Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


124 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Guatemala
Aroma: Aroma je suché, kořenité (stejně jako u Reservy hlavně skořice), s tóny kůže a sušeného ovoce. (84 b)
Chuť: Chuť je více do sucha, kořenitá, s kůží a dřevem, nic řídkého, docela bohatá. V dochuti je patrná mírná dřevitost a slabě i nahořklost. (84 b)
Body: 84
Shrnutí: Od nákupu této lahve jsem si sliboval o trochu víc, tím spíš, že mladší stájový bratříček Botran Reserva dopadl při ochutnávce lépe. Špatný rum to ale není.
Teď už ho ale seženete spíš v novém designu lahve, měl jsem ještě starší plnění.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Kristoffer Romin from Sweden with 5 ratings

A fantastic rum, for me a good substitute for zacapa 23. Equal or very close. A must to Try.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Andi from Germany with 70 ratings

Klasse Rum zum Top Preis. 22€ habe ich für diesen vollmundigen Rum nur bezahlt. Leichte Würze, wenig süße aber mild. Klasse!!!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Rather rough at some points but could be a good mixer but not a sipper.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

This rum has a really good dark colour, almost a hint of red. Good legs in the glass, and a pleasant fruity, woody aroma on the nose, a hint of vanilla.
Its not too sweet for me, very smooth, little if any burn, a long aftertaste and leaves a warm feeling in the throat and chest.
Not sure if i would mix this one, but i can understand others who have and say it makes a good mixer.
Probably stick to 1 ice cube or a drop of water personally.
cheers graham.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul Hübscher from Switzerland with 69 ratings

Very dark brown rum; but I am afraid, that is because of some color added. Smells of wood and alcool, tastes like wood and alcool. With time, it is slowly getting better - i.e. the alcool evaporates and there rests some caramel. To the end, it is even getting sweet in the nose, although on the tongue, there reste a great deal of wood.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Tasty, enjoyable rum that has a sweetness that affords this rum to be enjoyed neat. The fact that this rum was aged in the solera method using casks that were previously held by various spirits really works nicely in producing a wonderful flavor profile.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jeffrey from United States with 28 ratings

Sweet, smooth, spicy, lingering finish, little burn.

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom Rhoads from United States with 88 ratings

I really like this rum. I am getting lots of cinnamon on the nose and it has a great mouth feel for me. Sweet but not over sweet and slow long finish.

I would recommend this to my friends who want to get into rum tasting.

Posted about 3 years ago by Egghead66 from Canada with 25 ratings

Not entirely my thing but very smooth. I did enjoy it.

Posted about 3 years ago by Chri$$ from Austria with 18 ratings

Leichter und übersichtlicher Rum. Der Geruch macht Lust, der Geschmack ist recht einfärbig und endet bald ohne aufhebens zu machen. Fazit: simpel aber gut. Preislich ok.

Posted about 3 years ago by Melda from Czech Republic with 60 ratings

Velmi dobrý rum. Jemný, chutná po karamelu. Velice dobrý rum za tu cenu.

Posted over 3 years ago by Sven Rose from Guatemala with 7 ratings

In a country with Zacapa Centenario it is difficult to compete if that is what a rum wants to do. This one exceeded my expectations. A classic rum of molasses with a fruity flavor and notes of almonds and vanilla.

Posted over 3 years ago by Ryan from United States with 33 ratings

Over all I thought it was going to be a good rum. But it did not have the flavor profile I was expecting for a rum of this age. It was still good though.

Posted over 3 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Good Rum, excellent nose and finishes well. I like it Neat... or may be even a small rock. a small one.. real small.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jarda from Czech Republic with 33 ratings

Ovocny a jemny rum.. Lehce na konci prijemne zastipe. Ale ta chut ovoce, mozma visni je super

Posted over 3 years ago by filovo from Czech Republic with 173 ratings

Typicky rumovy, nijak extra ovocny. Kvalitni rum kde clovek citi zbytek brandy. Velmi pitelny

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

6.5 on my scale, but bottles aren't half full or empty here. My first sampling was good. Strong on oak and a hint of molasses. Second time, not quite as enjoyable.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

un bon gout de caramel. il est très doux. très abordable. suffisamment complexe, j ai bien aimé. je le recommende mais pour 18 ans c est decevant.

Posted over 3 years ago by Remi from France with 39 ratings

Perso j'ai bien aimé. La btl n'a pas duré longtemps

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Paid $33.99 for Solera 1893. As with other reviews, I did find a touch of spice with the taste that lingered for a while. I did purchase the Botran Reserva and enjoyed it, so I expected more from this one. I think the Reserva is a better value for the price.

Posted over 3 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

A good daily rum. Not bad but nor something that stands out

Posted over 3 years ago by Pierre from Canada with 86 ratings

This rum looks promising, nice colour. The taste is harsh at first and a hint of caramel at the end. It's harshness is a too bitter for my taste. I tend to like sweeter runs.

Posted over 3 years ago by Blaine from United States with 10 ratings

I was looking for a good bang for your buck rum to switch it up. (I noticed I was drinking my expensive ones much to fast.) So one of the gentlemen at the liquor store recommended this specific one as the others in the botran line are not very good. This one is like a more affordable version of zacapa. Not quite as robust but still manages a good smoothness. Recommended for sure.

Posted over 3 years ago by IGT from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

I bought this seeking to expand my collection and based on reviews from here. It's certainly an enjoyable rum, but yet lacks the character to make it a bottle that I would buy again. I never mix aged rums, and this is certainly more than acceptable as a sipper, but there's not enough there to make it stand out