Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10 (197 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
9
22
64
83
18

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


197 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Nice looking bottle with a wooden cork.
Color is deep copper. Taste it's very smooth and elegant. Vanilla some brown sugar and toffee. Maybe a little bit to sweet but it doesn't really matter because drinking this delicious rum it's like winning a freaking Oscar.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

Ron Carvatio XO comes in a classic bottle with a wooden cork. The rum is delivered in an tin box (picture). Hight class!

At first you smell some alcohol but when the rum have been resting for a while in the glass the aroma explodes with toffee, caramel and vanilla. One of the best aromas.

In mouth you get vanilla, caramel and fruit. You also get some spice in a very nice way. It is a very smooth and well balanced rum.

The aftertaste is long and sweet with some spice.

This is a favourite that I truly can recommend. The price is a bit high but it only costs half as much as Diplomático Ambassador Selection and I think this rum is almost in the same class.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Derek from Canada with 12 ratings

A Solera process rum with the oldest in the mix coming in at 18 years old. I was surprised there was a rum from Peru.... but hey! I'll try that. Glad I did. A rare find in most parts outside Peru... I'm tempted to buy as much as I can find before it's gone... so I don't have to find some excuse to fly to Peru so I can bring home more than I'm allowed to bring home. It smells fantastic and tastes the same. Sweet and smooth with a beautiful long finish. I've tried rum in nice bottles and thought... "they had to put this in a nice bottle to justify the price." When I drank this rum... my thought was, "this is in a nice bottle because it's a great rum and should be in a nice bottle." 3 thumbs up.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This just appeared at my local liquor store for the first time, so I grabbed a bottle. I was VERY impressed with the taste based on the reasonable cost ($69.99 K&L Wines 2015).

Though I don't count it in my scoring, this is one of the nicest bottles in my collection. A beautiful shape, and a beautiful color (see rumratings photo).

Smells of vanilla, spice, sweet molasses, honey, and hazelnut; the taste is equally nice. I like this a lot!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

fantastic bottle look, aromatic, smooth, tasty... and expensive :)
But worthy.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 239 ratings

Great rum in a nice pacakage. The nose is potent with sweet, burnt, brown sugar, baked banana, raisins and barrel notes. The palette offers a medium brown sugar sweetness on a background of oak and fills your mouth with lovely spicy tingles. It reminds me of a slightly deeper, more refinded but less sweet version of the Millonario solera 15.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Very classy looking bottle with wooden cork. Deep mahogany brown color, very nice! Pour it in a sniffer and let it rest for a while and... alcohol, very mild sweetness on the nose. Waaat!? Give it a swirl and whoa! Hugely sweet and thick, syrupy , molasses, what an aroma! Taste is equally good and thick. Nice slow sipping rum!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

I had been waiting for 3 years to taste this rum and I had the opportunity during a rum battle around 10 best ron. It has a beautiful dark amber color. At the nose, there are notes of toffee, coffee and chocolate. There is also honey and vanilla. In the mouth, the dark chocolate takes the top with a beautiful depth and a beautiful roundness. The spices arrive on a medium finish but the chocolate is for me always very present. A little disappointed.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alberto Beeck from United States with 1 rating

Best rum I've ever had. So smooth and perfect to drink on the rocks.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

One of my favourite rums, the Cartavio XO hits all the spots with a nicely balanced sweetness that completes the spicy flavour just perfectly. Had it been slightly more aromatic and lengthy in the flavour it could easily be an all time best rum ever!

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 50 ratings

Dostal jsem darem, krásná láhev, velice dobrý rum i na dlouhé popíjení.

Vůně: vyvážená, příjemná
Chuť: jemná, vyvážená, lehce sladší
Opětovná koupě: určitě ano
Cena: okolo 1600,- Kč