Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10 (205 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
9
22
66
88
18

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

205 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 190 ratings

Romain m à fait découvrir ce merveilleux rhum. Un goût de noisette de chêne, il est doux complexe et long en bouche. Vraiment un wow.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mario from Switzerland with 1 rating

Perfect rum. The aromas and the taste are just well balanced.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Marco Rubin from Switzerland with 41 ratings

Unverfälscht im Geschmack. Top rum sehr fein keine schärfe

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Domstadtkerl from Germany with 39 ratings

Ordentlicher Rum, an dem nichts auszusetzen ist. Bis man den Preis in Betracht zieht. Für ~60€ erwarte Ich einfach mehr. Tolle Flasche, toller Korken, aber dann hört es auch schon auf. Erinnert mich an den Botucal oder Pampero vom Geschmack her. Definitv kein High-Class-Rum...

Schmeckt nach feuchtem Fass.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by BaCoNCaKeS from Denmark with 4 ratings

So, i went to a rumshop out of town. We talk rum for a bit and chattet. At Some point She points to this beutifull bottle claiming its the Best rom in the World. Looking at the bottle i wasn't impressed. I 40% abv solera rum from? Not that special Looking at the bottle.
Wow was i gladly surprised. A Smooth and full bodied rum with great aroma and a Nice long finish.i must admit its a Really good rum. But to say its the Best rom in the World? I wouldn't quite say. I Think its a little sweet and i would have prefered a little more abv.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 281 ratings

This is a nice rum for those who love Zacapa rum.
It is not balanced like Zacapa XO, but rounder than Zacapa 23.
Smell is a little bit like Zacapa 23 (some herbs, vegetal notes).
It's not very cheap, if you can get a sample of this go for it. I have a whole bottle and was not disappointed .

Smell: dried fruits (raisins), cookies, burnt sugar, caramel, oak, herbs/plants, some barrel/gum
Taste: nice sweetness (caramel), fruit (peach), cookies, burnt sugar, wood, some spice
Finish: short to medium long, sweetness and then cherries in the aftertaste

City: Cartavio Peru
Material: Molasses
Age: 10-30 (in average 18)
Barrels: Oak barrels from France, USA and Slovakia (sherry and bourbon)
Master blender: Frederico Schulz

Sweetness: 3.5 / 5
Spice: 1.5 / 5
Fruit: 2.5 / 5
Mildness: 4 / 5
Value (63€): 3/5

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Luca from Switzerland with 2 ratings

Very smooth and sweet rum in a stylish bottle and a perfect color.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by MarioRonson from Peru with 38 ratings

Ron Peruano de la empresa Cartavio, primera empresa ronera en Peru. Ron de alta gama XO, presentacion en botella de coleccion con corcho de madera, caja desmontable. Precio muy accesible para la calidad del ron, aproximadamente 40 dolares (Duty Free Aeropuerto Jorge Chavez). Ron de gran calidad, de los mejores que he probado, y es peruano!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Ric Stryde from Canada with 7 ratings

I was introduced to this rum by a friend and wow, what a drink! A hint of alcohol out of the bottle, it quickly evaporates and is replaced by caramel, spice and a little brown sugar. Almost no burn. I use this rum to show skeptics that rum can be drank neat and enjoyed like a fine Scotch or Cognac.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 83 ratings

...But just not quite complex and layered enough for a 9/10. Very enjoyable, nothing about it offends. I just want the tiniest extra punch to my rum. Definitely worth purchasing if you're willing to part with £60. If it was a touch cheaper I'd say to a 9/10

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by jbuk101 from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

I first received this as a sample from my parents after they'd been to Spain. The sample was truly delicious, like a treacle toffee with a kick but the rum I felt was a little too expensive for me to purchase a bottle. I later received this as a gift, the full bottle wasn't quite as tasty but still a nice smooth rum - maybe I need another bottle to double check. If you can get this on a good offer then give it a try, here in the UK I feel it doesn't quite live up to the high price (for example in some places its a whole Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva more expensive than a Zacapa 23 Solera - might as well get both of 'em instead)