Posting your rating...
Centenario 20-Year rum

Centenario 20-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

Ron Centenario 20-Year rum is produced from Costa Rican sugar cane which is turned into molasses before aging in American white oak barrels up to 20 years using the solera aging system.

The company producing Ron Centenario 20-Year rum used to be named Seagram de Costa Rica, but in 2002 changed its name to Centenario Internacional. The rum wasn't sold outside of Costa Rica until 2007.

8.3/10 (297 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
14
39
102
119
21

Rate Centenario 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


297 Centenario 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

review in process but i defenitly like the cocoa flavour of this smooth rum without being too sugary.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I REALLY like the Centenario 25 and 30, and so I tried this side by side with them. It was VERY close. This is a bit sweeter, much like the El Dorado 15 is sweeter than the El Dorado 21. I like the extra aging on the 25 and 30, but I also like the sweetness of the 20. I'm torn between the three. It's very close, but this is the winner for me. An exceptional rum that is very underrated in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Gerald from Austria with 21 ratings

I prefer sweet Rum , and this one is a good choice,less sweet as the A.H.Riise Family .
Nose: sweet ,chocolate, caramel , dark fruits , vanilla,spicy
Taste: sweet ,chocolate, caramel , dark fruits , vanilla, light alcoholic,light sharp, wood,spicy
Great.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek Nelson from United States with 10 ratings

I am admittedly a beginner in the rum world, but this is by far the best rum I've ever had. I've sampled a few rums at bars, etc. but have only recently started buying bottles for my home. I don't think this bottle is going to last very long, as I will surely go through it quickly. It's so good, I almost hate to drink it by myself.

I normally enjoy rum on the rocks but could easily see myself drinking this straight up. Has absolutely no burn or bite and goes down very smoothly. Some rums have a good flavor once you can get past the initial sharpness, but this is smooth from start to finish. I can't imagine what the 25 or 30 year tastes like. I assume my mind would be blow if I tried one of those.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Toto je veľmi podarený kúsok rumu. Je pekne zabalaný v elegantnej fľaši s hrubým dnom. Rum Centenario 20 Fundación je v mojej top 10 rumov. Má peknú svetlo jantárovú farbu. Veľmi mu pristane, keď ho po naliatí do pohára necháte chvíľku odpočinúť, rum zjemnie a zaguľatí sa. Aróma rumu je veľmi pestrá, prvý krát som cítil banány, pražené orechy, neskôr karamel, sladké medové plásty a čokoládu s tabakom mierne v pozadí. Veľmi pekná komplexná vôňa, takto sa mi to páči. Chuťové vnemy kopírujú tie aromatické, rum je rozhodne z tých sladších, čo mu skôr pristane. Cítiť opäť karamel, plásty, tropické ovocie a niekde v pozadí troška korenia s jemným nádychom po dubovom sude. Je to skutočne dobrý rum a určite ho každému môžem len odporučiť. Okrem iného tento rum už získal nespočetné množstvo ocenení na svetovej úrovni.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Nice dark colors. Smells chocolate, caramel and vanilla.
Taste is sweetish, chocolate, caramel,vanilla.
One of the best on my shelf. I'll stick to this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Smooth, full of flavor and nice texture! A great sipping rum and well worth the price.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Robert Bahrd from Sweden with 12 ratings

this is the rum that made me realize rum is so much more than drink mixer. Lots of taste and nose

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MartinK from Slovakia with 45 ratings

Skvely solera rum. Vona menej vyrazna intenzitou, vyrazne sladka. Chut kopiruje vonu, rum je dost sladky, ale nie neprijemne. Ma vyraznu a hlboku rumovu chut, je velmi jemny, alkohol prijemne stipe na jazyku. Pre milovnikov sladkych rumov vyborna volba!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

Eye:
Dark, mahogany. Moderate tear in the cup

Nose 1:
Not too much alcohol perceived, definitely sugar cane notes, honey, do not smell much wood but if there is a memory of it. Very similar to the Zacapa 23, but thinner, less alcoholic punch in the nose.

Taste #1 pure:
Something creamy, slightly burning but decreases rapidly as soon as you hold in your mouth, it does not burn in the throat and has a bitterness in the end, however has a memory of tasty honeys sugar and bitter cocoa would say.

