Posting your rating...
Medellin 8-Year rum

Medellin 8-Year

Colombia | Aged

5.8/10 (24 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
4
9
6
2

Rate Medellin 8-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Medellin 8-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

So many good rums hailing from Colombia and Ron Medellin Anejo 8 year is not one of them. Very strong alcohol flavor and a nasty burn at the end. Only marginally worse than the 12 year old Ron Medellin.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

La verdad me sorprendió, lo tomé combinado con Coca Cola y me gusto mucho. Lo volvería a comprar

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Not inspiring me enough to write anything. It says "rum" on the bottle!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by RubenD from Spain with 7 ratings

Un ron bueno aunque no es muy delicado, prefiero los rones un poco más complejos pero esta bien.
Mejor con hielo

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

This rum is so dry and wayyyyy to much alcohol taste!

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 196 ratings

Not a bad rum. Spicy, a lot of tanins. There is a kind of watery taste. It could be better, it's a little bit too hars. I would prefer an older one.

Smell: caramel, dry fruits, vanilla, fesh fruits
Taste: bitterness, oak, caramel, spice, there is a kind of watery taste

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 4/5
Mildness: 2.5/5

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by losgon from Argentina with 6 ratings

color dorado , deja un poco de sabor a alcohol al final ,dado el bajo precio esta bien !! recomendable

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Fish33435 from United States with 5 ratings

Very smooth and tasty without being too sweet, smokey or spicey. Great go-to rum at relatively low price point.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ron_de_Ruiter from Netherlands with 1 rating

Nice rum, slow drink. Friend brought it all the way from colombia! Thanks!

Ffffff

Posted at Sala VIP Avianca Gold over 1 year ago by PirateKingNL from Netherlands with 1 rating

Quite smooth, with rounded sweat taste. This is maybe because of relatively low alcohol level.
Not the worst, but not the best...let the search begin...!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

How on earth do the Columbians produce sweet tasting rums that are still dry? I read somewhere that the answer is in aging in barrels that were used to age aguardiente. I have never seen aged aguardiente for sale in the USA, so I am sure that they keep this good rum for themselves just like in many Caribbean islands. I also read that they add honey to the mixture before distillation, which is more natural sweetness.

For fans of unmodified rums by R.L. Seale, I HIGHLY recommend Columbian rums from Ron Medellin and Dictador. Why did it take me so long, but I thank fellow reviewers who have led me here! This one is really mellow, but the more highly rated 12 Year was not available when I purchased my 8 Year bottle. This one is a tad better than The Real McCoy 5 Year and about $6 cheaper at 3 years more of aging. Call me a turtle, but I am not afraid to stick my neck out and risk having it chopped off.

This dry rum without much wood flavoring is also the perfect one for bringing back to life those sugar bombs and overly sweetened rums that have lost much of their initial great taste after sitting in the bottle for four months. Try it! You will be surprised.