Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gold rum

Bacardi Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Bacardi Gold rum is manufactured in Puerto Rico where it is distilled from fermented molasses. It is then filtered through charcoal and aged in charred oak barrels for between 1 and 2 years. Unlike Bacardi Superior, Bacardi Gold is only filtered once.

Bacardi's official logo, a fruit bat, dates to 1862 when founder Don Facundo Bacardi found fruit bats living in rafters of the building he bought to house the distillery. Bats are considered an omen of good luck in Cuba and have emblazoned Bacardi rum bottles ever since.

4.3/10 (260 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
9
18
45
57
73
30
14
6
1
7

Rate Bacardi Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


260 Bacardi Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 123 ratings

This goes well in cola, and that's it.

But given the choice, it's better than regular Bacardi.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

At first - I despise Bacardí in favour of Havana Club. It's harder with top shelf bottles, but it's easy with basic selection. Overall quality score is better for Havana and the price tag is almost the same. Havana miss the Dark rum and Oro/Gold one, but they are not essential. As I occasionally enjoy Havana 3 Aňos on rock, Bacardí is no go here with any basic bottle. Bacardí basics are bit better than Morgan's, but you can get Morgan's with lower price tag and makes it better pick. This Gold one is even worse than Bacardí black with it's weird off taste (the harder taste of Black could be covering it up, I guess).

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

I do not really like Bacardi. Something tastes off about it. The only thing this is good for is mixing with coke or fruit juices, bet even then you get a glimmer of the taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 31 ratings

Overall, as an available gold rum, I suppose it is fine, however with Mount Gay eclipse as an option, this isn't worth the second look. Harsh and poorly developed flavors.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Romain from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Ok to mix in binds specially for Cuba libres or mojito. This is where it tastes good. The taste is ok and not too strong in cocktails. I always prefer Bacardi rums for cocktails rather than captain Morgan

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Reddew from United States with 53 ratings

I just don't like this rum. I bought it once, and barely drank any of it. I will likely never finish this bottle off. I don't like it even mixed.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by cK from Canada with 64 ratings

Only really fit for mixing when the flavour is highly masked.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 446 ratings

This an ok rum, but it's very plain compared to most other rums. Smell isn't great; a hint of vanilla over alcohol, and the taste is also ordinary for a rum - it's also alcohol with a small hint of vanilla. Pretty easy drinking at 40%abv, but there's much better out there.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Dont even consider drinking this neat, it will burn from entering your mouth to down the throat. Strong vanilla and harsh alcohol is revealed when smelling this. In cola its only okay but still foul compared to some other rums at this price range (around 17$). I cant really say much good about this rum because of the price either. Sometimes you can "switch rums" meaning if you drink 2 or 3 rum beverages by that point you cant taste the full quality of the better rums because your taste buds are numb from the alcohol so you switch to the cheap stuff. Problem is this stuff really isnt even that cheap!
Notes
-Harsh
-Strong alcohol and some vanilla smell
-Drinking you only get the burn
-Expensive for what it is
-Not a very competitive buy
-Doesnt even make a good Rum and cola

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hedonist from Germany with 59 ratings

Better than the white Lable one, but still: Do not drink Bacardi, as long as any other Rum is available.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Was my go-to for Cuba Libres till recently. Great for mixing, adds a subtle flavor to the mixers, not exactly a sipping rum...