Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


189 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Deep amber colour and a good nose with alcohol and age. The Solera process shows in this rum with the complex tastes and the burn of a younger rum. A good long finish with notes of caramel and wood. I was going to buy another because of the rating and availability but was slightly disappointed for $80can.

Posted about 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 90 ratings

Mir persönlich schon etwas zu süss.
Ansonsten geschmacklich ok.

Posted about 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 224 ratings

V mém případě se těžko bude hledat něco víc, nasládlý, luxusní moučník

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

Great rum in the cool bottle and nice wooden cap.
As many people say, this is really tasty one.
Full body, smooth, very palatable.
Everyone can smile, drink this rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Ole Christian Rønning from Norway with 9 ratings

This rum have been shipped from Peru to Norway, and it's absolutely worth the journey!
Let it breathe for 10 minutes in the glass, while sniffing the smell of brown sugar and vanilla.
A wonderful bite in the mouth, and let it roll around for ten seconds, then you feel the exotic aroma fill you with pure pleasure.

Posted over 1 year ago by Mattias from Sweden with 26 ratings

Bought this one on chance in Cusco.
Happy I did!!
Really well balanced.

Should have bought more bottles!

Posted over 1 year ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Dark amber color. Nose of raisins, toffee, brown sugar, ripe banana, vanilla and a hint of oak. Slight mineral touch as well. On the palet - Sweet coffee note, with burned candied sugar. Notes of vanilla and banana as well. Medium to long finish, and with a lovely coating of the mouth. A lovely rum, but a tat to sweet. It would be lovely with som aromas, that didn't drown in the sugar.

Posted over 1 year ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

I have been looking forward to this one for a number of years; and to my surprise, one day it showed up on the LCBO website. 45 minutes later it was in my possession.
On the nose there seems to be a lot of scents vying to be top dog.
The taste was a little disappointing to me personally; something about a dry oaky rum that seems to have added sugar leaves a bitter aftertaste in my mouth (if that makes sense).
It is smooth and that’s always a plus but I just don’t like the aftertaste.
After reading other reviews; it seems a lot people like this one. I guess to each their own.

Posted over 1 year ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 121 ratings

Rhum raffiné et très doux. Belle robe foncée. Très sucré sur le caramel.

Posted over 1 year ago by Allen from United States with 2 ratings

Very smooth with lots of flavor. A little on the expensive side, but well worth it.

Posted over 1 year ago by mmooreh from Denmark with 9 ratings

Smooth, Classy and perfect afront of the fireplace

Posted over 1 year ago by Bryan Gehrett from United States with 28 ratings

An incredible rum with a fantastic aroma. I left the cork off for a few minutes and the nose actually started to fill the room. It has quickly become one of my favorites. Very smooth and delicious!

Posted over 1 year ago by John Marius from Norway with 17 ratings

One of the best rums I have ever tastes, and at a fair price.

Posted over 1 year ago by Rich from Canada with 25 ratings

This was a very pleasant sipping experience, nice flavour and warmth. I will be picking up some of this for special events.

Posted over 1 year ago by Roland Hein from Germany with 7 ratings

This one surprised me two years ago.
Great Rum with perfect smoothness and a touch of Chocolate

Posted over 1 year ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I like this and would describe it as a really good rum without quite being a classic. On the nose there is not that much - maybe brown sugar and caramel, a little bit of oak but it hasn't got a strong nose. There is certainly brown sugar, vanilla, soft fruit, sugar (some is added) on the tongue. A small kick too - nothing too much but a nice one. It has a smooth, rounded fell to it in the mouth. Definitely on the sweet side - that would be mainly the sugar - but not means too sweet. Thaftertaste is plesant and has a sweet tingle of a burn - no more. I'd certainly drink this in a bar, but it's expensive, so a bottle...I don't know.

Posted over 1 year ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

Romain m à fait découvrir ce merveilleux rhum. Un goût de noisette de chêne, il est doux complexe et long en bouche. Vraiment un wow.

Posted over 1 year ago by Florianhagemann from Peru with 81 ratings

De los cañaverales peruanos proviene este espectacular ron. Suave en el paladar y delicioso sabor a toffee. Dulce aroma a vainilla. Un hermoso color caramelo. Una preciosa botella. Cartavio X0 es un ron simplemente espectacular!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

An extremely smooth rum with a rich aftertaste. A distinctive taste of aged rum this is a must have for any rum enthusiast

Posted almost 2 years ago by Johan from Sweden with 3 ratings

Found the cartavio rum in Peru, enjoyed the 8 year when I was there but picked up the XO to being home and was not dissapointed.

A nice and sweet rum with almost no alcoholic taste. Not too different from the Zacapa 23.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Decadent, complex, exquisite and delightful...These words all best describe Cartavio XO. Wonderful glass presentation housing a beautiful nectar inside that illustrates just how good rum from Peru can be. Not necessarily a place that you would associate rum with, Cartavio has definitely placed its stamp on the rum world, in my opinion.
Smooth with subtle hints of toffee, brown sugar, some vanilla and baking spice. Oak and some dark fruit and nut components come through as well. If you let it sit or add a drop of water to your glass, you will be able to bring out other flavors and aromas that would otherwise remain hidden in this bounty.
Enjoy neat or with a splash of water or ice cube...don’t mix this! That is why they make $7.00 bottles of rum! Cheers

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Sampled this rum at Cardiff Rum Festival.

It's m matured in American, French Limousin and Slovenian casks in a Solera system.

With a fruity, chocolatey and slightly nutty nose. It's rich with hints of fruit and chocolate in the mouth. A superb sipper!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Sylvain Lussier from Canada with 44 ratings

excellent rhum, très belles arômes.
Lors de dégustation une entrée en douceur (sucre brun,un peu vanille) avec une finale épicée qui perdure. magnifique

Posted almost 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

This came to me as quite a surprise, but it is a bit harsher than I thought it would be. Otherwise, nose is bit smoky and the body has orange flavor, which might or might not be purely natural. At least is tastes naturally.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Been on my wish list for a while, and finally tried at Rumba in Seattle. Very nice nose with hint of molasses, but not too sweet smelling. Very smooth taste and wonderful finish. Worth buying.