Posting your rating...
Centenario 20-Year rum

Centenario 20-Year

Costa Rica | Aged

Ron Centenario 20-Year rum is produced from Costa Rican sugar cane which is turned into molasses before aging in American white oak barrels up to 20 years using the solera aging system.

The company producing Ron Centenario 20-Year rum used to be named Seagram de Costa Rica, but in 2002 changed its name to Centenario Internacional. The rum wasn't sold outside of Costa Rica until 2007.

8.3/10 (302 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
14
39
106
120
21

Rate Centenario 20-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


302 Centenario 20-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Cornelius from Germany with 5 ratings

A good, but too sweet rum.

Dont take the 20 as "real years" - it only says "20 years solera system" which means, that this is a "blend" of differently aged rums in which the "oldest" is 20 years, not the youngest.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by marekmikus from Czech Republic with 41 ratings

I like this rum, it has full flavour, sweet but not too much, very smooth

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Patricebru (PREMIUM) from France with 38 ratings

a well balanced rhum not too sweet, an interesting one I taste for the 1st time

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Hesel from Denmark with 66 ratings

Color: 3/5, too dark. Nose: 7/10, little vanilla but also chockolad. Taste: 15/20.
Very good starter rum, easy to drink. A lot better than Zacapa 23.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

I find so much to like about this rum. For the first part, upon opening the bottle, the aroma wafted to me long before I poured it. I smelled blackberries, raspberries, molasses, caramel and a hint of sherry. Certainly all of those things are present in the taste, as is a plum and damson-like sweetness on the tongue. There is maybe a quality of cake to it - not fruit cake, strangely, but maybe more a soft sponge with vanilla , chocolate or strawberry jam. All of this makes it sound VERY sweet, but here's the thing - it is sweet, yes, but not very sweet. I do imagine that some sugar has been added to this. I've not seen figures for it, but I've tasted other rums that did and this has some of the hallmarks. I have to say that it holds it rather well - perhaps because of the rich fruitiness.
The aftertaste is of rumminess, fruit, cinnamon and brown sugar. The taste lingers well, but not as long as some rums.
I'll see how I get on with it with future sips - will it go up or down a point?
The price is good, so, that's a plus too.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

klebrig süss caramel schokolade mild. liebe alle rums dieser reihe 20, 25, 30. bester in dieser preisklasse. sehr empfehlenswert!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Pirate from Sweden with 7 ratings

Great tasting rum. It’s like a mix of the best qualities from Plantation XO, Diplomatico and Zacapa packed into one bottle.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 209 ratings

And very nice it is ! Yes its sweet but not cloyingly so.. Nice deep amber colour with long legs in the glass. Aromas of honey , caramel and chocolate. Easy , easy sipping , no ice required. Tastes like it smells , sort of a Nicaraguan rum but sweetened.. spices are present plus a little bit of white oak. No burn at all , very easy to drink and very hard to find here in Oz..

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Dries from Belgium with 19 ratings

I tasted this one last year, having requested to try the 25yo, but the shopkeeper told me he preferred the 20yo and so he poured me a glass of both. I certainly did not dislike the 25yo, but damn, am I happy I tried the 20yo too! What a great rum... I will say the aroma doesn't blow me away, but everything that follows is really nice. A smooth and warm sensation with a touch of sweet, just right.
Why did I even wait so long to buy a bottle of it?!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Ernie Higgs from Canada with 24 ratings

A recent trip to Costa Rica allowed a taste of Centenario 20 for the first time. The best rum I have ever tasted. Smooth with body, nice but gentle nose, flavour of caramel and a touch of vanilla but not overwhelming. At the airport picked up a 2 pack of 20 and 25 for a very reasonable price and will spend some time now deciding which is better.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

At first, the bottle design looks verg good. Red and gold logo suits dark color of rhis rum.
Of course, taste is good too.
Very smooth and sweetness like shine.