Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


124 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Aroma je suché, kořenité (stejně jako u Reservy hlavně skořice), s tóny kůže a sušeného ovoce. (84 b)
Chuť: Chuť je více do sucha, kořenitá, s kůží a dřevem, nic řídkého, docela bohatá. V dochuti je patrná mírná dřevitost a slabě i nahořklost. (84 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Od nákupu této lahve jsem si sliboval o trochu víc, tím spíš, že mladší stájový bratříček Botran Reserva dopadl při ochutnávce lépe. Špatný rum to ale není.
Teď už ho ale seženete spíš v novém designu lahve, měl jsem ještě starší plnění.

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Este ron de 18 años de añejamiento, es bueno para tomarse con Coca-Cola y para disfrutar un momento con los amigos. Para mí sería un 7.5

Posted almost 4 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

The kind of rum I like. Sweet, but not as nice as the Zacapa 23. Kind of expensive, though, for the quality.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ken from United States with 71 ratings

Purchased in Duty Free when there was a promotion. Good sipping rum on the rocks. Agree with many comments about the taste.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Peete from Czech Republic with 44 ratings

Cista hezka barva, ve vuni dost citit alkohol, je lepsi ho nechat trochu rozvinout ve sklence.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Kristofer from Sweden with 11 ratings

The nose is nice with much flavours, it hints about a sweet tasty rum with fudge, vanilla, liqourice and richness.

The taste is not like the smell!

The first taste is oily but then the avftertaste kicks in. Its nice and rich but not more than ok.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

Not a lot of aroma, some arrack, caramel, orange, vanilla. Doesn't really stand out in any way. I like a rum with a lot of complexity OR a very sweet rum but Botran Solera have neither. Still, it's tasty and smooth.

Posted about 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off the color is a rich amber with gold highlights. A classic aged rum color. I have learned to approach any rum using the word "solera" with skepticism since there is no standard on which to rely. According to the label this is a blend of rums aged "between" 5 and 18 years. Semantics games are NOT what interests me. There is no indication of the percentages of the aged rums. This leads to lack of clarity.

Anyway, off my soapbox...

For me this is an odd duck of a rum.

The aroma in my snifter is unique. Different from most rums but I cannot really clarify what makes it different. It's not objectionable...just different.

The flavor confirms what the aroma indicates. It is a different type of rum. I can't really put my finger on it. There is an initial slight sweetness indicating fermented molasses but there is a flavor underneath that just does not really belong. Almost an artificial chemical taste. It's just under the radar but noticeable. It's almost like a paper cut...not painful but annoying as hell. I cannot figure out what it is.

If they could just eliminate whatever the heck that is, it would be so much better. It has the potential to be so much better but sadly it just isn't. It's not smooth enough to be a sipping rum and I would be hesitant to use it as a mixing rum due to that underlying chemical taste that sadly lingers into the finish.

Maybe I got a bad batch. I dunno...

Perhaps quality control isn't consistent. Apparently someone loves this stuff seeing that it got high marks from some.

I just can't agree. At least with the bottle I have.

My recommendation? Pass on this. There's much better widely available for the same price.

Posted about 4 years ago by DonDanD from Switzerland with 69 ratings

..........................................................................

Posted about 4 years ago by TommyVinegar from Belgium with 46 ratings

I've always liked the younger Botran 12 as a cheap everyday sort of rum, especially during my time in Guatemala, so I had high hopes for this one. Have to say i'm slightly dissapointed. It's not that much better than the 12. Also the flavours tend to break up in the mouth, giving it a rather chaotic, confusing, filmsy feel. I like robust rums with solid flavours. The aftertaste doesn't go wel with the initial sensation. The overal taste is quite floral, like a chardonnay. Having said that: i've only tried it once and maybe I shall revisit this review. My bottle is different from the one depicted here. It's a raindrop shape now, which is nice. Very feminine and something different. The huge gold-coloured cork is a bit over the top though.

Posted about 4 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

There's a lot of competition at this price range, and I'm sorry to say I don't feel this rum holds up. It's certainly a high-quality rum, exhibiting the smoothness I expect at this level. But, the complexity of flavor was simply not there for me. My only thought is that it seemed to need more time in the barrel - perhaps the length of solera-aging is too short? If it were not for the modestly-high price, I'd suggest this as a beginner-sipper - several others among my ratings beat it, though. I'd avoid paying this much for a mixer, too.

