Posting your rating...
Millonario XO rum

Rate Millonario XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


286 Millonario XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 7 years ago by Phil Chiricotti from United States with 2 ratings

The Ron Millonario XO might be the top rum in my collection. Paid $125 and had it shipped to Chicagoland from the UK. To my knowledge, I bought the last bottle. As good as it is, you really can't justify the price. I am a serious rum collector and the top rums (rated by yours truly) in my collection are listed below. Many are a fraction of the price and almost as good. In a blind tasting, any of them could win, including the cheapest one, the $20 a bottle five year old Plantation. No serious rum consumer would ever mix any of these rums with anything. If God drinks, he drinks these rums. If the public every knew how good these rums really are, cognac sales would fall off the map. The aged rums are simply better. There are several hundred rums in my collection, but I am only listing the best of them below. I have attempted to list them by price. I don't drink much these days, but I sniff every bottle, every day. Mortals can only dream about pairing these rums with a limited edition Augusto Reyes cigar. They have some age now and they are wonderful. They are also available in the US. One of the few as good as the real Cubans. Enjoy the journey. Aged rum is nothing less than the history of America in a glass. A cognac glass no less. Like other mass produced products, I don't like anything from Bacardi. I am also not a fan of Appleton or Mount Gay rums. If you want an excellent and low cost rum for mixing, buy the Cruzan from St Croix for $11.

Ron Millonario XO (Peru)
Ron Zacapa Solera 23 (Guatemala)
Plantation Extra Old 20th Anniversary (Barbados, but shipped to France for aging)
Vizcaya Cask No 21 (Dominican)
Zaya Gran Reserva (Trinidad)
Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva (Venezuela)
Pampero Aniversario Reseva Exclusiva (Venezuela)
El Dorado 12 (Guyana)
Atlantico Private Cask (Dominican)
Plantation Grand Reserve Five Year (Barbados, but shipped to France first)

Posted about 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Sharp sweet sugar cane aroma with a feather tickle of alcohol on the nose. First taste slaps that ass with a sugar cane flavor you find in agricoles but without an overwhelming grassy vegetal taste. Goes down with no alcohol bite on the tongue or in the chest. The back end has a rich burnt sugar flavor that is just shy of being too heavy. Definitely a sweet one, and definitely delicious. I can see going through a whole bottle quickly since its such an easy sipper. Would like a touch more heat though, like some hot candle wax drippings ;) Worth having in your collection because of the sexy ass bottle and that sexy ass flavor.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

A beautiful bottle in an nice package. When you smell the rum you get a lot of fruit. The taste is very sweet with some vanilla and syrup. A little bit of spice at the end.

Definitely a easy to drink sipper that goes well with some sweet chocolate.

If you are new to the world of rum and want to have a very nice and easy to drink sipper I highly recommend this rum.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 190 ratings

Sugar: 42 gpl. A very sweet but flavorful rum. Maybe just a touch too sweet for some which is why I downgraded this from a 10 to a 9. The sweetness, smoothness, and the flavors are well balanced. In the glass it has a wonderful aroma like fresh baked pie or cookies. It is hard to stop smelling and proceed to sip, but you will. I describe the taste profile as Bananas, coconut, toffee, spices and just a touch of almonds and apple. If this was a food it would be similar to Banoffee pie. No afterburn or sharpness, just a lovely glowing of warmth in your throat. The taste lasts and lasts. If you see this available buy 2 bottles! It's so good that this will lead to a hoarding disorder. If you are hosting a tasting, save this one for the last.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Well over 2,300 aged dark rums enjoyed and Ron Millonario XO is easily on my Top 10 list after 15 years of tastings. It is superb, so smooth you can't imagine, no burn at all and contains plenty of exciting flavors. First bottle of Millonario XO was consumed at the Hyde Park speakers corner with my friends and several bottles have been enjoyed ever since that night. Ron Millonario XO is nearly impossible to find in the US, but if you get your hands into one, buy it without hesitation. Ron Millonario XO is marginally better than the half priced 15 year old, so make your own choice if you find one.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 10
10/100 Color of this rum 9
15/100 Nose test 15
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 14
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 4
15/100 Ultimate value for money 4
Total score 74

Posted over 3 years ago by Johannes from Germany with 62 ratings

A rum made with lots of added sugar (44g / Liter) and additives should never be called "premium". Its an industrial produced rum, certainly no true craftsmanship.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Allan Bjerreskov from Denmark with 116 ratings

While not the thickest rum, I have tasted, the taste just lasts and lasts and....
You'll find notes of banana and roasted nuts along with vanilla.

