Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


124 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

About 5 to 10 years ago, I found a bottle of this rum in the old teardrop shape. Thinking that the liquor store would soon get more than just that one bottle, I did similar to what Tomy from Romania suggested years later with his bottle of the same shape. Yes, it was so smooth that I almost consumed it in one day like he said could easily happen, but it actually took two days for this fool to down. At that time, I liked it better than Eldorado 12, which is now my third rated rum. My top two were only found recently thanks to this website.

When I got my new bottle home, I was actually afraid to open it for quite a while. Did Zacapa change the formula? Was it totally different than what I remembered? I cautiously poured a snifter and let it breathe for about twenty minutes. The aroma is of alcohol and caramel. On the tongue, it is a slightly peppered burn with caramel. Going down the pipe is nothing nasty, but nothing memorable. This new version cannot even make it into my top ten thanks to the parent company Zacapa.

When I read many of the other reviews before trying to find it, I was wondering if this is the same rum that I remembered. Unfortunately, it is not! This bottle was also about $10 cheaper than that old bottle, which should have tipped me off right away. I just had to solve the mystery. It's tough being tenacious.

After letting the new bottle with only one snifter removed sit for a few hours, I poured another snifter and let it breathe for a while outside on a breezy day. The burn was gone. However it smelled almost like nothing and tasted almost like flavored water. Flavors going down the pipe are minimal. So once the burn is allowed to breathe off, there is really nothing there to encourage me from buying another bottle. Nothing offensive, but nothing to get excited about either. I would suggest this one to lovers of Don Q Gran Anejo since they are similar.

Posted over 4 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

I was full of expectation when I bought Botran Solera 1893 Gran Reserva.

The smell is sweet with caramel and fruit. Some sticky alcohol too but that goes away after a few minutes in the glass.

The taste is sweet but it is too much spice and barrel for my taste. I expected it to be sweeter.

The aftertaste is long with spices and barrel. In my taste this is a blender that goes well in drinks and with cola. I don´t think it´s good as a sipper.

Posted about 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

It's nothing atypical of a rum. It's a very standard oaked vanilla rum with a lot of cinnamon/allspice in the back. Horrible straight. It acts like a nice guy in front of your girlfriend and then secretly tries to steal her when you're not expecting it. Basically it enters the mouth pretty smoothly and then a second or 2 later rains down like hell fire on your tongue, roof of mouth and back of throat. You must ice this one at a minimum or add cola. It makes a good rum and coke but for the price no thank you. I got this from a friend on a trip to mexico because it isn't sold in the states here. I would recommend cruzan gold over this. Very very similar, the only thing you might notice is the 40$ or you just saved.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

It's a very good rum, not too sweet like many rums of the region. Nose I got lot of caramel and dry fruits. Mouth is more mineral which I like but I think lacks of something to get a better rating, in that price range.

Posted over 5 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I really don't like this, and am contemplating throwing it away. I've never considered doing that with ANY rum before. It has very few redeeming features. The nose is OK, and the initial fruit on the palate is OK, but then there is a really disgusting mish mash of flavours that almost makes me gag. I do wonder whether I have a bad bottle. The problem is that I will never buy this again and if it is a bad bottle, I won't know as I doubt any of my friends/colleagues will have a bottle of this.

I'll probably keep it and palm it off on unsuspecting visitors, but every time I open my drinks cupboard, I'll know the bottle is lurking in there.

Update - the bottle has now been open for a couple of years and I am finding it very palatable this evening. Possibly now that the weather has got a little chillier and I haven't turned on the heating, the rum is a touch colder than it has been in the past thus taking off the edges that I didn't like. It's not my favourite and I wouldn't buy again, but tonight I am really quite enjoying it.

Posted almost 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This is a very nice rum. It uses wine casks as part of the solera. Intensely smooth no burn at all. No funky taste or harshness or overpowering notes. This is a great blend and I highly recommend this to anyone. The price point is amazing for this quality. Could easily drink an entire bottle of this in one sitting.

Posted over 1 year ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

My first experience with this was at a new year's party when someone brought this. I was curious and tried it. Loved it. Shocked it was a rum and have been into high quality sipping rums over whiskey ever since. This is such a nice balance of deep caramel and a touch of spice that leans towards a molasses flavor but just hints at it. I'm not a fan of molasses heavy rums and this gets right up to the edge for me but doesn't cross over into the heavy molasses flavors. This I can down neat or on the rocks. It's not the smootest, but the burn is pretty mild. The flavors are heavy up front and the finish is very slight and relatively lasting. This is a solid choice for whatever your purpose. Sip or mix it will go down well.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Ron Botran has much better stuff to offer than the 1893. It is not a neat sipper since the alcohol smell and taste are strong and the burn at the end is not pleasant. Go straight with the 12 or 15 year Botran if you are looking for a slightly better experience. They are not neat sippers either, but at least your rum-and-coke will have a better flavor to it.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Welch ein Frust, von gleichen Brennerei wie der Zacapa,
aber leider völlig enttäuschend, schon des Preises wegen !
Kann hier aber nur die alte Abfüllung in der Tropfenform Flasche bewerten.
Etwas Frucht, Vanille und Toffeenoten in der Nase und Gaumen.
Der Abgang ist kaum wahrnehmbar.
Der Reserva ist um einiges besser !

