Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


189 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Deep amber colour and a good nose with alcohol and age. The Solera process shows in this rum with the complex tastes and the burn of a younger rum. A good long finish with notes of caramel and wood. I was going to buy another because of the rating and availability but was slightly disappointed for $80can.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dennis E Vang from Denmark with 89 ratings

Flot farve, dejlig blød næse. God kompleks smag. En smule krydret, jeg er vild med det.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

In the glass, the color is deep, caramel-induced brown. After swirling the glass, thick legs separate after a while, as the rum is quite viscous.

The nose is rather weak, ginger bread, wet pine twigs, slight medicinal note in the back.

The taste is dominated by the added sugar, with very little oak to hold it back. Fruity notes, plums, cherries, brown sugar, very little spice, the mouth-feel is oily and viscous, yet the flavor profile lacks complexity, ending up in non-committal hints of oak tannins still muted by the overall sweetness, and short, lingering sweet burn that is however quite pleasant.

A typical example of a premiumised, Spanish-style "Ron", presumably mainly column still distillate that is moderately sweetened, flavored, which result in one-dimensional flavor profile designed to attract broad consumer base.

Posted over 2 years ago by Deke from United States with 3 ratings

Was looking for some Peruvian rum when I was leaving the country last week but was disappointed that they did not have the millionario at the duty free shop. They were however running a huge sale on this bottle So I bought 3 of them at around 45 bucks each intending to give them as holiday gifts because of the beautiful packaging. Well that's not going to happen!

When I opened it and tried the 1st sip I was quite disappointed by the bite which I found overwhelmed the flavors. So much so I put the glass aside and forgot about it. Some time later I saw the glass and what a different experience. The nose totally opened up with rich caramel and banana with a wonderful smoothness and lingering flavor. Beautiful spirit.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

Sweet and mellow, with a Big palate of dried fruits

Posted over 2 years ago by EDUARDO LANDAVERY from Peru with 75 ratings

Su sabor distinto y su cuerpo deslumbrante nos brinda un experiencia exquisita, con un sabor dulce como la miel y aromas tan placenteros como la vainilla.
Un ron para disfrutarlo solo o en cocktel, y por supuesto siempre apto para el mejor auditorio.

Posted over 2 years ago by Stefan from Switzerland with 17 ratings

Aromen von Toffee, Schokolade, Gewürzen sowie süssliche Fruchtnoten.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jan Staněk from Czech Republic with 104 ratings

It is very sweet, but quite strong alcoholic flavour. Maybe it needs more time to breathe...

Posted over 2 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

En super lækker Rom, som er utrolig dejlig og blød og rund med fin eftersmag. Kan absolut anbefales.

Posted over 2 years ago by Reto from Switzerland with 89 ratings

wow what a great taste from peru, a new star is Born.

Posted over 2 years ago by Steve from Australia with 1 rating

I got a bottle from Peru with no prior warning. I opened and knew it was special. I didnt think I'd find anything to sway me from my opinion that Diplomatico Exclusiva was the best I'd tasted. One ice cube or neat does the trick. Deep developing flavours to savour. Its truly special.
Can't recommend Cartavio XO too highly. Working out how to get another bottle is the hard part. Not available in Australia.

Posted over 2 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Nice looking bottle with a wooden cork.
Color is deep copper. Taste it's very smooth and elegant. Vanilla some brown sugar and toffee. Maybe a little bit to sweet but it doesn't really matter because drinking this delicious rum it's like winning a freaking Oscar.

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Very smooth initial taste with heavy butterscotch. Finishes with molasses and just an ever so hint of tobacco.

Color and consistency are outstanding. Definitely a sipping rum, and a really good one at that. Let it open up and you wont be disappointed.

Posted over 2 years ago by Allan from Australia with 6 ratings

this is a sipping rum, it would be sacrilege to mix.
nose first hints of alcohol followed by vanilla and toffee
on the palette toffee, vanilla with a slight but pleasurable warming sensation, leading into toffee, cinnamon and tobacco and long lasting vanilla molasses tobacco leaving you wanting more

after letting it rest for 5 minutes on an large ice cube the alcohol warmth lost a bit of its warming quality either way with or without is very pleasant
cant see to many being disappointed with this nectar

Posted over 2 years ago by Juan from Peru with 12 ratings

This is agreat rum, easy to drink and enjoy. I like it a lot.

Posted over 2 years ago by Giancarlo from Peru with 60 ratings

This rum has a striking mahogany color, with an exquisite flavor that has added slightly vanilla, and with a deep sweet smell. The good thing (at least for me) is that in my country i can get it for up to $ 30 a bottle.

Este ron tiene un llamativo color caoba, con exquisito sabor que tiene añadido ligeramente vainilla, y con un olor dulce profundo. Lo bueno (al menos para mí) es que en mi país lo puedo conseguir hasta por $30 la botella.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO has been claiming gradually some fame in the US, which is a good thing since we need more quality Peruvian rums over here pronto! Ron Cartavio XO has plenty of good flavors and hardly any burn at the end. It also has a very good price-quality ratio. Very well done indeed.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Michael Welander from Denmark with 32 ratings

Bliver kun serveret til rom kender. Smager rigtig dejligt. God efter smag.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jean Carlo Comitre from Peru with 10 ratings

Nada que envidiarle a los rones considerados Top. Solo pondría por encima al Millonario XO, Abuelo Centuria y Pantation 20-years. El precio es bastante cómodo considerando la excelente calidad del producto. 100% recomendado.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tomas Br. from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

smooth taste with the stronger alcohol feeling at the end, spice in the taste

Posted almost 3 years ago by Peter from Slovakia with 74 ratings

dostal som sa k tomuto rumu na ochtnavke ktoru robilo bottles.sk . podla mna velmi slusny rum, vyvazeny, akurat korenisty, miene sladky ale na mna trolinku ostrejsi. 7.8/10

Posted at normann's almost 3 years ago by henrik pedersen from Denmark with 75 ratings

God rom. lidt til den tørre side. god duft. ikke så tør som Mccoy

Posted almost 3 years ago by Néstor from Peru with 36 ratings

Un excelente ron, que no podía tener un empaque mejor. Es suave y agradable al paladar; con notas de vainilla, caramelo y frutas, sin exagerar en lo dulce. Gran balance. Para tomarlo solo o en las rocas.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Berti from Austria with 14 ratings

A nice rum from Peru, there is a nice combination of tobacco and leader on the palate, accaptable price for such a nice rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steve Ragsdale from United States with 6 ratings

Man this Rum is just awesome. Very smooth and easy on palette.