Posting your rating...
Centenario 9-Year rum

Centenario 9-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

6.4/10 (37 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
14
11
6

Rate Centenario 9-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


37 Centenario 9-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Ron Centenario 9 year old is easily available in the US. The initial flavor is pretty decent, but the taste turns into whisky like very quickly. The most surprising fact is that the 9y is much more smoother than the 12y. The 9y is quite dry and woody, with very mild afterburn at the end. Easily available in liquor stores if you are into whisky like rums, but this is not my kind of rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kostarika
Aroma: Nenáročná rumová vůně, která není nijak bohatá. Jemně vanilka a náplň rumových pralinek, navrch příjemně dřevitá, trochu nasládlá. (80 b)
Chuť: Chuť už je bohatší, než aroma. Vanilka, dřevo, mléčná čokoláda. Dozvuk je ostřejší, štiplavý. (82 b)
Shrnutí: Investice 432 korun v akci u Vykupto (díky Jerry!)nelituji, vzhledem k ceně se jedná o dobrého společníka na všední nenáročné popíjení. Běžná cena je kolem sedmi stovek, tolik bych za něj nedal, v této cenové třídě se už dají sehnat rumy mnohem lepší. Přímo jsem srovnával s Matusalem 10y, který se prodává za stejné peníze, jako Centenario v akci, a Matusalem byl v chuti vyrovnaným soupeřem, ve vůni pak jasně lepší.
Body: 81

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 95 ratings

Picked up in NH state store at $24.99. For the price, this Centenario is not bad. I have had other rums at higher price and they did not meet the level of this one. Nose is pleasant, Warm taste, easy finish. Comparing this to Bacardi 8 at the same price point, this one is definitely one to try. The only surprise was the twist top and slow pour bottle.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Smooth nose and taste. Thou somewhat generic flavors

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 138 ratings

Mon 2e rhum que je déguste de cette compagnie. Intéressant à goûté seul pour le prix.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

Just got a bottle for Father’s Day. Decent sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by Don from Canada with 141 ratings

A nice light mahogany colour with good legs in the glass. Alcohol smell goes away after resting leaving a balanced woody nose. Not too dry with vanilla and a nice woodyness on the palate. Little burn and easily sipped. Only $37 at LCBO

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

For the money... if you enjoy an evening cocktail... every evening.. .You can't go wrong here. On the rocks of course. ALSO works well when mixing with various juices, ginger ale, or any concoction you can dream of. At $26 a bottle... experiment away. A worthy bar stock.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Javaznenevim from Slovakia with 52 ratings

I wouldnt recomend this young version of centenario. in its price category, you can get much better rums. If you want a good Centenario, go for 20yo-25yo, not for this one. Some notes of vanilla, but thats all it has.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Anthony Soleau from United States with 24 ratings

Came across this rum on a whim and was pleasantly surprised. It's very approachable and easily enjoyed with a few ice cubes. Outstanding value!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I have tried rums from Centenario aged 7, 12, and 20 years. By far, this one has the best taste and value over all those other ones at only $24 US. Since this one is very hard to find any more, their 12 year would rank as a close second. I could have also bought their 25 year yesterday, but after a bad experience with their overly sugared 20 year, I wisely left it up on the shelf.

This one is indeed dry and it is easy to see that it has no additives. Notes of wood and vanilla greet the palate. with the burn kept to a bare minimum. I must hand it to this distiller for being honest on their age statements because these are not from the solera system.