Then nose a little water:
Water fades a little bit the perceived earlier, a slight odor memory of sugar honeys.

Taste #2 with little mineral water.
By lowering the alcohol, not any burning present in your mouth, completely smoothness.
Still tastes of chocolate, the memory of the concentration of honeys have lost some

Recommendation: to take straight in the glass or add a solid big ice cube, lowering a little alcohol if you prefer, but mostly pure is better choice.

The product is rich, smooth, however the complexity is higher in products such as "Dos maderas" from Spain or "flor de caña 18" from Nicaragua.

As it is a rum to enjoy and share, in the market there are similar profiles such as Cartavio 12 years from Peru (slightly less smooth) and Ron Zacapa 23 from Guatemala.

Ffffff

Posted about 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 45 ratings

The Centenario Solera 20 kommt aus Costa Rica und ist ein Solera Blend, was einfach ausgedrückt bedeutet, das der älteste verarbeitete Rum 20 Jahre lagern durfte. Wie hoch der Anteil der älteren Rums tatsächlich ist, wird dabei nicht erwähnt. Der rot bräunliche Rum ist in einer schicken Flasche und alles wirkt hochwertig und soll Premium Qualität darstellen. Negativ zu erwähnen ist das dem Rum ca. 40-50g Zucker pro Liter zugefügt wurden. Das hat natürlich wenig mit Premium zu tun.

In der Nase ist der Rum zunächst scharf. Nach ein paar Minuten legt sich das und es sind sehr süße Noten erkennbar. Karamel und Toffee. Fruchtige oder holzige Noten sind nicht wahrnehmbar. Daher vermute ich das der Rum zum Großteil unter 10 Jahre alt ist. Im Mund ist er vor allem süß. Vanille und Karamell vermischen sich mit einer undefinierbaren Süße die wohl vom Zucker stammt. Der Rum ist überraschend scharf. Und das obwohl viel Zucker mit beigefügt wurde. Der Abgang bleibt süß mit leichter Alkohol Note. Das Fass kommt irgendwie kaum bis gar nicht zur Geltung was Schade ist wenn eine 20 drauf steht. Insgesamt ist es kein schlechter Rum und man kann ihn an einem geselligen Abend trinken. Ist die Flasche leer ist es zumindestens kein Verlust.

Ich gebe zu auch ich war als Neuling ein Fan vom Centenario und er hat mich für das Rum trinken fasziniert. Auch ich dachte die viele Süße macht ihn hochwertig. Mit der Zeit habe ich gelernt das der Centenario ein klassischer Blender ist. Viel Zucker und eine Solera 20 sollen Premium Charakter vermitteln. Es scheint zu funktionieren da ich den Centenario 20 mittlerweile auch im örtlichen Supermarkt finde.

The Centenario Solera 20 comes from Costa Rica and it is a Solera Blend, which simply means that the oldest processed rum was allowed to store for 20 years. It does not mention the actual proportion of older rums. The red brownish rum is in a chic bottle and everything looks high quality and should represent premium quality. Negatively, about 40-50g of sugar per litre have been added to the rum. Of course, this has little to do with real premium.

In the nose, the rum is initially sharp. After a few minutes this settles down and very sweet notes are recognizable. Caramel and toffee. Fruity or woody notes are not perceptible. Therefore, I suspect that most of the rum is under 10 years old. In the mouth it is mainly sweet. Vanilla and caramel mix with an indefinable sweetness that probably comes from sugar. The rum is surprisingly spicy. And this despite the fact that a lot of sugar was added. The finish remains sweet with light alcohol touch. You can hardly taste the barrel and that's a pity when a 20 is on the label. Overall, it is not a bad rum and you can drink it on a convivial evening. If the bottle is empty, it is at least no loss.

I admit I was a fan of the Centenario as a newcomer too and he fascinated me and i started drinking more rum. I thought the heavy sweetness makes him high quality. Over time, I've learned that the Centenario is a classic pretender. Lots of added sugar and a Solera 20 are meant to convey premium character. It seems to work fine for that company since I start finding the Centenario 20 in the local supermarket.