Posting your rating...
Cartavio XO rum

Cartavio XO

Peru | Aged

8.3/10
209 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
9
21
70
89
18

Rate Cartavio XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

209 Cartavio XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wekke from Belgium with 64 ratings

A real sipping rum.
Taste : vanila, caramel and spices
The finish could be longer.
If i could give it an 8.5 i would.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Thomas Hartwig from Germany with 13 ratings

Although not from carribean, this is an exceptional great rum. Full bodied, dark and just good to drink

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

I was a little bit sceptic when I first saw this one, but the curiosity got the better of me, so I bought it. And I do not have any regrets... None at all. This is good, really good... Great taste, great color in the glas... A real treat!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Sehr guter Rum, einer meiner Favoriten in einer wunderschönen Flasche, macht auf jedenfall eine gute Figur in jeder Rumbar. Der Rum ist mild, komplex und nicht zu süss. Für mich schmekt er nach dunkler Schokolade, Pflaumen, Holz und Tabak.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

The 12 years is probably one of the most smooth in the category (12 years) in IMO.

So what about the XO

Eye: Copper, dark, dense.

Noise: Spicy wood, banana, dry fruit, some vanilla.

Taste: The same you smell is the same you taste, the banana is probably the most exotic note.

In general it is an amazing rum, awesome, delicious box and presentation.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Rum un from United Kingdom with 59 ratings

It combines two of my favourites, the bottle from Rum Nation Panama 21 (although the top isn't quite as cool) and is Peruvian like Millonario XO. But somehow it isn't, the taste isn't as deep, interesting or fruity as either of those.

For this tasting I tried back to back with Millonario 15 sistema solera but will try again with the Millonario XO and Rum Nation Panama 21.

On the nose there's a slightly sharp vegetal smell.

To taste there's an initial hint of dark or burnt sugar but it's not incredibly sweet.

On the finish there's some sugar cane and a hint of burn.

As it develops there's some caramel and subtle fruits (but nothing like the fruit bomb of the Panama 21).

Pleasant enough and interesting but not a great rum.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Miguel from Dominican Republic with 14 ratings

I discovered Cartavio XO at Lima the airport among a lot of Pisco bottles. Great buy. I have not seen it outside Peru, and I have not been back. For sure a candidate for my "active collection".

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by David from Germany with 77 ratings

Light, sweet, mild - great sweet sipping rum in a very nice bottle, with a nice cork and a beautiful gift can.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by l3on_id from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

this one is something special. uniqe package with well balanced spice-sweet liquer taste after vanilla a litle bit caramel. I wish buy a bottle very long time

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

This rum you find in nice bottle with a wooden cork.
When the rum have been resting for a while you can feel vanilla, woody
Taste is vanilla and tropical fruit. Also some spice.
Rum is a very smooth and well balanced.
The aftertaste is long and fine

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Smells Great, Sweet.
Taste is very nice, a little bite of alkohol, but very nice balanced.