Posting your rating...
Centenario 20-Year rum

Centenario 20-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

Ron Centenario 20-Year rum is produced from Costa Rican sugar cane which is turned into molasses before aging in American white oak barrels up to 20 years using the solera aging system.

The company producing Ron Centenario 20-Year rum used to be named Seagram de Costa Rica, but in 2002 changed its name to Centenario Internacional. The rum wasn't sold outside of Costa Rica until 2007.

8.3/10 (300 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
14
39
105
119
21

Rate Centenario 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


300 Centenario 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

Amazingly balanced, not overly complex, but “I could drink this all night long” is a major option. Really, really tasty.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 447 ratings

I REALLY like the Centenario 25 and 30, and so I tried this side by side with them. It was VERY close. This is a bit sweeter, much like the El Dorado 15 is sweeter than the El Dorado 21. I like the extra aging on the 25 and 30, but I also like the sweetness of the 20. I'm torn between the three. It's very close, but this is the winner for me. An exceptional rum that is very underrated in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

I prefer sweet Rum , and this one is a good choice,less sweet as the A.H.Riise Family .
Nose: sweet ,chocolate, caramel , dark fruits , vanilla,spicy
Taste: sweet ,chocolate, caramel , dark fruits , vanilla, light alcoholic,light sharp, wood,spicy
Great.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

I am admittedly a beginner in the rum world, but this is by far the best rum I've ever had. I've sampled a few rums at bars, etc. but have only recently started buying bottles for my home. I don't think this bottle is going to last very long, as I will surely go through it quickly. It's so good, I almost hate to drink it by myself.

I normally enjoy rum on the rocks but could easily see myself drinking this straight up. Has absolutely no burn or bite and goes down very smoothly. Some rums have a good flavor once you can get past the initial sharpness, but this is smooth from start to finish. I can't imagine what the 25 or 30 year tastes like. I assume my mind would be blow if I tried one of those.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Toto je veľmi podarený kúsok rumu. Je pekne zabalaný v elegantnej fľaši s hrubým dnom. Rum Centenario 20 Fundación je v mojej top 10 rumov. Má peknú svetlo jantárovú farbu. Veľmi mu pristane, keď ho po naliatí do pohára necháte chvíľku odpočinúť, rum zjemnie a zaguľatí sa. Aróma rumu je veľmi pestrá, prvý krát som cítil banány, pražené orechy, neskôr karamel, sladké medové plásty a čokoládu s tabakom mierne v pozadí. Veľmi pekná komplexná vôňa, takto sa mi to páči. Chuťové vnemy kopírujú tie aromatické, rum je rozhodne z tých sladších, čo mu skôr pristane. Cítiť opäť karamel, plásty, tropické ovocie a niekde v pozadí troška korenia s jemným nádychom po dubovom sude. Je to skutočne dobrý rum a určite ho každému môžem len odporučiť. Okrem iného tento rum už získal nespočetné množstvo ocenení na svetovej úrovni.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Nice dark colors. Smells chocolate, caramel and vanilla.
Taste is sweetish, chocolate, caramel,vanilla.
One of the best on my shelf. I'll stick to this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Smooth, full of flavor and nice texture! A great sipping rum and well worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Robert Bahrd from Sweden with 12 ratings

this is the rum that made me realize rum is so much more than drink mixer. Lots of taste and nose

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Skvely solera rum. Vona menej vyrazna intenzitou, vyrazne sladka. Chut kopiruje vonu, rum je dost sladky, ale nie neprijemne. Ma vyraznu a hlboku rumovu chut, je velmi jemny, alkohol prijemne stipe na jazyku. Pre milovnikov sladkych rumov vyborna volba!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Eye:
Dark, mahogany. Moderate tear in the cup

Nose 1:
Not too much alcohol perceived, definitely sugar cane notes, honey, do not smell much wood but if there is a memory of it. Very similar to the Zacapa 23, but thinner, less alcoholic punch in the nose.

Taste #1 pure:
Something creamy, slightly burning but decreases rapidly as soon as you hold in your mouth, it does not burn in the throat and has a bitterness in the end, however has a memory of tasty honeys sugar and bitter cocoa would say.

Then nose a little water:
Water fades a little bit the perceived earlier, a slight odor memory of sugar honeys.

Taste #2 with little mineral water.
By lowering the alcohol, not any burning present in your mouth, completely smoothness.
Still tastes of chocolate, the memory of the concentration of honeys have lost some

Recommendation: to take straight in the glass or add a solid big ice cube, lowering a little alcohol if you prefer, but mostly pure is better choice.

The product is rich, smooth, however the complexity is higher in products such as "Dos maderas" from Spain or "flor de caña 18" from Nicaragua.

As it is a rum to enjoy and share, in the market there are similar profiles such as Cartavio 12 years from Peru (slightly less smooth) and Ron Zacapa 23 from Guatemala.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by carl from United States with 46 ratings

I’m really torn between the Centenario 20 year at $55 per bottle, and the 25 year at $65 per bottle. Both are excellent choices. This one has a similar profile to the 25 with a bit of complexity and also some sweetness. Great over ice or as a neat sipper. Don’t bother with the 12 year, start with the 20 year.