but after a while there is some vanilla, roasted nuts and various fruits. A tad smokey too. Pleasant and not overwhelming. On the palate the fruits get stronger and there is a herbal/light spicey taste joining in. Soft oak completes this well balanced rum but it is simply too sweet; I really like it but why the sugar? Some reviewers call this dry, I don't know what they usually drink, but this is sweet, not semi-dry and not sticky lips, just sweet and this rum deserves better imo.

Could have gotten a permanent place in my cabinet but like this, no thanks.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 146 ratings

Rum from South America is very much hit-and-miss for me. I had little hope for this one before tasting it. Sadly it was as expected:

Nose: Banana, caramel, vanilla, oak and dried ginger
Taste: Banana, vanilla, caramel, orange peel and a slight oaky feel in a very short and very sweet aftertaste
Overall: This is a very sweet rum, that is a bit to heavy on the banana. If you like banana split and want some rum to go with it, then this is the rum for you. For me it is to sweet and nothing more than an okay sipper if nothing else is available.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 114 ratings

Let it breathe for a while to release the aroma!
Nose: nice oak and caramel with some smoke. Pleasant.
Palate: Rather dry, woody, a bit spicy. And nicely warm. Pretty smooth.
(Cal 2019, day22)
7,6

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 66 ratings

Nothing special. .

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 85 ratings

Medium sweet not totally classical rum, as after taste with vanilla, almonds. A bit different finish, with strong alcohol .