Posting your rating...
Brugal 1888 Gran Reserva Doblemente Anejado rum

Rate Brugal 1888 Gran Reserva Doblemente Anejado

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


31 Brugal 1888 Gran Reserva Doblemente Anejado ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted 9 months ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

When I drink rums, I drink them neat so I can get the full flavor. This was a solid sipper. It does have a little burn on the end but it’s not overbearing. Notes of molasses and lightly spiced. The nose is very welcoming. Great with a cigar or sharing with friends.

Posted 10 months ago by Nyog' Sothep from Italy with 1 rating

Rum is my favorite drink, I basically only drink Rum, and I have tasted most of the available ones found in my country, from straight sippers (my first choice) to "ethanol" based cocktail cheapos. Being on a low income I relay on offers to get the good stuff, and Brugal 1888 Gran Reserve, either on offer or not is to my taste one of the best ever. Definitley not comparable to Guyana Plantation, or the high end Cubaney or Zacapas, but unbeatable for its price. Even if traditionalists think Im nuts, I love to drink it with a squeeze of lime, and during hot summer days even an ice cube.
Over all I give it an 8 out 10. It goes down like water with a very short afterburn and you feel the alchool kicking in after just a couple of drinks. I highly recommend not getting drunk thou, as it can be a strong and unpleasant experience, but two to three drinks will be more than enough making you feel just right.
A great product.

Posted 17 days ago by jemjem9999 (PREMIUM) from United States with 26 ratings

Same as 1888 just a Different bottle: This is a nice Rum, but I expected more. Its not sweet enough and a bit too dry for my taste. Its more like a whisky than a rum. Interesting enough the barrels used for this particular rum then go one to be used on The Mcallan 17, Brugal is known for a particular taste and style, but for this price I would have expected much more. Can be enjoyed Neat.

Posted 29 days ago by Bstayer from United States with 10 ratings

Smells Devine. Strong oak smell with vanilla at the end. No sweetness.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

A déguster sur glace ou prendre avec un accompagnement.

Posted about 2 months ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Time to open up my rare rum collection during the global lockdown. Brugal 1888 Gran Reserva has a beautiful old school bottle and label design with a bright golden color. Plenty of vanilla and oak to the nose and palate when neat sipped. Surprisingly sweet ending. Pity that this old bottle of 1888 is the same stuff as the easily available new 1888 bottle.

Posted about 2 months ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Nice mahogany colour with an earthy Sherry nose. A good fruity taste with a light sweetness but a mild burn. Good enough to be sipped but makes a good rum a and Coke. $46 at Manitoba Liquormart

Posted about 2 months ago by Denes from Hungary with 12 ratings

This rum has properties that can make it the perfect rum for anyone who loves them, because in such a complex way, they are only found in this drink. It’s not perfect for me in every way, so I’d give an 8 rating, but I’d rather choose a 9 because this rum deserves to compensate for ratings lower than 8 because it deserves more!
Behind the stylish exterior is a really pleasant rum to sip, dry, slightly smoky, strong oak, red fruit and raisin flavors dominate for me with a medium finish. Not sweet! Ideal for cigars, complex, in many ways unique rum that deserves all the price!

Posted 3 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

Site:1888 is first matured in hand-picked ex bourbon American oak casks, then in European oak, first-fill sherry casks.

This blend of two worlds gives 1888 a complex yet smooth flavour profile.

Drink this at room temp! Great sipping rum.

Posted 3 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Tasted this one in duty free on a flight.
The smell and taste are very well. The smell is a little bit sweeter than the taste. I expected mor sweetness. The bitterness is not dominant, it's a good balanced rum.

Smell: caramel, fruits, raisins, some vanilla
Taste: caramel, burned suggar, dry fruits, cognack, spice, coffee
Aftertaste: fruity, green apple (like Appleton)

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Posted 4 months ago by Joeyraf from United States with 2 ratings

One of my favorites from the Dominicanand a great value. I only drink aged rum and this is always stocked in my bar. Drink it neat or over a big ice cube.

Posted 4 months ago by randycous (PREMIUM) from United States with 14 ratings

Another enjoyable rum, somewhat complex. Smooth with nice flavor.

Posted 4 months ago by maraczizsolt from Hungary with 16 ratings

In this price range there are better ones. It has a little alcohol flavour, not so smooth...

Posted at Restaurante El Velero 4 months ago by Pacorro from Spain with 40 ratings

Desde luego está muy bueno tiene un toque complejo que vamos y si te poner a buscar encuentras casi todos los sabores, no es barato 38'50€ y lo tomo solo o con un hielo, otra forma es tirar el dinero

Posted 5 months ago by Jura from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

Nice smell, taste, bottle:) Recommended to non-sweat rum lovers

Posted 5 months ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

This one is in constant rotation with the Abuelo 12 as my regular drinking rum. I will always ensure that my cabinet is stocked with both. The 1888 is such a smooth sipper, the smoothest for its price range for sure. A great rum I highly recommend without breaking the bank!

Posted 5 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Es la esencia Brugal con más madera, frutos secos.
Redondo y equilibrado con un cuerpazo brutal.

Posted 5 months ago by Pudley from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

A very tasty rum. It has a good depth of flavour and is smooth.

Posted 5 months ago by drobz from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

7.5
Koreneny, ne prilis sladky, dobry.
Ale za cenu 800Kc jsem cekal trochu vic...

Posted 6 months ago by Rangwath from Czech Republic with 15 ratings

Good choice if you prefer dry rums over sweet ones. Only a little burn at the end.

Posted 7 months ago by Dries from Belgium with 15 ratings

A bit too dry for me with an oak taste and just a tad of sweetness.
The taste doesn't last long and the aroma doesn't convince me.

Posted 7 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 72 ratings

Voňavý a jemný; rozhodně žádná kořalka pro piráty, čemuž odpovídá i cena. Spíš to připomíná koňak. Podle všeho se jedná o nově přebalenou verzi Brugal 1888 (viz). Nový design je podstatně zdařilejší - ne snad, že by ty nítě nebyly zcela samoúčelné, ale aspoň jsou docela legrační. Podstatnější ovšem je to, co se nachází uvnitř. Hezky to voní (po hrozinkách, tabáku a kůži) a ještě líp chutná (navíc perník a svatojánský chléb) a přitom to není zbytečně přeslazené. Nejlépe vybalancovaný dominikánký rum, jaký jsem zatím pil; ve srovnání třeba s Presidentem Martím nebo Cubaney o třídu výš.
Na druhé straně kór za ty peníze to až takový zázrak není - chybí tomu nějaká výraznější osobitost. Můj oblíbený Relicario sice není tak líbivý a hladký, ale pořád mi přijde zajímavější a inspirativnější - a taky lacinější a lepší do ruky. Myslím, že touhle lahví jsem s Brugalem skončil, ale bylo to příjemné posezení. I když, jak praví klasik - never say never again...

Posted 7 months ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Overall not bad, especially as a sipper. Seems the longer it has a chance to sit, the more the aroma and flavors mature. I only discovered this by accident as I had forgotten about my drink for almost an hour and found it much better across the board.

Posted 7 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

Sort of like a rum, bourbon, sherry cocktail. Not unpleasant but somewhat confusing. The alcohol hides some, than finishes with a light burn. It is different enough to own a bottle but it would not be my only one.