Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


189 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Don from Canada with 130 ratings

Deep amber colour and a good nose with alcohol and age. The Solera process shows in this rum with the complex tastes and the burn of a younger rum. A good long finish with notes of caramel and wood. I was going to buy another because of the rating and availability but was slightly disappointed for $80can.

Posted 28 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

Dostal jsem darem, krásná láhev, velice dobrý rum i na dlouhé popíjení.

Vůně: vyvážená, příjemná
Chuť: jemná, vyvážená, lehce sladší
Opětovná koupě: určitě ano
Cena: okolo 1600,- Kč

Posted about 1 month ago by nicolaigrubbe@gmail.com from Denmark with 16 ratings

Quite sweet, with notes of toffee, vanilla, and chocolate.

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 121 ratings

Quel beau produit venant du Pérou, très rare de le trouver au Canada.

Posted 2 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

for me much to expensive for what you get, but i only had 4cl maybe i have to try it again

Posted 3 months ago by Lucho2207 from Peru with 12 ratings

One good sipping rum. Good sweetness, good density, great smell! This one is definetly one of my favourite rums!

Posted 3 months ago by Mario from Switzerland with 1 rating

Perfect rum. The aromas and the taste are just well balanced.

Posted 3 months ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 37 ratings

Unverfälscht im Geschmack. Top rum sehr fein keine schärfe

Posted 4 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 37 ratings

Ordentlicher Rum, an dem nichts auszusetzen ist. Bis man den Preis in Betracht zieht. Für ~60€ erwarte Ich einfach mehr. Tolle Flasche, toller Korken, aber dann hört es auch schon auf. Erinnert mich an den Botucal oder Pampero vom Geschmack her. Definitv kein High-Class-Rum...

Schmeckt nach feuchtem Fass.

Posted 4 months ago by BaCoNCaKeS from Denmark with 4 ratings

So, i went to a rumshop out of town. We talk rum for a bit and chattet. At Some point She points to this beutifull bottle claiming its the Best rom in the World. Looking at the bottle i wasn't impressed. I 40% abv solera rum from? Not that special Looking at the bottle.
Wow was i gladly surprised. A Smooth and full bodied rum with great aroma and a Nice long finish.i must admit its a Really good rum. But to say its the Best rom in the World? I wouldn't quite say. I Think its a little sweet and i would have prefered a little more abv.

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

It is not balanced like Zacapa XO, but rounder than Zacapa 23.
Smell similar to Zacapa 23 (same herbs).
If you like Zacapa Rums, you would like this one also.

Smell: dried fruits (plums, raisins), burnt sugar, caramel, oak, herbs/plants, spice
Taste: nice sweetness (caramel), fruit (peach), burnt sugar, slight bitterness, leather, oak/earth, spice
Finish: Intensive, sweetness and then sherry in the aftertaste

City: Cartavio Peru
Material: Molasses
Age: 10-30 (on average 18)
Barrels: Oak barrels from France, USA and Slovakia (sherry and bourbon)
Master blender: Frederico Schulz

Sweetness: 3 / 5
Spice: 2.5 / 5
Fruit: 2.5 / 5
Mildness: 3.5 / 5

Posted 5 months ago by Luca from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Very smooth and sweet rum in a stylish bottle and a perfect color.

Posted 6 months ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Ron Peruano de la empresa Cartavio, primera empresa ronera en Peru. Ron de alta gama XO, presentacion en botella de coleccion con corcho de madera, caja desmontable. Precio muy accesible para la calidad del ron, aproximadamente 40 dolares (Duty Free Aeropuerto Jorge Chavez). Ron de gran calidad, de los mejores que he probado, y es peruano!

Posted 6 months ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 4 ratings

I was introduced to this rum by a friend and wow, what a drink! A hint of alcohol out of the bottle, it quickly evaporates and is replaced by caramel, spice and a little brown sugar. Almost no burn. I use this rum to show skeptics that rum can be drank neat and enjoyed like a fine Scotch or Cognac.

Posted 6 months ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

...But just not quite complex and layered enough for a 9/10. Very enjoyable, nothing about it offends. I just want the tiniest extra punch to my rum. Definitely worth purchasing if you're willing to part with £60. If it was a touch cheaper I'd say to a 9/10

Posted 7 months ago by jbuk101 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I first received this as a sample from my parents after they'd been to Spain. The sample was truly delicious, like a treacle toffee with a kick but the rum I felt was a little too expensive for me to purchase a bottle. I later received this as a gift, the full bottle wasn't quite as tasty but still a nice smooth rum - maybe I need another bottle to double check. If you can get this on a good offer then give it a try, here in the UK I feel it doesn't quite live up to the high price (for example in some places its a whole Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva more expensive than a Zacapa 23 Solera - might as well get both of 'em instead)

Posted 7 months ago by Paul Gardner from United States with 4 ratings

I love this rum. I have to order it from out of state because WA doesn't carry it. It's worth the shipping charge. It's smooth, has nice caramel over tones, molasses back and just the right amount of sweetness.

Posted 8 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

If you like QRM 30 and Esclavo XO you will also love this.

Posted 8 months ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

Bardzo delikatny, przyjemny do picia. Piękny kolor oraz ekskluzywna butelka. Może brakuje mu czegoś co wyróżniało by go z tłumu, czegoś urzekającego. Natomiast kompozycja, smak, posmak to wzór tego jak powinien smakować dobry rum.

Posted 8 months ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 46 ratings

In Sept. iI reared this rum a 5 and stated, “Rum taste is personal. So don’t take my review personal.You could drink this all day and be happy But at the end of the day have you had a great rum? Single note of butterscotch vanilla toffee. The 44g/l of “additives” kill all the complexity, if it existed. Paid $58 US for the last time and will serve to my friends before the expiration date. Keep searching.” I’m Nov. I re-tasted and my rating was to harsh, am revising to a six.

Posted 10 months ago by Folharth from Canada with 70 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO - love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted 11 months ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 95 ratings

Za tu cenu jsem očekával, že bude rum lépe vybalancovaný jak tomu bývá v této cenové kategorii u Oliver and Oliver, třeba Ophyum 12y. Srovnával jsem současně s Botran Solera 18y a z prvu jsem ve vůni neviděl rozdíl. Nakonec z ostrého alkoholu vystupuje trocha vanilky s karamelem. Je plnější než Botran a hlavně má dlouhý příjemný závěr. Surový, ostrý začátek prostě ty 2 body ubral. Mám levnější favority podobné chuti.

Posted 11 months ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

A beautiful mahogany colour in the glass , very sweet aromas of toffee , chocolate , honey and brown sugar plus vanilla. Sips very easily , sweet and spicey... good warm mouth feel. A bit thin like a muted D.R.E maybe ? No burn in the throat . To be honest its a bit too sweet (44 gms of sugar ) and a bit too thin for me.

Posted 11 months ago by Jorge from Chile with 2 ratings

Un ron espectacular, para el perfil dulce que tiene, presenta un golpe alcohólico aceptable y duradero en boca

Posted 12 months ago by Nielf from Denmark with 119 ratings

Smagt til romhattens romfestival 2019. Den får en 8'er.