Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10
213 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
9
21
74
89
18

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

213 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Stephane from France with 24 ratings

Testé une fois j'ai bcp apprécié
Sucré à souhait

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2810 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO has been claiming gradually some fame in the US, which is a good thing since we need more quality Peruvian rums over here pronto! Ron Cartavio XO has plenty of good flavors and hardly any burn at the end. It also has a very good price-quality ratio. Plenty of strong nuttiness in the flavor profile. Very well done indeed.

Small 20201218 210910

Posted 4 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 62 ratings

First hints, slight bite. But let it breathe, even if only for a few minutes, and it opens beautifully. Soft, smooth... So smooth. Vanilla, caramel, burnt toffee, maybe brown sugar. Sweet, delicious. No bite.
Nice deep copper color. Inviting aroma
Lingering taste, it just sits on the back of your tongue, begging for another sip. And make no mistake, this is a beautiful sipper.

Nice bottle, comes in a tin. Only complaint it's a plastic cork.

This might be one in the finest rums I've ever had. Do not pass up an opportunity to try it.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Its not bad but the sugar content is way to high. It tells me there is something to hide. But ok to drink as a desert.Reallllly smooth.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

I found this rum on a recent trip to Jacksonville and decided to mark one off my wish list.

Now I wish I hadn't bothered.

Apparently my opinion will be going against the grain here but this rum would be great if they hadn't sugared it so much.

Am I drinking rum or molasses with alcohol added?

This could almost be pancake syrup.

The syrupy sweetness is so overwhelming that it hides some elements and flavor profiles that would have made for a great rum.

But someone decided to ruin what could've been a great rum.

Forshame!

Paid way too much for this. Sad. My fault.

I forced myself to try to take extra sips and finally found some vanilla and toffee undertones to it along with some oak tannin. Even a hint of banana.

Beyond that, there's not much.

I read so many praises for this rum. Makes me wonder if I got a counterfeit because what I got sure ain't what others describe. Don't get me wrong...there are some sugared rums that I actually like but this one goes overboard. I cannot recommend it as a sipping rum unless you're into drinking syrup. I could see this being effectively used in drinks with an antithesis of sweetness such as coffee drinks or drinks using more bitters than the average. Any other suggestions? I cannot see this used in fruit-based drinks. The sugariness would be completely off the charts. And not in a good way.

My recommendation? Not worth the $65-70 price. Many better rums for half that.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Teis Madsen from Denmark with 114 ratings

Smager som den dufter. sød, men ikke for sød og med god eftersmag.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 10 ratings

This is a great rum that I enjoy with a smooth cigar like an Undercrown Shade. The back-end caramel and vanilla is amazing. THE rum for me.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nick Michaelsen from Denmark with 18 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO is coming in a nice bottle where all the information is graved into the bottle. I like this detail instead of the cheap labels that a lot of other rum makers are using.
In the nose this rum is sweet, a little spicy and I find notes as toffe and vanilla. The palate offers notes as, caramel, vanilla, nuts and oak. The aftertaste is long with hints of molasse and oak. This is really a fantastic rum, and for 750 DKK (100 EURO) I think it's worth every penny, and maybe more. Buy this rum if you haven't tried it before, you will not be dissapointed!!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Spicy and sweet. I enjoyed this rum at the Rum Festival in Miami this year. Fantastically fruity, with hints of vanilla and nuts.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Brian Bak from Denmark with 20 ratings

En flot mørk gylden farve med en duft af molasse, krydderier og nødder. Smagen er krydret og sød med en citrusnoter. En god kompleks rom, der udvikler sig med en lang eftersmag med noter af vanilie, læder og tobak. En rigtig god og interessant rom.

Ffffff

Posted 10 days ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 423 ratings

Mahagonifarben im Glas.
In der Nase etwas zurückhaltend. Zarte Holznoten und kandierte Früchte werden von Leder und Medizin Kräuter begleitet. Karamell, Schokolade und ein wenig Gewürznelken werden mit dem Ganzen zu einem Brei verrührt.
An Gaumen bitter-süss mit einem eigenständigen Charakter. Eine Aromatische Mischung wie Millonario und Arcane zusammen. Herbe Medizin Kräuter mit Karamell umhüllt, Trockenfrüchte mit mit Mandelbitter beträufelt, Schokolade mit Marzipankern.
Im Abgang etwas holperig und sperrig. Schokolade und Früchte bleiben mit einer Honigsüsse lange auf der Zunge, zurück bleibt etwas Bitteres.
Ein Rum dem etwas die Ecken und Kanten fehlen aber doch sehr eigen daherkommt, ein Solera halt. Für Süssrümler und Liebhaber dieses Stils. -8
Sollte den Abschluss meiner alljährlichen Rum Runde werden, wird nun aber als Dessert Rum nach dem Essen gesetzt.

Mahogany color in the glass.
A bit restrained on the nose. Delicate wood notes and candied fruit are accompanied by leather and medicine herbs. Caramel, chocolate and a bit of clove are muddled with the whole.
On the palate bitter-sweet with an independent character. An aromatic blend like Millonario and Arcane together. Tart medicinal herbs coated with caramel, dried fruit drizzled with almond bittersweet, chocolate with marzipan center.
A bit bumpy and bulky on the finish. Chocolate and fruit linger on the tongue with a honey sweetness for a long time, something bitter remains.
A rum that lacks something the edges and edges but still very peculiar comes along, like a Solera. For sweet drinkers and lovers of this style. -8
Should be the finale of my annual rum round, but is now set as a dessert rum after dinner.