Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gold rum

Bacardi Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Bacardi Gold rum is manufactured in Puerto Rico where it is distilled from fermented molasses. It is then filtered through charcoal and aged in charred oak barrels for between 1 and 2 years. Unlike Bacardi Superior, Bacardi Gold is only filtered once.

Bacardi's official logo, a fruit bat, dates to 1862 when founder Don Facundo Bacardi found fruit bats living in rafters of the building he bought to house the distillery. Bats are considered an omen of good luck in Cuba and have emblazoned Bacardi rum bottles ever since.

4.3/10 (258 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
18
44
57
73
29
14
6
1
7

Rate Bacardi Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


258 Bacardi Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Adrian from United Kingdom with 22 ratings

A nice taste bit really just an everyday rum and nothingness write home about.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

This is very bad rum for drinking straight. If you're going to drown it in cola or mixers, why not buy a better mixing rum (e.g. something by El Dorado or Flor de Cana or Seale) and watch your drinking life improve. Also, you'll attract better friends.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Skeelos from United States with 27 ratings

A step above engine degreaser. Strong alcohol aroma and taste...almost confused it with a whiskey.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ryan from United States with 3 ratings

I bought this rum before I read all the heinous reviews on this website, which made me worry that I'd made a terrible mistake.

It turns out that, in my opinion, this is a fine rum, great for mixing and not bad for sipping.

It smells of vanilla, clove, and caramel, with only a very sense of alcohol. I almost get a whiff of black cherry as well.

The taste is gently sweet and very spicy. Not much burn, but it does have more bite than similar rums at the same price, although a cube of ice clears that up easily.

The aftertaste is refreshing and has a vanilla and apricot flavor.

I will concede that it lacks the complexities of a good sipping rum, but it isn't unpleasant on its own.

In short, if you had to buy one bottle of cheap rum for both people who like mixing and people who like sipping, it's a decent choice -- especially if you can't find Cruzan 9.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Peter from Estonia with 92 ratings

Yes, I have tasted it, but I'm trying to avoid it. There are even worse ones, but hopefully I don't have to taste them.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 136 ratings

I read a review on a Bacardi flavored rum that stated it wasn’t even fit to “wash his dog’s balls with”. This isn’t fit for my ex-wife, her genitals, or the genitals of her attorney. Both are far beneath a dogs balls! Don’t buy this! If you do, save yourself! Pour it out man! Don’t dispose down any household pipes or it could damage them. Pour this out in your neighbors yard and watch the grass shrivel and die. Blame his dog ...or feel free to blame my ex-wife!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I didn't like this. A very unimpressive drink. It tastes chemically to me. Give it a miss, it's not for any sort of quality libation!

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Matt Thomas from United States with 11 ratings

There's only one way to drink this. What it was made for. Cuba libres. Aka rum and coke. Be sure to add plenty of lime. Don't know why all the bad reviews. It was made for a specific purpose. GAI. (Get after it)

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by caleb hogan from United States with 18 ratings

Mixer only as most Bacardi rums are. Mixes easily with cola which masks most flavors

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by Distiller Evan from United States with 30 ratings

Its better than their white or the oakheart. I bought it to taste it, and that is all I did with it and then put it back on the bottom shelve behind everything.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Mujuru from United States with 51 ratings

I never really liked this rum even back in my college party days. The harshness overpowers flavors that are not impressive to begin with. This is what you give to guests you don’t particularly like so as not to waste your good rum.

Nose: 3
Palate: 2
Aftertaste: 3
Smoothness: 3
Versatility: 7
Price: 6

Total: 4