Posting your rating...
Bacardi Gold rum
Bacardi Gold rum

Bacardi Gold

Puerto Rico | Gold

Bacardi Gold rum is manufactured in Puerto Rico where it is distilled from fermented molasses. It is then filtered through charcoal and aged in charred oak barrels for between 1 and 2 years. Unlike Bacardi Superior, Bacardi Gold is only filtered once.

Bacardi's official logo, a fruit bat, dates to 1862 when founder Don Facundo Bacardi found fruit bats living in rafters of the building he bought to house the distillery. Bats are considered an omen of good luck in Cuba and have emblazoned Bacardi rum bottles ever since.

4.6/10 (249 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
8
16
43
54
72
28
14
6
1
7

Rate Bacardi Gold

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


249 Bacardi Gold ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

093e215b32d9d2db023e1fbdbeeb66ac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

This rum just doesn't grab me. It's OK as a mixer but after trying several others, this lacks the depth of flavor found in other similarly priced gold rums.

B76d352cc131359b8b42dbbdce7d64ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by RumJunkie from United States with 19 ratings

If you're into "Jungle Juice" style fruit juicy punch type mixed drinks, you'll be fine with Bacardi Gold. Rum & cola, go elsewhere. If you like your rum on the rocks or neat, the only reason to have this around is to fill your tiki torches with it and hope it keeps the mosquitos away.

Ec2492d5580637b8ff3a6654e0841e5e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 157 ratings

While I drink mostly aged rums, I had a chance to sample Ron Carioca White Rum side by side with Bacardi Gold Rum. I am not a fan of Bacardi rums and Bacardi Gold did nothing to change my views. It felt like a very young and blend rum that I presume would qualify for a mixing rum at best. As for the Ron Cariaco, I found very little information on his white rum (see pic) which was not even listed in Rumratings. It was definitely better than Bacardi Gold but not much better. Probably acceptable as a mixer.

F29853ee839d60a22589b5094bafbdd8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tjack from United States with 20 ratings

Horrible stuff. Why is this the standard well rum? No wonder more Americans don't like rum.

7e27fb38eade778773c28d51984d950a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

If you're a frat boy looking to get drunk cheap, feel free to purge this into the toilet it belongs in at the end of the night.

425f7e724339f3a9176e0f78368f5e7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Hates Bacardi gold from United States with 1 rating

Tastes like olives. Nasty nasty stuff. Yer better off fermenting your own fruits. The botchalism is worth not drinking this crap. Worst alcohol I've ever tasted. I'd rather eat the bottom of a used boot heel. Gross, disgusting waste of money. You'll be hard pressed to find a good review

B45809a17bafe1c7b71e0eb4e822dc0b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michael Huff from United States with 81 ratings

Generic bottom barrel rum. Tastes of gasoline. Very bad rum.

77ee3321eb363abcc00d7e770720bfa7.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

What can I say, if you pour enough coke in it it tastes like coke. My years of cheap drinks at the bars are hopeful long gone. If you want to get a cheap rum go for cruzan over Bacardi.

B263a771cffe2e3a7c46b18a3c445bd9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

Since bacardi is pretty popular in pop culture i thought it would a average captain morgan like drink, but boy was i wrong it is very overated. The taste brings nothing to the coke better of with another cheap rum than barcardi. Since i've tried barcardi gold i tried to stay away from anything else that starts with barcardi and to get rid of that bottle i would bring it at party's and share with everyone.

9dd3124ef03cf6997545b601067a259e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Václav from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

At first - I despise Bacardí in favour of Havana Club. It's harder with top shelf bottles, but it's easy with basic selection. Overall quality score is better for Havana and the price tag is almost the same. Havana miss the Dark rum and Oro/Gold one, but they are not essential. As I occasionally enjoy Havana 3 Aňos on rock, Bacardí is no go here with any basic bottle. Bacardí basics are bit better than Morgan's, but you can get Morgan's with lower price tag and makes it better pick. This Gold one is even worse than Bacardí black with it's weird off taste (the harder taste of Black could be covering it up, I guess).

0c92d34774972c5e966c92b1dec58e53.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Ackman from United States with 11 ratings

I do not really like Bacardi. Something tastes off about it. The only thing this is good for is mixing with coke or fruit juices, bet even then you get a glimmer of the taste.