Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


189 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Deep amber colour and a good nose with alcohol and age. The Solera process shows in this rum with the complex tastes and the burn of a younger rum. A good long finish with notes of caramel and wood. I was going to buy another because of the rating and availability but was slightly disappointed for $80can.

Posted over 3 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Quite good and nice rum. But to expensive compared to taste/quality. But don't get me wrong still a good glass :-)

Posted almost 4 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

it was also a present from my friends Conny and Alex from Switzerland, i like it! It`s a great rum!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Frank Skalka from Denmark with 5 ratings

I Can understand why this won the title of Best rum In 2016

Posted almost 4 years ago by java from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Pro mě celkem zajímavý rum, dost odlišný od všeho co jsem zatím měl (zas tolik jsem toho neměl). Měl jsem ovšem lepší rumy, tento v chuti připomíná vanilku, banány, sušené ovoce a ještě vícero příchutí, ale ty neumím pojmenovat. Rum jsem si užil ale čekal jsem daleko víc.

Quite interesting rum for me. Different from all the others I´ve had already (I´ve had just few bottles in my rum career). I tasted better rums that this but that is always personal. In flavor there is vanilla, bananas, dry fruit and more but I cannot identify that. I enjoyed this rum but my personal expectation was higher.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum Hunter from Sweden with 23 ratings

Wooow the bottles shape the colour of this rum woow what an presentation and it doesn't stop there. The nose the taste so sweet honey vanilla neat fruity doesn't overpower in any whays. Its an very beautiful Rum whit the presentation ant taste all in all 10 p

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

Very good rum, fancy bottle if that is important to you. We all enjoyed this rum but thought it was over priced.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stephane from France with 24 ratings

Testé une fois j'ai bcp apprécié
Sucré à souhait

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lofik from Czech Republic with 9 ratings

Delicately sweet, very smooth, tones of caramel, vanilla and cinnamon. Nice bottle, premium experience.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Brett Martinez from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is incredibly smooth. I picked up a bottle at the duty free store and it was fantastic!!

Posted about 4 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Smooth as all get out, definitely vanillas and caramel. This sits next to the El Dorado 21 and the Angostura Batch #2.

Posted about 4 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

I have somewhat of a sweettooth and mostly like the sweet stuff.. When i saw the color my hopes where getting up.. When i felt the scent It was a bit to much ethanol but hey.. It will fade when in the tumbler for a while.. In th mouth there where some things happening.. The taste is thick.. Like sipping syrup.. It has a bit of a kick in it.. The taste i a bit high in the tennines for me.. But the complexit balances it out.. This is some real good shit for a leight evening..

Posted about 4 years ago by tim from United States with 57 ratings

Spice and nut notes with oak, pepper and walnut notes.

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

..........................................................................

Posted about 4 years ago by Jay D from United States with 11 ratings

This is good but you would be better wiser pick up plantation XO

Posted about 4 years ago by brodequin from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

...Ron Millonario 15. Thats all I can say. :-) Very "spicy", dark, long taste. Interesting!

Posted about 4 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Although not from carribean, this is an exceptional great rum. Full bodied, dark and just good to drink

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

I was a little bit sceptic when I first saw this one, but the curiosity got the better of me, so I bought it. And I do not have any regrets... None at all. This is good, really good... Great taste, great color in the glas... A real treat!

Posted about 4 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Sehr guter Rum, einer meiner Favoriten in einer wunderschönen Flasche, macht auf jedenfall eine gute Figur in jeder Rumbar. Der Rum ist mild, komplex und nicht zu süss. Für mich schmekt er nach dunkler Schokolade, Pflaumen, Holz und Tabak.

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

The 12 years is probably one of the most smooth in the category (12 years) in IMO.

So what about the XO

Eye: Copper, dark, dense.

Noise: Spicy wood, banana, dry fruit, some vanilla.

Taste: The same you smell is the same you taste, the banana is probably the most exotic note.

In general it is an amazing rum, awesome, delicious box and presentation.

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

It combines two of my favourites, the bottle from Rum Nation Panama 21 (although the top isn't quite as cool) and is Peruvian like Millonario XO. But somehow it isn't, the taste isn't as deep, interesting or fruity as either of those.

For this tasting I tried back to back with Millonario 15 sistema solera but will try again with the Millonario XO and Rum Nation Panama 21.

On the nose there's a slightly sharp vegetal smell.

To taste there's an initial hint of dark or burnt sugar but it's not incredibly sweet.

On the finish there's some sugar cane and a hint of burn.

As it develops there's some caramel and subtle fruits (but nothing like the fruit bomb of the Panama 21).

Pleasant enough and interesting but not a great rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Miguel from Dominican Republic with 14 ratings

I discovered Cartavio XO at Lima the airport among a lot of Pisco bottles. Great buy. I have not seen it outside Peru, and I have not been back. For sure a candidate for my "active collection".

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

Light, sweet, mild - great sweet sipping rum in a very nice bottle, with a nice cork and a beautiful gift can.

Posted over 4 years ago by l3on_id from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

this one is something special. uniqe package with well balanced spice-sweet liquer taste after vanilla a litle bit caramel. I wish buy a bottle very long time

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

This rum you find in nice bottle with a wooden cork.
When the rum have been resting for a while you can feel vanilla, woody
Taste is vanilla and tropical fruit. Also some spice.
Rum is a very smooth and well balanced.
The aftertaste is long and fine