Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


191 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

63460962acf5e9c183072339bb660fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Smells Great, Sweet.
Taste is very nice, a little bite of alkohol, but very nice balanced.

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

V mém případě se těžko bude hledat něco víc, nasládlý, luxusní moučník

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

I got to talking at length with the bartender at a well stocked rum bar after sampling five of what he had on hand. He showed me a picture of this one on his smart phone. Holy smoke! It was already on my wish list here and I was prepared to find any excuse to drive 400 miles to the Houston area to get a bottle. My wonderful memory of Cartavio Solera 12 is what inspired me. Then the bartender told me what local liquor store stocked it. It had been years since I visited that one, which was before I retired almost four years ago. I drove over there with high hopes. Sure enough, there was one bottle left on the top shelf for only $66.

When I got my new baby home, I let it breathe in the snifter for at least a half an hour. I must say that this bottle exudes elegance, including a wire cage typically found around champagne corks to prevent them from popping out. The color is a rich dark reddish orange and almost transparent. If I had not known any better, I would assume that this is a dry rum from looking at it. It has 29 gpl of added sugar, which qualifies it as being heavily sweetened, but not quite a sugar bomb. The complex flavors on the aroma are too numerous to single out. It is rich and smooth on the palate and goes down with no after burn whatsoever. I will start by rating this as an 8, but it may move up to a 9. At this price and being heavily sweetened, I will need to use it up in 2-4 months. I always keep track of when each bottle was opened.

Update November 14, 2018: As good as it tastes in the snifter, there was just something about it whereby I was really hesitant to take another sip. Yes, it was super smooth swirling around a mouthful with no burn going down. And being down to the last six ounces in the bottle, I asked myself why is this aged rum looking red. Duh!!! It is all of the added sugars and no telling what else that is putting me off! So I added an ice cube, which did not improve it in the snifter. Then I did the unthinkable of adding lime, lemon, and orange juices to this last six ounces, which finally made it drinkable. Since this borderline sugar bomb deteriorated this much in only four weeks, I had no choice except to drop my rating from an 8 to a 7. In my overall rankings, it's younger brother Solera 12 still ranks much higher, which is also rated as a 7.

A65d48d927c8df776a88a8a333a07348.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

What a nice bottle! Well i usually prefer rum with a little more punch to it, the dryer ones. Ore at least the perfect balance between sweetness and dryness. But sometimes a more sugery rum put down my needs for candy. This is a great rum... But when the rum almost is on the edge to be an liqueur I loose my interest. Nose: fruits, brown sugar, plums. Palate: caramel, brown sugar, vanilla, chocolate in a sweety heaven!

4a1cd8b2edef975370e24730fbfb5097.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 417 ratings

Sweet and smooth with a beautiful long finish. I've tried rum in nice bottles and thought... "they had to put this in a nice bottle to justify the price."

Ba87ca8f38a8998f6b6431a5e0cb5fa9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 55 ratings

First hints, slight bite. But let it breathe, even if only for a few minutes, and it opens beautifully. Soft, smooth... So smooth. Vanilla, caramel, burnt toffee, maybe brown sugar. Sweet, delicious. No bite.
Nice deep copper color. Inviting aroma
Lingering taste, it just sits on the back of your tongue, begging for another sip. And make no mistake, this is a beautiful sipper.

Nice bottle, comes in a tin. Only complaint it's a plastic cork.

This might be one in the finest rums I've ever had. Do not pass up an opportunity to try it.

C20fbe7ee452626d013104731f738f3c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Its not bad but the sugar content is way to high. It tells me there is something to hide. But ok to drink as a desert.Reallllly smooth.

9101887ccc7faa1b0097af8f52ba05ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I found this rum on a recent trip to Jacksonville and decided to mark one off my wish list.

Now I wish I hadn't bothered.

Apparently my opinion will be going against the grain here but this rum would be great if they hadn't sugared it so much.

Am I drinking rum or molasses with alcohol added?

This could almost be pancake syrup.

The syrupy sweetness is so overwhelming that it hides some elements and flavor profiles that would have made for a great rum.

But someone decided to ruin what could've been a great rum.

Forshame!

Paid way too much for this. Sad. My fault.

I forced myself to try to take extra sips and finally found some vanilla and toffee undertones to it along with some oak tannin. Even a hint of banana.

Beyond that, there's not much.

I read so many praises for this rum. Makes me wonder if I got a counterfeit because what I got sure ain't what others describe. Don't get me wrong...there are some sugared rums that I actually like but this one goes overboard. I cannot recommend it as a sipping rum unless you're into drinking syrup. I could see this being effectively used in drinks with an antithesis of sweetness such as coffee drinks or drinks using more bitters than the average. Any other suggestions? I cannot see this used in fruit-based drinks. The sugariness would be completely off the charts. And not in a good way.

My recommendation? Not worth the $65-70 price. Many better rums for half that.

C8f8b698662fbbc245b8cced518fca7a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Smager som den dufter. sød, men ikke for sød og med god eftersmag.

D6aca8bb6782772f830c7392e84a636d.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 7 ratings

This is a great rum that I enjoy with a smooth cigar like an Undercrown Shade. The back-end caramel and vanilla is amazing. THE rum for me.

70b90ce20c5468932b6c00840194effc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nick Michaelsen from Denmark with 18 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO is coming in a nice bottle where all the information is graved into the bottle. I like this detail instead of the cheap labels that a lot of other rum makers are using.
In the nose this rum is sweet, a little spicy and I find notes as toffe and vanilla. The palate offers notes as, caramel, vanilla, nuts and oak. The aftertaste is long with hints of molasse and oak. This is really a fantastic rum, and for 750 DKK (100 EURO) I think it's worth every penny, and maybe more. Buy this rum if you haven't tried it before, you will not be dissapointed!!