Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.4/10 (193 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
9
21
61
84
17

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


193 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

3be4c509aa364a5b8ed11af3c4b345ba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Dejlig anderledes flaske.
God, kompleks Rom, skal smags igen.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 163 ratings

This is a nice rum for those who love Zacapa rum.
It is not balanced like Zacapa XO, but rounder than Zacapa 23.
Smell is a little bit like Zacapa 23 (some herbs, vegetal notes).
It's not very cheap, if you can get a sample of this go for it. I have a whole bottle and was not disappointed .

Smell: dried fruits (raisins), cookies, burnt sugar, caramel, oak, herbs/plants, some barrel/gum
Taste: nice sweetness (caramel), fruit (peach), cookies, burnt sugar, wood, some spice
Finish: short to medium long, sweetness and then cherries in the aftertaste

City: Cartavio Peru
Material: Molasses
Age: 10-30 (in average 18)
Barrels: Oak barrels from France, USA and Slovakia (sherry and bourbon)
Master blender: Frederico Schulz

Sweetness: 3.5 / 5
Spice: 1.5 / 5
Fruit: 2.5 / 5
Mildness: 4 / 5

14e8ac309d15338c840497003f48f3ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Luca from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Very smooth and sweet rum in a stylish bottle and a perfect color.

3f57dddbefc6c17936ea3b46d7a413bd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Ron Peruano de la empresa Cartavio, primera empresa ronera en Peru. Ron de alta gama XO, presentacion en botella de coleccion con corcho de madera, caja desmontable. Precio muy accesible para la calidad del ron, aproximadamente 40 dolares (Duty Free Aeropuerto Jorge Chavez). Ron de gran calidad, de los mejores que he probado, y es peruano!

B28bc46c5d5b42b994d031fa2c75064d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 4 ratings

I was introduced to this rum by a friend and wow, what a drink! A hint of alcohol out of the bottle, it quickly evaporates and is replaced by caramel, spice and a little brown sugar. Almost no burn. I use this rum to show skeptics that rum can be drank neat and enjoyed like a fine Scotch or Cognac.

1cbdc6301aa8f6d82116f34d4c5f2f22.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 73 ratings

...But just not quite complex and layered enough for a 9/10. Very enjoyable, nothing about it offends. I just want the tiniest extra punch to my rum. Definitely worth purchasing if you're willing to part with £60. If it was a touch cheaper I'd say to a 9/10

7df40677ad44a015522a84ad0d2525af.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by jbuk101 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I first received this as a sample from my parents after they'd been to Spain. The sample was truly delicious, like a treacle toffee with a kick but the rum I felt was a little too expensive for me to purchase a bottle. I later received this as a gift, the full bottle wasn't quite as tasty but still a nice smooth rum - maybe I need another bottle to double check. If you can get this on a good offer then give it a try, here in the UK I feel it doesn't quite live up to the high price (for example in some places its a whole Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva more expensive than a Zacapa 23 Solera - might as well get both of 'em instead)

5c51829978e22aa5b1f45916bfba354c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Paul Gardner from United States with 4 ratings

I love this rum. I have to order it from out of state because WA doesn't carry it. It's worth the shipping charge. It's smooth, has nice caramel over tones, molasses back and just the right amount of sweetness.

A9a43906ed6ebbd4757a925ee816e70c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 68 ratings

If you like QRM 30 and Esclavo XO you will also love this.

699744fc382f1879eb00f3b6324853ad.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 months ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Bardzo delikatny, przyjemny do picia. Piękny kolor oraz ekskluzywna butelka. Może brakuje mu czegoś co wyróżniało by go z tłumu, czegoś urzekającego. Natomiast kompozycja, smak, posmak to wzór tego jak powinien smakować dobry rum.

263c980652ee097ee64c3dd1d3d0258c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 11 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

In Sept. iI reared this rum a 5 and stated, “Rum taste is personal. So don’t take my review personal.You could drink this all day and be happy But at the end of the day have you had a great rum? Single note of butterscotch vanilla toffee. The 44g/l of “additives” kill all the complexity, if it existed. Paid $58 US for the last time and will serve to my friends before the expiration date. Keep searching.” I’m Nov. I re-tasted and my rating was to harsh, am revising to a six.