Posted about 4 years ago by Kent Henriksson from Sweden with 17 ratings

Oaky, vanilla and spice. Slightly harsh, nice aromas.

Posted over 4 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Color:Dark caramel
Nose:Strong vanilla,caramel, alcohol
Body:spicy,oak
Tail:aftertaste is long lasting and warming

Bottle: I have the old bottle,this is a masterpiece!The new one is pretty standard,under average.

I really like the old bottle, the rum is similar to Zacapa,but not as sweet,for me much more interesting! Price is very reasonable!

Posted over 4 years ago by Staffan from Sweden with 26 ratings

I read reviews of this one raising it to the skies in praise, so my expectations were way up there. But first impression was that it had a fairly weak nose. Taste is rather elegant, but it fades quickly. It has some nice tones of cane and feels like a typical rum, not very prominent. I expected a lot more from it, not only for reviews I've read, but also from the price range.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from Mexico with 50 ratings

Al igual que Zacapa 23, sistema solera y sabor muy similar. Menor precio que su competencia. Se disfrutan sus diferentes sabores si se toma derecho, se aprecia sabor a madera, jerez, vainilla y caramelo.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Average sweetness, but some harsh alcohol is present. Taste of mainly oak, some smoke, with some flowers and vanilla. Quite complex taste and smell. I prefer a smoother rum...

Posted over 4 years ago by -Kars- from Italy with 9 ratings

Ottimo Rum, sapore deciso. Al palato sapore di Caramello e Tabacco quasi da Whiskey, retrogusto non troppo persistente speziato. Non consiglio l'abbinamento con cioccolato. Meglio liscio con un buona sigaretta.

Posted over 4 years ago by Stefan PN from Sweden with 12 ratings

Nose; A discreet palette with hints of caramel, exotic fruit, molasses, oak and vanilla.
Palate; Honey and spicy oak first. Then raisins, bitter dark chocolate, vanilla and coffee. Not very rich, creamy or soft in the flavors.
Finish; A dry, medium finish with spicy oak, exotic fruit sweetness and liquorice.
Overall; A well-made rum, but I am a bit disappointed. It is not as soft and creamy as i like my rum to be.

Posted over 4 years ago by Clemichon from United Kingdom with 2 ratings

Really Good ans easy to drink rum !
Caramel and chamallow taste

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt Coast from Finland with 30 ratings

Smell
Quite weak! It has a brown sugar, butter toffee, spices, tropical fruits and it has a little smoky smell at the end.

Mouth
It has a bitterness of bourbon. Spices and little peppery.Long after burn with butter toffee and little smoke at the end.

Perfect pair with cigar!

Posted over 4 years ago by Nordicrum from Sweden with 22 ratings

This is similar to the Zapaca, but maybe not as refined and rounded. Still, it is a great pour which I would recommed to fans of Zacapa.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristof from Belgium with 36 ratings

Good rum that always seems to please me. I love the taste and afterburn

Posted over 4 years ago by jsanca from United States with 58 ratings

In my humble opinion the best rum from Guatemala.
Dark amber colour, dense, long legs, you can feel the slow aged spirit in there.

Smell like honey, some toffee and cocoa bit of chocolate and bit vainilla (probably from the bourbon cask).

The taste is smooth, soft, delicate; of course you can feel the sweetness, the cocoa and some invitation to the wine aroma, probably because the Oporto cask aged.

I used to enjoy this rum straight up, or with a chunk of ice. This rum is also known as a 18 years old (the brand new package) and another way to enjoy it is on creams or cake, especially the caribbean christmas cake with fruits and so on the sweetness and rum's profile just gives an extra to the dessert.

J

Posted almost 5 years ago by greg k from France with 35 ratings

Une palette aromatique fade par rapport à un autre produit du pays, zacapa qui au même prix sera plus attrayant, je ne lui laisse pas de seconde chance

Posted almost 5 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Ce édition du botran m'a moins séduite que le 12 ans solera. Il est plus balance, moins de relief dans les arômes, on y retrouve la vanille, le caramel, et le bois. Prix abordable pour découvrir, et déboucher sans se poser de question