Posting your rating...
Medellin 8-Year rum

Medellin 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

5.9/10 (23 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
9
5
2

Rate Medellin 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Medellin 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

502dbc89a2586fce3db8e21e842bc519.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

for me its just a mix drink rum not more then that

2627383c580627387a171f43e6b31f9b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

La verdad me sorprendió, lo tomé combinado con Coca Cola y me gusto mucho. Lo volvería a comprar

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not inspiring me enough to write anything. It says "rum" on the bottle!

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This rum is so dry and wayyyyy to much alcohol taste!

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 166 ratings

Not a bad rum. Spicy, a lot of tanins. There is a kind of watery taste. It could be better, it's a little bit too hars. I would prefer an older one.

Smell: caramel, dry fruits, vanilla, fesh fruits
Taste: bitterness, oak, caramel, spice, there is a kind of watery taste

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 2.5/5

E416f661f3e808d6560dee682958daa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 5 ratings

color dorado , deja un poco de sabor a alcohol al final ,dado el bajo precio esta bien !! recomendable

C64ec551cd02fb85dfe2bf4db0b48b9c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Fish33435 from United States with 5 ratings

Very smooth and tasty without being too sweet, smokey or spicey. Great go-to rum at relatively low price point.

18c317c5b5f8e52a4f40542129460346.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Ron_de_Ruiter from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice rum, slow drink. Friend brought it all the way from colombia! Thanks!

B6c116b69d2f6783baac46d92d093f15.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at Sala VIP Avianca Gold over 1 year ago by PirateKingNL from Netherlands with 1 rating

Quite smooth, with rounded sweat taste. This is maybe because of relatively low alcohol level.
Not the worst, but not the best...let the search begin...!!!

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

How on earth do the Columbians produce sweet tasting rums that are still dry? I read somewhere that the answer is in aging in barrels that were used to age aguardiente. I have never seen aged aguardiente for sale in the USA, so I am sure that they keep this good rum for themselves just like in many Caribbean islands. I also read that they add honey to the mixture before distillation, which is more natural sweetness.

For fans of unmodified rums by R.L. Seale, I HIGHLY recommend Columbian rums from Ron Medellin and Dictador. Why did it take me so long, but I thank fellow reviewers who have led me here! This one is really mellow, but the more highly rated 12 Year was not available when I purchased my 8 Year bottle. This one is a tad better than The Real McCoy 5 Year and about $6 cheaper at 3 years more of aging. Call me a turtle, but I am not afraid to stick my neck out and risk having it chopped off.

This dry rum without much wood flavoring is also the perfect one for bringing back to life those sugar bombs and overly sweetened rums that have lost much of their initial great taste after sitting in the bottle for four months. Try it! You will be surprised.

6f913f906eed2a63bb81948fee645055.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

perfecto para tomarlo puro con limón... siempre bien acompañado de los amigos mas valientes para la batalla!