Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gold rum

Bacardi Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Bacardi Gold rum is manufactured in Puerto Rico where it is distilled from fermented molasses. It is then filtered through charcoal and aged in charred oak barrels for between 1 and 2 years. Unlike Bacardi Superior, Bacardi Gold is only filtered once.

Bacardi's official logo, a fruit bat, dates to 1862 when founder Don Facundo Bacardi found fruit bats living in rafters of the building he bought to house the distillery. Bats are considered an omen of good luck in Cuba and have emblazoned Bacardi rum bottles ever since.

4.6/10 (252 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
17
43
55
72
29
14
6
1
7

Rate Bacardi Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


252 Bacardi Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

093e215b32d9d2db023e1fbdbeeb66ac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

This rum just doesn't grab me. It's OK as a mixer but after trying several others, this lacks the depth of flavor found in other similarly priced gold rums.

B08dd5373a253a8f083777dce78067d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Jackalo626 from United States with 11 ratings

Clearly a mixer but it isn't made better by mixing, it is only diluted enough to drink. It is not a future buy for me and will pass.

388e0c2591281bbaa7be3ccdb282b09c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Can’t put my finger on the strange aroma. Not keen on the scent. Tastes a little better than it smells.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Who hasn't had Bacardi? This is what you find at high-school and college parties, mixed with just about anything you could imagine.
It was made for shooting and mixing, and for mass production and distribution to attack the global market. It has succeeded with flying colors.
Its not bad having a bottle on the shelf. Works in a pinch, though by now, I have so many other options, that I only use this rum for when I want to experiment, as there's no remorse if it fails.

Eca9c54b8093483ef458da9d6f0a4f6d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Martin Gisborne from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Not a great rum but not awful either. But if coke and it's fine

520f683d062fc32554b860a5fa3ea52c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

Nice nose considering it’s a mixer rum and relatively smooth with no real flavor. Again not created for sipper but with coke does balance well. For smoothness with coke good but if your looking for flavor notes from rum it’s lacking.

A45bde9d0a38689121cd2bee0c3faab2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Wynand Pretorius from South Africa with 11 ratings

This is not a sipping rum. The only way to drink it is with Coke or Sprite. I will not go out of my way for the Gold.

35afb55801d44c9f1d041a2f6acff668.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Guntis from Latvia with 5 ratings

Not a sipper. When used with coke makes a decent Cuba Libre.

3d5db732be8f4dab472593b1e9a3e2a5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Justin from United States with 6 ratings

I pretty much only have my rum with a little coke and sometimes lime. On a scale of 1 to 10 (1 being a broke college kid looking for anything cheap, and 10 being a rum snob), I'd have to say I'm a 4 or 5. I definitely appreciate the various flavors of rum and I don't only drink cheap stuff. This rum was okay at first. But the more a drank it, the more it began to have a funky flavor. The only way I can describe it is a chlorine aftertaste.. But it's fine for mixing, I just don't like having more than one in a sitting or it starts tasting funky.

596ff6954099278f2b493d4ebd254738.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by name from United States with 1 rating

Have trouble even finishing a glass of this stuff. Maybe its ok with coke but not straight up

0c75984127c1ef90e82d74721a17bd5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

I like the Bacardi Superior (silver) better in a Cuba Libra (rum & coke with a lime), as it really pops with the lime. If I'm drinking just a rum and coke, however, the gold does add another dimension.