Posting your rating...
Centenario 7-Year rum

Centenario 7-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

6.4/10
57 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
20
21
5
1

Rate Centenario 7-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

57 Centenario 7-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

Disappointed, I love Costa Rica and the people, but this rum didn't give me butterflies in the stomach...

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

If you look for good example of resonable rum for good price that's that. Easy drinking, good with coke, ok on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I finally got my chance to try a rum from Costa Rica. Since this distiller has mixed reviews on this site, I did not want to spend too much on my first try. I was hoping to find the 12 year old, but that one was not available. This 7 year old was only $18 and was basically a no brainer to buy.

The aroma is of subdued alcohol only, but there is no burn on the tongue or going down the throat. Super smooth, but not enough complex flavors to satisfy rum sippers. Whiskey drinkers could use this one as a gateway to the wonderful world of rum. There appears to be no added sugar. If the price is right, I would risk the bucks on other rums from this distiller with higher aging.

As for the bottle, it has been redesigned from the teardrop shape shown here. It is now tall, slim, and cylindrical like the 25 year old. This is a very good thing because it now takes up less room on the shelves of liquor stores and encourages them to carry it. As avid rum collectors already know, don't ever be fooled by the fancy shape of the bottle that tries to hide an inferior product within.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Richard B. from Slovakia with 30 ratings

Krajina pôvodu: Kostarika

Prevedenie: 70cl fľaša

Od tohto producenta rumu je to moja prvotina, nečakal som nič extra a to sa mi aj potvrdilo. Avšak treba skúšať rumy aj z iných krajín a od iných výrobcov, no tento ma nepresvedčil, možno je to tým, že sa jedná o 7-ročný rum a ten nie je tak "odležaný" a neprekvapuje škálou vôní a chutí.

Fľaša: tak precízne prepracovaných fliaš nájdete len veľmi málo, každá strana Vás niečím prekvapí, ide najme o rôzne vystupujúce časti ako erb, alebo akési stopy stekajúcich kvapiek po fľaši. Od svojich starších súrodencov sa líši najmä tým, že prevedenie fľaše je lesklé a nie matné.

Vôňa: musím povedať, že vôňa je silná alkoholová, cítiť však aj karamel, preráža vôňa dubového dreva a niečo sladké k tomu.

Chuť: po ochutnaní je ostrá chuť zaoblená do jemne sa rozplývajúceho pelendreka, aníz, sladké drievko. Zakončenie je krátke ale výrazné.

Záver: ako som spomínal na tomto rume ma zaujala najmä fľaša, zaujímavejšia je tu skôr chuť ako vôňa. Možno by sa hodil ku miešaným nápojom ale ja mám rád skôr niečo, čo je aromatickejšie, kde sa prelínajú rôzne chute a vône.

Cena: v priemere 19€/70cl fľaša

Spôsob degustácie: pohár Glancairn

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Buen ron para tomarlo combinado o en mix.Ideal para cocteles. El ponerle 6 no significa que sea malo, es bueno pero para mezclar.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Arno from France with 14 ratings

Un très bon rapport qualité prix pour un entrée de gamme de chez centenario

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

It’s golden colour and light smell is inviting. It is not very smooth but not too harsh either. The after taste is woody with a little caramel, not bitter.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Matus from Slovakia with 1 rating

My first experience with Centenario and not exactly the best one. Probably better as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

I tried this side by side with the Centenario 9 year and the 12 year. Though I feel the 12-year is best, I prefer this to the 9 year as it is sweeter and tastes better to me.

Smells and tastes of sweet caramel and brown sugar. Very simple, but good; and it's a bargain for the low price of only $17.99 (2017 price)!

Perhaps the one downside is that it's not as smooth as older rums, and has a slight burn for 40%abv.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 111 ratings

I had a tasting of 7y, 9y, 12y and anejo special. The best was 12y and anejo special. 7y and 9y were behind. But these are not exceptional. 12y and anejo are average rums and the others are below average.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

I bought this on my first trip to Costa Rica several years. I believe it was $10. I bought it to mix with fruit juices, 7-up, and coke. I remember I really liked it. So one night, I tried it by itself as a shot. It was the best shot of rum I had ever had to that point. So then I tried it neat. And I was surprised I coh I'd enjoy it by itself. Now I am a kind of a rum guru thanks to this rum. Try to 20, 25 and 30 year of this brand. Those are 3 of my top 10 rums out there. This is a great CHEAP rum.