Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


124 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by FR4N901S from Belgium with 55 ratings

Premières impressions, un nez parfumé aux arômes de caramel et d'épices. En bouche, il surprend mais reste équilibré, avec une finale toute en longueur.

A teste au moins une fois :)

Posted almost 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Plus points for impressive carafe style new bottle. For me tastier than his younger brother Reserva. More complex.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jul from France with 28 ratings

Découvert par hasard, c'est devenu une bouteille meuble dans mon bar. Il faut toujours en avoir une. De plus son prix est doux tout comme lui

Posted about 5 years ago by Stephane from France with 53 ratings

Découvert au hasard d’une dégustation ce rhum du Guatemala au nez léger est onctueux, agréable en bouche. Pas trop sirupeux, il est puissant et équilibré. Le bois, la vanille le caractérisent, et un peu de miel en fin de bouche.
A posséder.

Posted about 5 years ago by DUJ from France with 18 ratings

Pour moi, il;est trop fort , par contre , ma femme aime beaucoup celui la car justement il est moins sirupeux que les rhums que j'aime habituellement.
C'est pour cela que j'ai mis 7/10. Le parfum est pas mal, mais c'est la force de l'alcool qui me rebute un peu.

Posted about 5 years ago by Benjamin from France with 12 ratings

Même maison que le fameux zacapa. Il s'agit d'un rhum savoureux qui ne prends pas de risques et sans surprise. Saveurs de vanille, caramel.

Posted about 5 years ago by Kenny from Sweden with 4 ratings

Botran är en Zacapa utan så mycket socker. Denna är fantastiskt god och helt klart värd att köpa. Kostar väl hälften av Zacapan. Tillverkas i samma fabrik som Z.

Posted about 5 years ago by YvesW from Belgium with 21 ratings

This "Botran Solera" is a wee bit harsher than the "Botran Reserva". Pleasant to sip, yes (even if quite conventional), but I do prefer the sweeter taste of the "Reserva": I drink the "Reserva" straight and this one "on the rocks".

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

Was not very impressed with the flavor, smell, or taste. One of the most disappointing aged rums I've had. Still better than a majority if white rums, but at the bottom of aged.

Posted about 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Pomerne výrazný, mierne vanilkovy a malo sladký rum bez zlej pachute

Posted about 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

A rum with an honest approach. The nose is decent, offering slightly sweet and dry notes of molasse, dates, caramel, vanilla and oak, but it lacks a bit reffinement. The medium bodied palette has a distinctive oaky character, but supplements this with lightly sweet molasse and dried fruits, giving a decent balance. There's a medium long aftertaste, consisting mainly of deep rounded oaky notes.

Posted over 5 years ago by gilel from France with 29 ratings

Rond, doux sans être trop sucré, épicé.
Il exprime son style (solera) tout en finesse.
Bon rapport qualité/prix.
Après plusieurs dégustations je suis toutefois un peu déçu du manque de personnalité de cette bouteille...

Posted over 5 years ago by Lasse Andersen from Denmark with 16 ratings

næsen er en anelse bedre end smagen. næsen er sødmefuld og med noter af sherry. smagen er skarpere end hvad næsen indbyder til, du får en lille overraskelse. smagen er semisød (7/10), men mest af alt tør. rigtig fin og godkendt afslutning. den smager som en lagret rom uden tilsat sødme. 7.5 af mig.

Posted over 5 years ago by Mario from United States with 18 ratings

Gave it some time to breathe & tried it again. It's a good rum but missing something. Just a very simple smooth rum. I would buy it again.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

This one was a good one.. Great suddle nose, In the mouth it was lean, almost like a thick whisky.. With some burning sensation.. The finish is one of the longest i have experienced.. Full with complex tones that explodes and slowly fades away.. Great for a cold evening to sip on..

Posted over 5 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

Endnu en af de rommer der i eftersmagen har noter af røg.
Denne er lidt lig Ron Zacapa dog med en eftersmagt af røg, dog er den en anelse mere tør en Ron Zacapa.

Posted over 5 years ago by Peter from Hungary with 91 ratings

I hope the change of the ownership of Zacapa won't influence the future of this rum.Its an almost perfect rum,typical Guatemalan,not as rich as a 23yo Zacapa but the price is the half. There is no rum in the price-class of 30€ which is better then this one. Wonderful teardrop bottle,quite heavy.Dark amber color, in the nose fruity,tasty.Compared to the smooth Zacapa a little bit of a bite in the throat,but it disappears immadiately and a little explosion of aromas follow.I start to hoard this,just for case it disappears

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Aroma je suché, kořenité (stejně jako u Reservy hlavně skořice), s tóny kůže a sušeného ovoce. (84 b)
Chuť: Chuť je více do sucha, kořenitá, s kůží a dřevem, nic řídkého, docela bohatá. V dochuti je patrná mírná dřevitost a slabě i nahořklost. (84 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Od nákupu této lahve jsem si sliboval o trochu víc, tím spíš, že mladší stájový bratříček Botran Reserva dopadl při ochutnávce lépe. Špatný rum to ale není.
Teď už ho ale seženete spíš v novém designu lahve, měl jsem ještě starší plnění.

Posted over 5 years ago by Vesslan 5 from Sweden with 37 ratings

Good ..

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

Part of the new line from Botran after merging with Ron Zacapa. The influence from Zacapa is very present, to the point that it isn't worth buying Zacapa. Quite woody, very smooth.

Posted about 6 years ago by toto2974 from Italy with 7 ratings

Colore ambra scuro con un lieve torpore.
Al naso si presenta morbido il sentore di alcol e offre ai sensi una deliziosa nota di caramello tostato,vaniglia e un lieve odore di sherry.
In bocca e' presente la sensazione percepita all'olfatto del caramello bruciato che avvolge il palato e ne persiste a lungo lasciando quel tipico gusto amarognolo.
Buono il finale che rimane presente,ma non tanto quanto un rum vera da meditazione!!!!!

Posted over 6 years ago by OmegaP from France with 12 ratings

Caramel and vanilla smell with a touch of orange, spice and wood.
In the mouth a light taste of caramel and vanilla with short and light spicy finish.

Not a extraordinary rum but a good one.

Posted over 6 years ago by Gwawr from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Deep colour, complex flavour. A lovely high altitude solera rum.

Posted over 6 years ago by Steven James from United Kingdom with 33 ratings

Vanilla and an almost oily orange aroma sit over the glass. Caramel, oak and a warm peach make an appearance too. The taste is all warming sweetness with a butterscotch edge. Slight spice and a sweet oak. Peaches, butterscotch, and an orange sweetness hit you in waves. There is a tiny bit of oaky bitterness.