Posting your rating...
Centenario 20-Year rum

Centenario 20-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

Ron Centenario 20-Year rum is produced from Costa Rican sugar cane which is turned into molasses before aging in American white oak barrels up to 20 years using the solera aging system.

The company producing Ron Centenario 20-Year rum used to be named Seagram de Costa Rica, but in 2002 changed its name to Centenario Internacional. The rum wasn't sold outside of Costa Rica until 2007.

8.3/10 (308 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
14
39
110
120
23

Rate Centenario 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

308 Centenario 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Aromatic, sweet, smooth....simply another from premium family.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by carl from United States with 50 ratings

I’m really torn between the Centenario 20 year at $55 per bottle, and the 25 year at $65 per bottle. Both are excellent choices. This one has a similar profile to the 25 with a bit of complexity and also some sweetness. Great over ice or as a neat sipper. Don’t bother with the 12 year, start with the 20 year.

Small 20201223 122508

Posted 6 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 69 ratings

The Centenario Solera 20 kommt aus Costa Rica und ist ein Solera Blend, was einfach ausgedrückt bedeutet, das der älteste verarbeitete Rum 20 Jahre lagern durfte. Wie hoch der Anteil der älteren Rums tatsächlich ist, wird dabei nicht erwähnt. Der rot bräunliche Rum ist in einer schicken Flasche und alles wirkt hochwertig und soll Premium Qualität darstellen. Negativ zu erwähnen ist das dem Rum ca. 40-50g Zucker pro Liter zugefügt wurden. Das hat natürlich wenig mit Premium zu tun.

In der Nase ist der Rum kaum scharf. Es sind sehr süße Noten erkennbar. Karamel und Toffee. Fruchtige und holzige Noten sind kaum wahrnehmbar. Wirkt aber alles angenehm leicht. Im Mund ist er vor allem süß. Vanille und Karamell vermischen sich mit einer undefinierbaren Süße die wohl vom Zucker stammt. Der Rum ist noch überraschend scharf. Und das obwohl viel Zucker mit beigefügt wurde. Der Abgang bleibt süß mit leichter Alkohol Note. Das Fass kommt irgendwie kaum bis gar nicht zur Geltung was Schade ist wenn eine 20 drauf steht. Insgesamt ist es kein schlechter Rum und man kann ihn an einem geselligen Abend trinken. Ist die Flasche leer ist es zumindestens kein Verlust.

Ich gebe zu auch ich war als Neuling ein Fan vom Centenario und er hat mich für das Rum trinken fasziniert. Auch ich dachte die viele Süße macht ihn hochwertig. Mit der Zeit habe ich gelernt das der Centenario ein klassischer Blender ist. Viel Zucker und eine Solera 20 sollen Premium Charakter vermitteln. Es scheint zu funktionieren da ich den Centenario 20 mittlerweile auch im örtlichen Supermarkt finde.

The Centenario Solera 20 comes from Costa Rica and it is a Solera Blend, which simply means that the oldest processed rum was allowed to store for 20 years. It does not mention the actual proportion of older rums. The red brownish rum is in a chic bottle and everything looks high quality and should represent premium quality. Negatively, about 40-50g of sugar per litre have been added to the rum. Of course, this has little to do with real premium.

In the nose, the rum has very sweet notes tjat are recognizable. Caramel and toffee. Some fruity or woody notes are perceptible. In the mouth it is mainly sweet. Vanilla and caramel mix with an indefinable sweetness that probably comes from sugar. The rum is still surprisingly sharp. And this despite the fact that a lot of sugar was added. The finish remains sweet with light alcohol touch. You can hardly taste the barrel and that's a pity when a 20 is on the label. Overall, it is not a bad rum and you can drink it on a convivial evening. If the bottle is empty, it is at least no loss.

I admit I was a fan of the Centenario as a newcomer too and he fascinated me and i started drinking more rum. I thought the heavy sweetness makes him high quality. Over time, I've learned that the Centenario is a classic pretender. Lots of added sugar and a Solera 20 are meant to convey premium character. It seems to work fine for that company since I start finding the Centenario 20 in the local supermarket.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Zoltan Redbeard from Switzerland with 16 ratings

Il Centenario Fundación 20 Años è un ottimo rum del Costa Rica, il suo sapore, grazie anche al Sistema Solera, è particolarmente dolce e morbido sia al naso che al palato.
A farci caso, si nota un tono leggerissimamente fruttato e con una vaga punta di cannella e caffè, ma, in ogni caso, rimane un gran rum, specialmente se se ne gradisce la marcata dolcezza.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by lamalarek from Poland with 2 ratings

Semidark in color. In nose caramel and chocolate with a hint of vanilla and some spiciness. In mouth rather sweet and round, not very complex though. For 8 it lacks some memorable finish. Anyway, it's a quite good staff.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Halsey from United States with 27 ratings

Amazingly balanced, not overly complex, but “I could drink this all night long” is a major option. Really, really tasty.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Super long avant de trouver une bouteille au canada. Un goût d épicee et de fruit. Bonne longueur en bouche et complexe. Je le suggère à tous.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hector from United States with 61 ratings

Great for a solera rum, smooth, similar to Centenario 25 but not as good, a bit simple in my opinion compared to other rums in the same price range, like Plantation 20 XO!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 94 ratings

Comme le 25 ans. Il est super bon, mais je vous dirais qu'il est un peu moin sucré. J' adore.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Nice sweet rum not to complex, with a hint of licorice in the end.... absolutely a keeper

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by ZZ from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Excellent rum, delicately sweet, warm and soft, my favorite...