Posting your rating...
Bacardi Oakheart rum

Launched in 2011, Bacardi Oakheart is the newest addition to the extensive Bacardi collection.

This spiced rum is aged for 1 to 2 years, filtered using a proprietary process, and then flavored with various spices including maple, nutmeg, cinnamon and honey.

Bacardi Oakheart took over two years to name and more than 2700 names were considered. The winner, Oakheart, is a reference to the charred American white oak barrels that house the rum while it ages.

Rate Bacardi Oakheart

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


510 Bacardi Oakheart ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It tasted like a young rum that had flavor added to it to make it taste more mature. Not good enough to drink straight or on the rock and if you are going to mix it you don't need a fake wood flavor.

Posted over 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

This is the best spiced rum in this price level category I've ever tasted. Available almost anywhere, reasonable price and far better taste than other marketing heavily supported competition.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

With my hatred to Bacardí itself and it's inferior basic rums, I actually enjoyed this one, when it came to market. With price tag around up to 7 EUR for bottle, it was awesome spiced rum around. The sweet spicy nutmeg cinnamon taste was unbeatable then. But now, with tag 10 EUR and up you can get much better bottles. Not with that intense sweet taste, but with actually better rum. Sometimes I miss Oakenheart, on the rocks, or with cola. But not that much to go and buy a bottle. Still, if you want to get easy reachable spiced rum, and not burn your intestines with Morgan's, but you're still too much wuss to get at least Sailor Jerry, this is excellent choice.

Posted over 4 years ago by Larsf from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Oak and Coke, very nice any time of the day ☺
Like advertised, brown sugar, vanilla, honey notes

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Actually surprised that it was fairly drinkable neat. Indeed the flavoring is obvious, and overpowering on the vanilla, but there is a balancing hint of oaky spices on the finish which puts this product above fx. the kraken in my book. It's very sweet and as expected, there is virtually no aftertaste. The thing about a product like this though, is that I find it to sweet to mix, and inadequate as a sipper. Premium rum have made a booze snob of me. Tried this one out of curiosity on a random encounter.

Posted over 3 years ago by MericanScalawag from United States with 7 ratings

I picked this turd up after a Bacardi sales person toted the quality ingredients at the local liquor store. "It's got Madagascar vanilla!" Well shit, all vanilla comes from Madagascar, it's the only flippin thing that country produces other than conflict diamonds and warlords. I wouldn't feed this garbage to my neighbors dog... And believe me I tried.

Posted over 4 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

This bottle is a nice addition to the Spiced Rum world.

It tastes very good with cola, there's a nice vanilla flavour, but perhaps a little bit to sweet and perhaps not spiced enough to make it very interesting.

On the other hand with a little bit of lemon it gets close to a nice refreshing memory of Summer times. Cheers!

To share with friends!

Posted over 4 years ago by TIE-BONE from Germany with 33 ratings

This is truly made for coke, then it really tastes good and smells good as well. I have one anytime.

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

picked up a bottle of Bacardi Oakheart and tried it first straight, then with ice & coke. Very good both ways. I would definately buy it again.

Posted over 7 years ago by Terry from Canada with 19 ratings

I don't always drink spiced rum but when I do this would be one

Posted over 1 year ago by Andy Tee from Malaysia with 148 ratings

Rested for a minimum of one year in charred American Oak barrels to impart a hint of smokiness, then shaped through a secret blend of charcoals and finished by adding a secret blend of spices.

N- Bowl of vanilla ice cream with crushed hazelnuts. Hint of rose, sweet spices and not crazily sweetened. (85/19)

P- Thin and light on texture, butterscotch, vanilla, longan ice with attap seeds. Acceptable restrained sweetness with tropical fruits flavours. (85/19)

F- Medium, smoked vanilla, coat of mild peppery and spices. (83/18)

Body/Balance- 83/18

Weighted Rate- 74pt
— at The Whisky Bar, Kuala Lumpur.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Awinash from Netherlands with 17 ratings

Great to mix it with soda. Or to drink it on the rocks. Very nice flavour. Typical spiced rum.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jimr from United States with 18 ratings

Rum should not taste like melted margarine but Bicardi Oakheart does. There is almost a faint trace of rum flavor underneath all that butter flavor but searching for it while trying to enjoy a glass is not worth it. I eventually finished a 750ml bottle instead of pouring it down the sink but can't say I'm proud of that. Some of you seem to like Oakheart. Why??

Posted over 2 years ago by Phillip Smith from United States with 7 ratings

This rum has a bit more of an oaky flavor with strong vanilla undertones. A good rum for those coke nights.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andero from Estonia with 63 ratings

Awful artificial vanilla flavour. Way too sweet because of this. Boozy. Targeted to masses. Better to be avoided completely.

Posted over 1 year ago by kmpiast from Poland with 41 ratings

Maybe good for someone that like cheap spiced rums, but for me it is not worth any more of my attention that this review and that one time that I've bought a botlle of it and regret it to this day...

Final verdict: I will not buy it again

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

I like spiced rums, and had higher hopes for this one. Sweet on the nose like apricot and overripe banana, there's an oily mouth feel with a syrupy sweetness. It's drinkable in a rum and coke, but not something you would drink straight or feature in a cocktail.

Posted over 2 years ago by John from United States with 1 rating

Unsippable, like gasoline in a desert. Mixing damn well with a cola is its saving grace

Posted over 2 years ago by Rob from Netherlands with 19 ratings

The smell is very aromatic to caramel and oak. Alcohol you don smell so strong.
The first sip is soft and you feel the spices in your mouth with a small aftertaste of alcohol thats is covert with to much of caramel.
Overall a oke rum but for me to spiced and to sweet.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesse Mora from United States with 10 ratings

What is there to say really that hasn't already been said for this rum? Bacardi Oakheart is a fine rum for the price. I bought this one out of curiosity hearing good things, and in my location in LA for the great price of a measly $11 I couldn't lose. It's a good economical rum, it tastes of the sweat oak barrel, a bit of honey, as well i get other flavors such as a taste of coffee at the end. However it does come with a bit of alcohol burn initially but over the duration of drinking it. most of it fades but still a bit lingers, i assume some of it is due to the charring the barrel which as advertised gives this rum its smoky flavor. Overall If you're short on cash and need some rum in your life you should pick this up/

Posted almost 3 years ago by niko6432 from Russian Federation with 3 ratings

Приятно и душевно пить. Не выдающийся напиток, но хороший средний вариант

Posted over 3 years ago by Alasdair Pearmund from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Perfect for a rum and coke. Wouldn't bother trying it straight.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Lots of spice on this one, makes me think of Christmas with each swig... Good bang for the buck..

Posted over 3 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Honestly this is a good rum even excluding value. Mind you it's nothing distinguished from sub 20$ "aged/gold" rums but really it's actually quite good. Good meaning vanilla oak taste with a large amount of spice. Now it is very very smooth. No bite at all. To the point where I am wondering if I got a wrong because it's stupid good for a bacardi product especially at this price.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Ron muy dulce hasta parece que tiene miel y con especias, no me gustan este tipo de rones prefiero los añejos.