Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10
209 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
9
21
70
89
18

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

209 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

A real sipping rum.
Taste : vanila, caramel and spices
The finish could be longer.
If i could give it an 8.5 i would.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by SveinMagnus from Norway with 21 ratings

One of my favourite rums, the Cartavio XO hits all the spots with a nicely balanced sweetness that completes the spicy flavour just perfectly. Had it been slightly more aromatic and lengthy in the flavour it could easily be an all time best rum ever!

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 58 ratings

Dostal jsem darem, krásná láhev, velice dobrý rum i na dlouhé popíjení.

Vůně: vyvážená, příjemná
Chuť: jemná, vyvážená, lehce sladší
Opětovná koupě: určitě ano
Cena: okolo 1600,- Kč

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 354 ratings

V mém případě se těžko bude hledat něco víc, nasládlý, luxusní moučník

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 191 ratings

Romain m à fait découvrir ce merveilleux rhum. Un goût de noisette de chêne, il est doux complexe et long en bouche. Vraiment un wow.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 400 ratings

I got to talking at length with the bartender at a well stocked rum bar after sampling five of what he had on hand. He showed me a picture of this one on his smart phone. Holy smoke! It was already on my wish list here and I was prepared to find any excuse to drive 400 miles to the Houston area to get a bottle. My wonderful memory of Cartavio Solera 12 is what inspired me. Then the bartender told me what local liquor store stocked it. It had been years since I visited that one, which was before I retired almost four years ago. I drove over there with high hopes. Sure enough, there was one bottle left on the top shelf for only $66.

When I got my new baby home, I let it breathe in the snifter for at least a half an hour. I must say that this bottle exudes elegance, including a wire cage typically found around champagne corks to prevent them from popping out. The color is a rich dark reddish orange and almost transparent. If I had not known any better, I would assume that this is a dry rum from looking at it. It has 29 gpl of added sugar, which qualifies it as being heavily sweetened, but not quite a sugar bomb. The complex flavors on the aroma are too numerous to single out. It is rich and smooth on the palate and goes down with no after burn whatsoever. I will start by rating this as an 8, but it may move up to a 9. At this price and being heavily sweetened, I will need to use it up in 2-4 months. I always keep track of when each bottle was opened.

Update November 14, 2018: As good as it tastes in the snifter, there was just something about it whereby I was really hesitant to take another sip. Yes, it was super smooth swirling around a mouthful with no burn going down. And being down to the last six ounces in the bottle, I asked myself why is this aged rum looking red. Duh!!! It is all of the added sugars and no telling what else that is putting me off! So I added an ice cube, which did not improve it in the snifter. Then I did the unthinkable of adding lime, lemon, and orange juices to this last six ounces, which finally made it drinkable. Since this borderline sugar bomb deteriorated this much in only four weeks, I had no choice except to drop my rating from an 8 to a 7. In my overall rankings, it's younger brother Solera 12 still ranks much higher, which is also rated as a 7.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

What a nice bottle! Well i usually prefer rum with a little more punch to it, the dryer ones. Ore at least the perfect balance between sweetness and dryness. But sometimes a more sugery rum put down my needs for candy. This is a great rum... But when the rum almost is on the edge to be an liqueur I loose my interest. Nose: fruits, brown sugar, plums. Palate: caramel, brown sugar, vanilla, chocolate in a sweety heaven!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Don from Canada with 151 ratings

Deep amber colour and a good nose with alcohol and age. The Solera process shows in this rum with the complex tastes and the burn of a younger rum. A good long finish with notes of caramel and wood. I was going to buy another because of the rating and availability but was slightly disappointed for $80can.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 423 ratings

Sweet and smooth with a beautiful long finish. I've tried rum in nice bottles and thought... "they had to put this in a nice bottle to justify the price."

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2727 ratings

Ron Cartavio XO has been claiming gradually some fame in the US, which is a good thing since we need more quality Peruvian rums over here pronto! Ron Cartavio XO has plenty of good flavors and hardly any burn at the end. It also has a very good price-quality ratio. Very well done indeed.

Small 20201218 210910

Posted almost 4 years ago by Canadian Captain from Canada with 61 ratings

First hints, slight bite. But let it breathe, even if only for a few minutes, and it opens beautifully. Soft, smooth... So smooth. Vanilla, caramel, burnt toffee, maybe brown sugar. Sweet, delicious. No bite.
Nice deep copper color. Inviting aroma
Lingering taste, it just sits on the back of your tongue, begging for another sip. And make no mistake, this is a beautiful sipper.

Nice bottle, comes in a tin. Only complaint it's a plastic cork.

This might be one in the finest rums I've ever had. Do not pass up an opportunity to try it.