What a fright, from the same distillery as the Zacapa,
But unfortunately completely disappointing, for the price!
Can only evaluate the old filling in the drop shape bottle.
Some fruit, vanilla and toffee nose and palate.
The finish is hardly perceptible.
The Reserva is a lot better!

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Rum of molasses quite classic with pastry notes, almonds and fruity flavors. The oak is very present with vanilla. The final is not very long. A classic ron that should do the job on the rocks or with cola.

Posted almost 4 years ago by sulohanuri from Finland with 27 ratings

Taste caramel but not too sweet. Good daily rum. Really smooth.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I would use it for drinks but some of my friends like it straight up, normally the ones that likes Whiskey.

Posted almost 6 years ago by niko_aqm from France with 14 ratings

Ce rhum élaboré à base de miel de canne, en fait un pur jus réduit en sirop, est un modèle d'équilibre, de délicatesse et de rondeur. Il pêche justement par son manque de relief mais il reste riche. Très agréable, il est parfait pour déguster avec quelqu'un qui n'est pas habitué aux alcools forts ou pour se détendre avec un bon rhum "facile".

Posted over 6 years ago by Jasm1 from France with 31 ratings

Une couleur généreuse et ensoleillé...très ron en bouche, des aromes de bois épicés sublimes, je ne regrette vraiment pas mon choix !!!

Posted 29 days ago by gerben de lange from Aruba with 15 ratings

got this rum for my wedding, pleasant taste, but must add i'm somewhat of a rum assassin, i still can't get myself to drink rum neat most of the time, i will always be a rum and coke lover and yes i dare mix a good or expensive rum with my coke. i've been blasted countless times for doing it and i've heard every reason available why i shouldn't. what can i tell you? you know better than me? your sipping makes you a better critic? i might as well use bacardi? i'll tell you how it is, if a rum is awesome, it will also make my rum and coke awesome, and if that's what i like, sorry to hurt your feelings lol

Posted about 2 months ago by ThomasW from Netherlands with 5 ratings

Straightforward and okay. Is not the perfect sippin rum as advertised. Not bad, but better alternatives for the same price.

Posted 2 months ago by Pirate from Sweden with 6 ratings

It’s not bad, but it’s not good either.
Quite dissapointed.
I had high expectations.
It looks good on the paper. Guatemala, solera, made in the same building as Zacapa etc.
But it’s simply not a complete top notch rum.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Will be .... .

Posted 3 months ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

From the same distillery as Zacapa, that’s what it tastes like but with less sugar added. Pretty good, maybe a tiny bit medicinal though.

Posted 4 months ago by mmciesielski from United States with 22 ratings

Excellent vanilla odor. Good color. No overpowering alcohol taste, no burn. Good straight or with ice

Posted 4 months ago by Isegal from Germany with 81 ratings

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

Solid performance from the manufacturer.
The smell is amazing, I love this fruity sweet aromas. It reminds me of Zacapa.
I can tell you, this is a good rum for small money.
I have the old bottle, what a beauty for just 28€.

A fresh bottle is not that aromatic and has too much wood aroma. But after some months the rum gets better with oxygen in the bottle.

Smell: Caramel, herbs, fruits (mandarine), dried fruits (plum), some wood, vanilla, lard (very nicely balanced, not too sweet)
Taste: mandarine, caramel, herbs, burned sugar, toasted barrel (wood), nutmeg, spice.
Finish: earth/cask, spice, wood, bitterness
Aftertaste: typical sherry aftertaste, cherry compote, orange

Country: Guatemala
Place: Quetzaltenango
Barrel: American white oak, whiskey, pot and sherry wine barrels
Material: Virgin Cane Honey
Age: 5-18

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Spice: 3/5
Fruit: 3/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

Posted 7 months ago by Vicke from Sweden with 62 ratings

This is not any favourit of mine. Drinkable yes, but lacks character and I experienced it as too dry.

Posted 8 months ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 135 ratings

Significant alcohol burn in aroma, full sherry body with alcoholic plain tail.

Posted 9 months ago by Trini-tallman from Trinidad and Tobago with 7 ratings

A little harsh, but good with soda to enjoy. This is 18, but I've had better 12 year old runs.




#