Posting your rating...
Centenario 12-Year rum

Rate Centenario 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


70 Centenario 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I really love the Centenario 20, 25, and 30, but I didn't have high of hopes for this, due to the low price of only $28.99 (Beltramo's 2015). However, I was pleasantly surprised. While this isn't as good as the above, it's still my kind of rum.

Has a wonderful sweet caramel and brown sugar smell/taste, that is relatively simple, but extremely good to me! A tad harsh compared to the others I mentioned, but a great taste and a nice surprise for my 90th review!

Posted about 5 years ago by Franklin Fraitus from United States with 21 ratings

I understand others don't rate it as highly. However, I fully disagree. I find it to be quite smooth as a sipping rum, with very complex and pleasing flavors that are so absent in lesser rums. In fact, I'd say this is my perfect sipping rum. It's not harsh, it remains smooth when held in the mouth and has a gentle afterburn. Perfect straight up in a small glass. I'd rate it in the low 90's.

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Kostarika
Aroma: Vanilka, kůže, čokoláda, javorový sirup a máta, nebo něco podobně větrového. (83 b)
Chuť: Čokoláda s kůží, med, k tomu opět peprmintová příchuť, snad až do anýzu a lékořice. (83 b)
Shrnutí: Za cenu kolem 550 korun v akci to není nic převratného, ale ani nic, co by zklamalo či urazilo. Celkem pohodový rum, který je ozvláštněn větrově pikantní vůní a chutí.
Body: 83

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

When in Costa Rica, this is my go to - mainly because I like supporting the local economy, but it’s delicious enough to sip neat, and it’s still cheaper than anything close to comparable.

Posted over 1 year ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a bottle for 35 from TWE chocolate and caramel slightly smooth but not amazing

Posted almost 2 years ago by Mike Colligon from United States with 7 ratings

Tasty, but not as smooth and refined as som other 12 year old rums. Fruity and sweet on the nose, a little vanilla note on initial taste, then there is a bit of a bite at the end.

Posted about 2 years ago by Rumaniac from Greece with 7 ratings

Yes, let's start saying this : I feel that this is a really big improvement over the mediocre 5-years old & simple 7-years old Centenarios (unfortunately I haven't been able yet to taste the even older versions). Sooo here we are talking about a pleasant & smooth everyday rum, with a rich, oily texture & a complicated character (not overly, though) : the balance between the caramel/cinnamon/brown sugar/dried fruits & the oak hints works just fine! A recommended rum!

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

I finally came across a bottle of this Ron Centenario 12 Year Old this morning. When I got home, it was time to compare it to my Ron Centenario 7 Year Old that I rated as a 6 some time ago. This 12 Year Old is only marginally better than the 7 Year Old, but when cost is considered, is this 12 Year Old worth double the price? I think not. Don't get me wrong, it is a very good dry rum with enough complex flavors to warrant sipping. However, since there are better rums for less money, I will only buy it again if I happen to run across it at a good price. I almost put the 20 Year Old into my buggy for purchase, but am so glad that I put it back.

Update October 2, 2018: I found this one again at a nearby liquor store for only $34, which now makes it a good buy. After being burned by it's sugar bomb older brother RC 20 that has 40 gpl of added sugar, I had to give this one another try. Nowhere is this listed, but it definitely has 0 gpl of added sugar, making it a dry rum. If it is transparent with no viscosity or legs, then it has no added sugar. Plain and simple!!!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

A friend of mine brought this back from Costa Rica, and I've really enjoyed it. There is a bit of sweetness to it, and it's only 70 proof (35% ABV), but that might be part of its charm. If you like the Diplomatico, you'll probably like this, too.

I poured it neat, and you could smell the sweetness, with a little oak and a tinge of alcohol. It has a bit of an oily mouth feel, but gives you just a little burn from the alcohol and just a hint of the sweetness. You can taste the oak and spirit, with just a hint of apricot left behind.

It goes down easy. I think I'll have another.

Posted over 2 years ago by Charlie from United States with 12 ratings

I first got this rum a few years ago on vacation in Costa Rica. I immediately fell in love with it, rich taste and a smooth finish. It is great on the rocks or mixed with coke/ coconut milk. If possible pour some into a freshly opened coconut for an authentic Costa Rica taste.

Posted over 2 years ago by Javier FK from Peru with 30 ratings

El ron costarricense, es agradable, poco original, se deja tomar con un sabor dulzón. Lo tomo en Cuba Libre.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vince Veba from Germany with 28 ratings

For me close to a perfect Rum. Similar to Flor de Cana 12, very smooth, caramel, marzipan, decent wood, maybe a little thin but still great work. Looking forward to the older ones.

Posted about 4 years ago by nibblerecxo from Germany with 1 rating

This one is okay for an everyday sip, but unfortunately has nothing special. You certainly find better for this amount of money.

Posted about 4 years ago by Benjamin from France with 57 ratings

It was the end of the bottle when tasted and was only able to pour 2cl. The bottle was opened for quite some time so very difficult to assess the real potential.

Vanilla and powerful black pepper notes stood out though

Posted about 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 10 ratings

This is a smooth rum great for sipping on the rocks

Posted 28 days ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Velmi jemná vůně, možná až nevýrazná. Sladko-suché, první dojem je sladké, konec je dlouhý a suchý až trpký.

Posted about 1 month ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

taste - 7/10
sweetness - 7/10
price/value rating - 8/10

Posted about 1 month ago by lorenploren from United States with 8 ratings

My wife's family is from Costa Rica and this is what I ask for every year for Christmas! Great for sipping. Price point that doesnt make me feel bad adding a mixer either.
Perfect color. Medium body and terrific flavors of caramel, molasses and coffee. Very smooth for 12 year. Hard to get in the US.

Posted 3 months ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

Je l'ai comparé avec un 25 et un 20 ans et bien entendu ces 2 rhums ont plus de finesse. Mais le 12 ans est très respectable. Un rhum ''festif'' à partager.

Posted 3 months ago by MarcinN from Poland with 2 ratings

Smooth and sweet. Very good quality / price ratio.
Taste and aroma: vanilla, smoked plums, cacao, fruits.

Posted 4 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 50 ratings

Etwas kratzig, aber mit viel Geschmack. Nicht zu teuer, jedoch würde ich für das Geld eher einen El Dorado 12 nehmen.

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

i first tried the 20 years old version and after this the 12 year is not pur to drink for me. but the price was low and so you can mix it should work.

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

Ve vůni sladkost, ovoce, vanilka a dřevo, chuť příjemně nasládlá, vanilka, dozvuk dřevo 👍

Posted 5 months ago by IME24322 from Costa Rica with 5 ratings

Tiene lindo color y un sabor aceptable para una noche común!!! Es cómodo, pero aún así sabe bien solo con hielo.