Posting your rating...
Botran Solera 1893 rum

Botran Solera 1893

Guatemala | Aged

Botran Solera 1893 is a dark rum from Guatemala aged using the Solera method in casks that previously held sherry, port and bourbon.

7.0/10 (125 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
7
25
58
24
9
1

Rate Botran Solera 1893

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


125 Botran Solera 1893 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

535a8966b5071bfe8443074d22889836.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 260 ratings

The perfect aroma is promissing more than you get. First taste is alcohol kick and you must search for more layers and tones. The sweet is natural and pleasant, aftertaste not long and burning.

Dc5e6a4e8aaabc9cad910a14cfb8e0d8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by MiKli from Czech Republic with 69 ratings

Nice oak aroma, full taste, tones of candied fruits, too spicy. I bit dry, sweet touch.

A464c7e42cb2445cf5acac4c1db1f5d1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by KevinGT from Puerto Rico with 17 ratings

At first aroma and taste match, but suddenly the alcohol + spice kicks in and is a totally different story.

E5b6af54ca71a4d2fe618e241d1767d6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Nico from France with 15 ratings

Un rhum qui ne m'a pas convaincu. Un peu déçu au final.

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Taster from Switzerland with 109 ratings

Nose: Very oaky, intense and complex.
Palate: smooth and well balanced, but maybe a bit thin, somewhat smoky, not too sweet.
In contrary to other reviewers, I noticed absolutely no burn.

63460962acf5e9c183072339bb660fa2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Axel from Germany with 89 ratings

Ron Botran has much better stuff to offer than the 1893. It is not a neat sipper since the alcohol smell and taste are strong and the burn at the end is not pleasant. Go straight with the 12 or 15 year Botran if you are looking for a slightly better experience. They are not neat sippers either, but at least your rum-and-coke will have a better flavor to it.

B2ed782e0b04aa1a14c131dd74d21842.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian Storey from Canada with 18 ratings

If you love rum, and chances are if you are reading this you do, this rum has great aroma and colour with a crisp rich aftertaste. It is however not the greatest value but certainly appealing with its strong aged-rum aftertaste.

5bd42496ccfef3a9554af15a04d0103a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 156 ratings

Very pleasant solera rum. Mild with molasses character

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 326 ratings

About 5 to 10 years ago, I found a bottle of this rum in the old teardrop shape. Thinking that the liquor store would soon get more than just that one bottle, I did similar to what Tomy from Romania suggested years later with his bottle of the same shape. Yes, it was so smooth that I almost consumed it in one day like he said could easily happen, but it actually took two days for this fool to down. At that time, I liked it better than Eldorado 12, which is now my third rated rum. My top two were only found recently thanks to this website.

When I got my new bottle home, I was actually afraid to open it for quite a while. Did Zacapa change the formula? Was it totally different than what I remembered? I cautiously poured a snifter and let it breathe for about twenty minutes. The aroma is of alcohol and caramel. On the tongue, it is a slightly peppered burn with caramel. Going down the pipe is nothing nasty, but nothing memorable. This new version cannot even make it into my top ten thanks to the parent company Zacapa.

When I read many of the other reviews before trying to find it, I was wondering if this is the same rum that I remembered. Unfortunately, it is not! This bottle was also about $10 cheaper than that old bottle, which should have tipped me off right away. I just had to solve the mystery. It's tough being tenacious.

After letting the new bottle with only one snifter removed sit for a few hours, I poured another snifter and let it breathe for a while outside on a breezy day. The burn was gone. However it smelled almost like nothing and tasted almost like flavored water. Flavors going down the pipe are minimal. So once the burn is allowed to breathe off, there is really nothing there to encourage me from buying another bottle. Nothing offensive, but nothing to get excited about either. I would suggest this one to lovers of Don Q Gran Anejo since they are similar.

1ff5b6cf5a65436737f083200dd896c6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Doesn't like to be mixed. Over ice is my preferred method to taste, as it is quite sweet, and benefits from some water. Overall its nice, a good affordable rum to enjoy after dinner, for me.