Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10 (203 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
9
22
65
87
18

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


203 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I found this rum on a recent trip to Jacksonville and decided to mark one off my wish list.

Now I wish I hadn't bothered.

Apparently my opinion will be going against the grain here but this rum would be great if they hadn't sugared it so much.

Am I drinking rum or molasses with alcohol added?

This could almost be pancake syrup.

The syrupy sweetness is so overwhelming that it hides some elements and flavor profiles that would have made for a great rum.

But someone decided to ruin what could've been a great rum.

Forshame!

Paid way too much for this. Sad. My fault.

I forced myself to try to take extra sips and finally found some vanilla and toffee undertones to it along with some oak tannin. Even a hint of banana.

Beyond that, there's not much.

I read so many praises for this rum. Makes me wonder if I got a counterfeit because what I got sure ain't what others describe. Don't get me wrong...there are some sugared rums that I actually like but this one goes overboard. I cannot recommend it as a sipping rum unless you're into drinking syrup. I could see this being effectively used in drinks with an antithesis of sweetness such as coffee drinks or drinks using more bitters than the average. Any other suggestions? I cannot see this used in fruit-based drinks. The sugariness would be completely off the charts. And not in a good way.

My recommendation? Not worth the $65-70 price. Many better rums for half that.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Bardzo delikatny, przyjemny do picia. Piękny kolor oraz ekskluzywna butelka. Może brakuje mu czegoś co wyróżniało by go z tłumu, czegoś urzekającego. Natomiast kompozycja, smak, posmak to wzór tego jak powinien smakować dobry rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Tony Sanders (PREMIUM) from United States with 48 ratings

In Sept. iI reared this rum a 5 and stated, “Rum taste is personal. So don’t take my review personal.You could drink this all day and be happy But at the end of the day have you had a great rum? Single note of butterscotch vanilla toffee. The 44g/l of “additives” kill all the complexity, if it existed. Paid $58 US for the last time and will serve to my friends before the expiration date. Keep searching.” I’m Nov. I re-tasted and my rating was to harsh, am revising to a six.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Folharth from Canada with 69 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO - love it !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 102 ratings

Za tu cenu jsem očekával, že bude rum lépe vybalancovaný jak tomu bývá v této cenové kategorii u Oliver and Oliver, třeba Ophyum 12y. Srovnával jsem současně s Botran Solera 18y a z prvu jsem ve vůni neviděl rozdíl. Nakonec z ostrého alkoholu vystupuje trocha vanilky s karamelem. Je plnější než Botran a hlavně má dlouhý příjemný závěr. Surový, ostrý začátek prostě ty 2 body ubral. Mám levnější favority podobné chuti.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 209 ratings

A beautiful mahogany colour in the glass , very sweet aromas of toffee , chocolate , honey and brown sugar plus vanilla. Sips very easily , sweet and spicey... good warm mouth feel. A bit thin like a muted D.R.E maybe ? No burn in the throat . To be honest its a bit too sweet (44 gms of sugar ) and a bit too thin for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Jorge from Chile with 2 ratings

Un ron espectacular, para el perfil dulce que tiene, presenta un golpe alcohólico aceptable y duradero en boca

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Nielf from Denmark with 148 ratings

Smagt til romhattens romfestival 2019. Den får en 8'er.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Mir persönlich schon etwas zu süss.
Ansonsten geschmacklich ok.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 142 ratings

Great rum in the cool bottle and nice wooden cap.
As many people say, this is really tasty one.
Full body, smooth, very palatable.
Everyone can smile, drink this rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Ole Christian Rønning from Norway with 9 ratings

This rum have been shipped from Peru to Norway, and it's absolutely worth the journey!
Let it breathe for 10 minutes in the glass, while sniffing the smell of brown sugar and vanilla.
A wonderful bite in the mouth, and let it roll around for ten seconds, then you feel the exotic aroma fill you with pure pleasure.