Posted about 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Ve vůni je cítit sladkost a spousta koření, v chutí sladkost, jemný, konec na mne až moc kořenitý

Posted over 2 years ago by paaf from Czech Republic with 49 ratings

I've tried Millonario 10 - liked it a lot, Millonario 15 - that was even better. Millonario XO is even slightly more gentle. But price/value is 15 better.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I had the possibility to test and also buy it on the Rum cruise festival between Sweden and Finland👍🏻it has long aftertaste and body but have some more to get 10 from me.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

Crushed sugar cane on the nose, with some dried fruits.

Immediate honey and vanilla to taste, with a very light almost watery (not in a bad way) middle. Then a slight vegatal taste which rapidly transitions into a quick burn and then more honey and vanilla.

Some tropical citrus flits in and out as well.

This really has to be a significant part of any rum lovers collection.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Patryn from Portugal with 12 ratings

Chosen because it was N°1 in the Rum Howler listings and did not disappoint.
Smooth with a very complex taste. Sweet, but not as much as some others and with not so much body, lighter but at the same time with an intense taste.
Maybe my description is not the best.
For me well one of the greatest ever.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bigdaddy from Denmark with 6 ratings

Nå man første gang hælder denne rom op i glasset vil man bemærke de kraftige "gardiner" der er på glasset. XO er både sødere men også kraftigere i smagen end sin lillebror 15'eren.

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Jesen from Denmark with 41 ratings

Lækker fed fylde, super duft og smag, med en god lang eftersmag.
Absolut et genkøb.

Posted 5 months ago by Clins87 from Denmark with 27 ratings

Smell: Heavy orange, light tobacco, sugar sweetness, a complex scent of spices enveloped in sweetness and caramelized. tropical fruits.
Taste: First sweetness, then spices that pull out, and then sweetness again. Hints of nougat, candy, figs and dates.
Aftertaste: Good taste of sweetness, brownish brown, delicate spices and aftertaste.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Úžasne vyvážený rum z dielne Millonario. Naozaj dokonalosť vo fľaši. Mierne sladký,no nie príliš. Tento rum sa mi presne trafil do mojich chutí,milujem ho.

Posted 6 months ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Süss und mild, einfach ein purer Genuss.
Aber nachgezuckert.

Posted 7 months ago by verny94 from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Very sweet. I smell honey. Finish is not so long. Smooth. Really good.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Pro mě zatim top rum, moc mě baví, vůně tak výrazná a konkrétní, že si ho nemůžete splést. Vůně je skutečně až "parfémová". Chuť navazuje přímo na vůni a další z lidských smyslů hlasitě tleská. Konec paráda, hezky pokračuje a dlouho...

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Tento rum je zatial to najlepsie co som doteraz ochutnal! Vona nieje prilis vyrazna. Rum je pomerne sladky, velmi jemny, necitit skoro ziaden alkohol, krasne vyvazena chut...

Posted over 2 years ago by Jiri Holusa from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Very smooth rum, a bit of honey and tropical fruits. Fantastic!

Posted about 4 years ago by Claus Høegh Andersen from Denmark with 51 ratings

Virkelig lækker Rom, har ikke endnu smagt en med bedre smag og især eftersmag, lækker lækker

Posted over 4 years ago by Detlev from Germany with 5 ratings

Sweet no alcohol aftertaste, luxurios my favorit so far for the a little more expensive rums you dont drink often.

Posted over 4 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Subtile, doux, rond et homogène. Une attaque sans éthanol, pour une suite incroyablement maitrisée. Très complexe, de nombreuses notes fruitées, vanille, sucre cuit, légèrement boisé. Génial.

Edit : après m'être longuement renseigné ce rhum contient beaucoup de sucre ajouté. Je baisse la note en fonction.